We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Situated 15 mins walk from the docks area this hotel is ideally situated. Hotel is immaculate, room was fresh and clean. Bed comfy and a beautiful bathroom. Had a wonderful weekend. Well done all of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Willettssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your 5* review you have recently given the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be 'immaculate' and that your room was 'fresh and clean' with a 'comfy' bed and 'beautiful' bathroom. It was also great to read the location of our hotel was perfect for you, only being a short walk to the city centre and Bristol harbourside.

I will ensure you review is posted on our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen for all our staff to see. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    640
    160
    59
    22
See reviews for
192
622
64
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had 2 bad experiences while staying at Doubletree Hilton in Bristol Temple Meads. The first of these happened during check in, after approaching reception for check in i was told the room was not ready and the receptionist looked myself and my wife up and down and made a passing comment to a another member of staff. A friend who we had traveled with also staying spoke to the 3rd receptionist and was checked in without a problem. I spoke to this receptionist (less than 5 minutes after the first check in attempted) and checked in without a problem. The cookies were a great welcome and very warm. The room was a delight (kingsize) and appeared very clean and fresh. The 2nd morning of the stay at 8am house keeping knocked the door and just entered the room, considering we were at the end of the corridor given the time, our do not disturb sign was on the door this should not have happened and others must have been entered before 8am in the morning was ridiculous. Then even more to my disbelief house keeping then returned 40 minutes later did the same thing again. Apon check out this was reported to the receptionist. He did give his apologies and also pointed out we were not the only people to complain and it was going to be dealt with.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for giving us your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was very sorry to read that we were unable to check you in when you first arrived at the hotel and that you were disturbed by our Houskeeping department the following morning. I will pass your feedback onto the relevant departments ensuring corrective training is put into place. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that was caused.

I was however pleased to read that you enjoyed and felt welcomed by the warm chocolate chip cookie that you were given when you checked in. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Does not look much from outside. Inside it is clean and stylish. The bedrooms although not massive are functional, modern and clean with all the mod cons you would expect, free wifi is included. I used the restaurant for breakfast, this was the usual buffet service selection and supplied everything you would expect. The city centre location is convenient for a 10 minute walk to bars, restaurants and Bristol Templemeads train station. The airport bus stop is 100m across the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review.

I agree with you that our hotel is ‘conveniently positioned’ in Bristol, just a short walk from Temple Meads Train Station and that the City Centre (including Cabot Circus Shopping Centre and Bristol Harbourside). We are only a short bus journey away from Bristol Airport as well.

I was delighted that you felt the bedrooms were 'functional', 'modern' and 'clean' with all the accessories you needed and that the breakfast buffet met your expectations.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is well situated in the centre of Bristol, and is convenient with on-site parking. Would recommend this hotel. Only comment was that the hand towels smelt of Ajax - so there seems to be an issue with the laundry that the hotel uses, it appears that the detergent is not being properly rinsed out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowlandAndMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for takling the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I agree with you that the on-site car parking is very convenient for all our guests and also that the hotel is well situated in Bristol, close to the city centre, harbourside, shopping centres and Temple Meads Train Station.

I will ensure your comments regarding the hand towels is forwarded to our Housekeeping department and any corrective action is taken ensuring that all our linen is fresh and clean at all times.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

excellent hotel with helpful staff ,5 mins from centre of Bristol only downside is a hotel extra charge for parking, hotel restaurant is very good and the whole round service is excellent right the way down to the warm cookie you receive on your arrival at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank andrewp248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have recently given the hotel in relation to your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you found the hotel to be 'excellent' with 'helpful staff'. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie which all our guests receive when arriving to check in at the hotel. The cookie represents the 'DoubleTree by Hilton' brand and is very popular with all our guests.

I am sorry you felt the £7.50 car parking charge was a 'downside' to your stay. We do regularly check our overnight car parking charges and I can assure you that we remain one of the cheapest hotels in Bristol for this.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Check in area clean and tidy- check in itself easy, friendly staff at the desk.
Rooms spacious and comfy
Bathroom spotless and well equipped
Breakfast great value at £10

Cannot fault his chain yet again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your 4* review. I was very pleased to read that your check in was easy and that you found the reception area to be clean and tidy with friendly staff. It was also pleasing to read that you found your bedroom to be 'spacious' and 'comfy', your bathroom were 'spotless' and 'well equipped' and your breakfast in our Kiln Restaurant was 'great value'.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel or another DoubleTree by Hilton branded hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideal if you are going for a night out to the bars & restaurants or shopping, located in the centre of Bristol. Warm cookie on arrival, friendly staff, comfortable room, great shower, ample parking (stayed Sat night). Good breakfast, quick check in/out, very clean did the job for me & my partner. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dimples50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent 5* review and your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing to read that you and your partner would 'highly recommend' our hotel to others and that that you felt the hotel is ideally situated for guests that want to visit Bristol's nightlife, shops and restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the hotel and Bristol very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing