We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Location is very hadn't for the train station. About a 5 minute walk to harbour and bars. 10 mins to shops

Room was good size with nice decor. No fridge or mini bar which wasn't ideal. Large comfy bed. Bathroom was nice but only a shower and no bath. Noisy group of girls in room next door and could hear every word

Check in staff were friendly and efficiently checked us in

Hotel bar lacks atmosphere, drinks are ok price for hotel

We are breakfast next day was average

Overall a good hotel for the price

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katycrunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have recently given the hotel. I was pleased that the location of the hotel was good for you, being close to the train station and only about a 5 minute walk to harbour and bars. It was great that you felt your room was a 'good size' with 'nice decor' and had a 'large comfy bed'. I was sorry however to read that you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel. We always have a Duty Manager on duty, and if they are made aware of any issues or guests concerns they can help to assist/resolve any issues.

It was good to read that you felt the check in staff were friendly and that you were efficiently checked into the hotel. I was disappointed that you felt the bar lacks atmosphere, however was pleased you felt the drink prices were ok. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    620
    156
    58
    21
See reviews for
188
597
60
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The reception desk service was very good. Room was ok, a bit small. The main disappointment was the water pressure. A huge rose coming from the ceiling, plus hand held shower, I thought this was going to be a nice shower, but it was like a watering can. Thank goodness I had my long hair cut last year before my stay. Food at breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read the water pressure in the shower was low when you stayed with us, I will ensure your comments are passed to the Maintenance department ensuring the water pressure is checked in the bedrooms and corrective measures put into place . I am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused you.

I was pleased to read you felt the reception desk was 'very good' and that the food at breakfast was 'very nice'. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My first stay at a Double Tree so unsure what to expect. Rooms are usual 3 star standard yet the hotel has a restaurant & full room service. Perhaps the latter explains why the rooms have no minibar or fridge. Otherwise well situated hotel with no problems. Value of course depends on what you pay - we got a very good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review. I am pleased that you felt the hotel was 'well situated', you had 'no problems' and that you were happy with the price you paid for your stay. I am sorry that our bedrooms do not have fridges, we do however have a 24 hour room/beverage service available to all our guests.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights April 2014 . I arranged 2 rooms for 2 nights . Location is excellent being both a 5 minute walk to the train station and 5 minutes to Bristol City Centre . Though there was heightened noise late on Saturday night as the city's youth headed home - this was hardly a criticism and the general quiet of the area probably made it seem a little loud .
Rooms were clean and nicely decorated and maintained to a high standard .
Breakfast was well worth it - a full buffet and very good service .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conti1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent two nights stay. I am pleased that the location of the hotel was excellent for you all, as you said we are only a short walk from Temple Meads Train Station and also to Bristol City Centre.

I was very sorry to read that you were able to hear other guests when they returned to their bedrooms later in the night. I do hope this did not affect you enjoying a good night’s sleep. I was however delighted to read that your rooms were 'clean', 'nicely decorated' and 'maintained to a high standard'.

I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and felt that the breakfast buffet was 'well worth it'. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I wish all Hilton's where the same as this one. Excellent customer service and attention to detail was superb. Great stay and as a diamond member great service. The location is excellent and convenient to all of Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review and the kind comments you have written regarding your stay with us.

I was delighted to read the service you received was 'excellent' with 'great attention to detail' and I agree with you that the location of the hotel is excellent and very convenient for our guests to see 'all of Bristol'.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and as a HHonors member you can earn more loyalty points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thanks to all the staff that made my groups stay an enjoyable one. Lovely clean modern hotel with friendly staff. A great reception on arrival with a nice welcome and cookies for everyone! The food in the restaurant was very nice with a good choice and the rooms large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the 5* review and the kind comments you have written about the hotel and the staff. It is always great to read that the staff members made your stay with us an 'enjoyable one'. I will ensure your thanks are passed onto the team members.

I am also pleased you enjoyed your cookie on arrival - all guests staying at any DoubleTree by Hilton hotel worldwide receive a warm chocolate chip cookie on check in. It is very popular with all of our guests!.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We (family of four) stayed one night at the Bristol Double tree hotel during Easter break. We received warm welcome from the staff and as one would expect the quality of the rooms and services was excellent. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Srinivasan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guests.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel in relation to your stay with us over the Easter period. I am delighted to read that you received a 'warm welcome' from our staff and that you felt the rooms and the service you received were both 'excellent'

I was also very pleased to read that you would definitely recommend us to others and I hope you and your family will come and visit us again soon. You can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing