We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed one night and was surprised how high the quality of the room was. Lovely clean room with soft beds and pillows. Hotel staff were very helpful in locating places to eat and shop. 5-10 minute walk into city centre. Walked into centre to a café for an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It was very pleasing to read that you liked the 'high quality' of your room and also the cleanliness and how comfortable the bed/pillows were. I was also delighted to read that the staff were 'very helpful' in assisting you with locating places to eat and shop in Bristol.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    630
    157
    58
    22
See reviews for
190
605
61
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A single night stay at this hotel, worth looking for late deals but I went through my company booking scheme and it was £92 B&B with free internet.
Reception clean, friendly and efficient.
Two fairly slow lifts but all very clean.
Double room, smallish but very well maintained, clean with all amenities available, bed very comfortable, air conditioning fan slightly noisy but not excessively so. Large flat screen TV and bathroom very smart and clean, lovely towels.
Only had breakfast but that was a self service buffet and a typical decent hotel breakfast choce.
All in all a good quality hotel and recommended to anyone for a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent stay with us.

It was pleasing to read that you found the reception area 'clean' with 'friendly and efficient' staff and that you found your room to be 'clean' with a 'very comfy' bed. It was also great to read that you found the breakfast to be 'decent' and overall you felt the hotel was of 'good quality' and that you would recommend the hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Allocated to a pleasant contemporary room - all fine; when we arrived home after dinner the noise from next door as overwhelming. There was no sound proofing at all. I asked to be re-roomed and it was done immediately and we were given complimentary drinks which was thoughtful. Our new room was absolutely fine too, except that the aircon/heating didn't work. It was freezing in the room as the window didn't close properly and the wind whistled in all night.
Breakfast was a huge disappointment - very limited choices for a 4****. Very little for veggies to eat; only mass produced bread and yoghurt available. Where was the homemade granola and artisan made yogurt and bread - surely the Hilton could manage this?
Good location and nice to have cookies on arrival!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Botheka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you liked your 'pleasant contemporary room' and you enjoyed your warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival at the hotel.

I was however very sorry to read that you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel, however I was pleased to read you were reallocated a different room and offered complimentary drinks. I was also sorry to read that you felt your room was cold & there were breakfast items missing on the buffet, I will ensure your comments/feedback on both these areas are passed onto the relevant departments.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have stayed here previously on a couple of occasions when the hotel was owned by another chain. It was very good then but, if anything, the standards now are even higher. This time stayed for two nights in a large room with a huge double bed. Only downside was that the pillows were too soft for me, but that's a matter of taste. Everything was spotlessly clean and in good order. Bathroom recently refurbished with thick, luxurious towels and good-quality toiletries. Location is perfect for the centre - not too close that you are bothered by excess traffic noise, but just a 10-minute stroll away from everything that's going on. We have family in Bristol and so we always need somewhere to stay when we visit and we have everything we need at this hotel. You do have to pay for parking, but you would have to pay for parking in Bristol anyway, wherever you went. You also have to pay for breakfast, but there is everything you could wish for - fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, full English and you can eat as much as you want. Staff are very polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and I'm sure we will return again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent 5* review and your kind comments regarding the hotel and the staff.

It was very pleasing to read that you are like the new décor of the hotel. We had £5 million spent on refurbishing all areas of the hotel last year. We too are very pleased with the finished product.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your breakfast and felt that there 'was everything you could wish for, including - fresh fruit, cereals, pastries & of course the full English breakfast'. I was also pleased to read that you felt the 'staff are very polite and helpful and that nothing was too much trouble for them'.

We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner. Not much to complain about, room was lovely, bed was extremely comfortable I wanted to steal the pillows they were amazing! The only thing I can complain about is how long it took for the heating to kick in. other than that, I thoughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your 5* review you have recently given the hotel.

It was great to read that you felt your 'room was lovely', 'bed was extremely comfortable' and that the pillows were 'amazing'.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington,, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Superb overnight stay. Arrived midday and had lovely coffees in bar before checking in and receiving warm cookies - earlier than advised. Rooms were adequately sized and had everything you could need for overnight stay, bathroom had shower only which we prefer, very clean room and had a very good nights sleep in a comfy bed, booked the hotel breakfast and this was delicious. Would recommend hotel and would stay here again as within easy walking distance of theatre, bars and Cabot circus shopping centre. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the 5* review you have recently given the hotel. It was pleasing to read that you had a 'superb overnight stay' with us and that you felt your breakfast was 'delicious'.

I agree with you that the hotel is in a good location as it is very close to Temple Meads Train Station and it's within easy walking distance to the Bristol City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre and Bristol harbour side.

I was delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel to others and that you would stay here again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with another warm chocolate chip cookie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to attend a gig and from the minute we were arrived the service and standards were excellent. Friendly service, facilities in the room were spot on and the gym was just perfect for our needs. Comfortable bed and clean modern room. The warm cookie was a treat - and a nice touch. The location was perfect and we would definitely use this hotel / chain again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your 5* review.

I was delighted to read that the 'service and standards in the hotel were excellent' and that you felt the warm chocolate chip cookie was a 'nice touch' on arrival. The cookie represents the DoubleTree by Hilton brand and all guests receive a warm cookie at check in.

I will ensure your review is place on our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen for all to see.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel or to another DoubleTree by Hilton branded hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing