We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard Doubletree Hilton, newly renovated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First visit since it was taken over (was a tired Ramada) and renovated. Hence in very good material state and decor. Much brighter with a more modern decor. Very friendly and attentive staff. Fair size bedroom with comfy double bed and good choice of pillows. New bathroom with great shower, tea and coffee in the room etc good meal in the bar and excellent breakfast. They gave got rid of the postage stamp size pool and now the space is a good size gym with new equipment (concept 2 rowers, running machine, cross trainer, etc and fixed multi-gym). Great location near Temple Meads station and walking distance of some good restaurants and bars.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Miguelito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel. The hotel was fully refurbished last year and rebranded to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol City Centre on 1st May 2013. I am very pleased that you are in approval of the changes we have made and that you like the new modern décor of the hotel.

I am also delighted that you like the changes we have made to the leisure facilities, which now gives all our guests 24 access to a newly refurbished gym and its equipment.

We look forward to your return visit to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A comfortable hotel, not too expensive with (on the top floor) a nice view of St Mary Redcliffe church. Ate at Mecure nearby which was good so did not try the restaurant although the bar was a pleasant area to sit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank grahamekean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel in relation to your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you found the hotel to be 'comfortable' and that you particularly liked the views of St Mary Redcliffe church from your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed her for a weekend meet up with my boyfriend. That receptionist was friendly and helpful.

The room was compact, but very clean, one of the cleanser rooms I've ever stayed in! It was modern and nicely decorated. We were in 431 on the fourth floor and it was very quiet, we never heard any noise from other rooms or from the corridor.

The bed was very comfortable and the towels were thick. The shower had a huge shower head but also a separate hand held shower. It was very luxurious.

We had a lovely romantic weekend away and the lovely room made our trip complete. It was only a few minutes walk from the station for me and my boyfriend was able to park his car easily.

Room Tip: 431 on the fourth floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnyonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have given the hotel. I was pleased to read that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and that you particular liked your room on the 4th floor.

I am pleased that the location of the hotel was perfect for you being only a few minutes walk from Temple Meads Train Station and that you boyfriend was able to park easily in the hotels car park.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First return visit since last October and made to feel very welcome. All staff attentive and helpful, which always helps make any hotel stay better. Breakfast was mediocre (mainly due to the hot food being over-cooked and just about tepid due to sitting on a buffet warmer) but there is enough choice to avoid such items. As a very regular Hilton guest, this is a common failing, and sadly not unique to this hotel - or maybe I'm just too fussy?!
The hotel is well connected for access to onward travel and city centre alike and has always been competitively priced whenever I've stayed. Also worth noting that Hilton Honors rooms are well appointed and larger than typical UK hotel sizes.
All in all, a hotel to include in any comparisons or searches if staying in or near Bristol.

Room Tip: Honors rooms on the 5th floor are better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the 4* review you have recently given us in relation to your return visit. I was pleased that all the staff were attentive and helpful which as you said in your review always helps to make a guests stays better. I am delighted that we were able to do this for you.

I was however sorry to read that you felt your breakfast was mediocre, however I was pleased to read that you were happy with the vast choice of breakfast items. I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the Kitchen department and any corrective action is taken.

I agree with you that the hotel is well connected for guests that use Bristol Temple Meads Station and want to be close to the city centre and harbour side. I was also pleased that you felt the hotel is competitively priced and that you enjoyed staying in one of the hotels HHonors designated bedrooms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We picked this hotel as it was reasonably handy for Temple Meads station and the city. We stayed for 2 nights.

Our room was clean, but a bit impersonal. The whole place had a feel that it was designed by the company accountant to make money. Other guests seem to be wowed by the fact that you are presented with a cookie on arrival - I notice we didn't see anything like that afterwards. Our towels disappeared after the first day so I asked a cleaner if we could have some more - she came into our room and lifted the toilet seat! Maybe they should teach their staff English? Our package didn't include breakfast, which was very expensive there. We went elsewhere, and had two wonderful breakfasts for about half the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review in relation to your recent two nights stay with us. I was pleased that the hotel was in a handy location for you being close to the city centre and the harbour side and that you felt your room was clean.

I am sorry that you felt your stay was not great , Iwill ensure your comments and feedback are forwarded to the relevant departmental managers and where necessary any corrective training/actions are taken. We hope you will come and stay with us again when you are next visiting Bristol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent for Bristol Temple Meads train station, the city centre and the airport shuttle bus stops directly outside of the hotel.
We were stopping there due to the location to the station as were taking the train to Cardiff for rugby matches.
We received a friendly welcome, efficient check in AND a warm cookie on arrival - a lovely treat and a surprise.
Our room was spacious, clean and well maintained.
The only grumble we have on our room was that it had an interconnecting door which made the noise from the room next door much louder.
The quality of toiletries, shower etc were excellent too.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel as we were out alot of the time. On check in we were informed that if we wanted to book the breakfast the night before we could have this at £10 instead of the £13.95 on the day.
It was definitely worth while as there was an extensive choice cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, breads/toasts, juices. The cooked options were very good too, topped up regularly so ensuring everything was fresh looking and edible!
It was a great start to the day and well worth the money.
On departure we were able to store our bags until we actually left the hotel saving us from having to take our bags with us all day.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree and wouldnt hesitate using this one or any others in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have recently given the hotel. My team will be delighted to read all your kind comments regarding the hotel and the great customer service you received during your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie you received on arrival at the hotel, this is a signature of the DoubleTree by Hilton brand and all guests receive one on check in. I will ensure your review is displayed in the staff canteen for all to see.

It was pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you wouldn't hesitate in using our hotel or others in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There was no hot water, i was accommodated in a adult twin single. What a useless room to have for a single man. I haven’t slept in a single bed since i was about 15 i really didn’t want to re-visit the experience at the age of 28. Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience that was caused to you by the lack of hot water in the hotel on the morning of your stay. I can confirm that this was an isolated issue and it was resolved later in the day. We do hope that you will give us another chance and come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £71 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing