We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveller rating
817
732
209
69
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
732
209
69
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiln restaurantdouble treeglass kilnwarm cookieswelcome cookieon arrivalcity centrelovely hoteltrain stationtemple meads stationreception staffgood sizebusiness tripbreakfast was excellentenjoyable staytwin roomcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,369 - 1,374 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

very good service, nice and clean rooms, big and varied breakfast, but a bit expensive for those who dont have it included in the room price. thin walls so you hear conversations easily in the neighbour room. short walk to train station and very good is that the airport bus stops right outside the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have recently given the hotel. It was pleasing to read that your room was 'nice and clean' and that there was a large selection of breakfast items on the buffet. I agree with you that the hotel has a good location in Bristol as it is only a very short walk to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and as you said the 'Airport Express' bus stop is directly outside the hotel, which is very handy for guests travelling to or from Bristol Airport.

We do hope you will visit us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed in this new Doubletree so I could attend a dinner in Bristol. The hotel used to be a Ramada which was a bit tired. Hilton have upgraded throughout including the rooms.The staff were friendly and the breakfast was a good standard. The restaurant is in what looks like an old round kiln at the rear of the hotel. There are 6 hotels within a few miles of this so expect some good deals until they get established. My sat nav followed BS1 6NJ to the rear of the hotel and a boarded up pub so be aware of that. Hilton now has a Garden Inn and DoubleTree in Bristol City Centre which we have asked them for, now we should support them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have recently given the hotel. It was pleasing to read that you approve of the new décor of the hotel. I can confirm that all areas of the hotel were fully refurbished last year in a £5m rebrand and refurbishment programme. We are delighted with the changes and the hotels new brand of DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol City Centre.

I can confirm that the Kiln Restaurant was the sole survivor of more than a dozen conical glassworks which stood in what was once one of the West Country’s busiest industrial areas. Until 1930 the last remaining kiln stood at an impressive 150 feet until the upper sections were demolished, leaving the remains we know today. This fascinating relic of Bristol’s industrial past was then converted into the Kiln Restaurant.

I was sorry to read that your Sat Nav took you to the rear of the hotel, I will investigate this further and if we are able to I will put correct actions in place ensuring all Sat Nav systems take our guests to the main entrance to the hotel. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came here for a hen do for 2 nights. Check in was fine, and you get a free warm cookie (OK tasting)!

The room is good, with comfy beds and a walk in shower with a waterfall head. The toiletries you get are lovely too. We had a good view of the church (which is noisy on a Sunday!) and the TV was huge!

However, the walls seemed paper thin. We could hear actual conversations, not just muffled voices and the same went with people in the corridor. I've never come across anything like it!

The hotel is a 10 min walk from the town centre and 5 mins from the train station so very handy. The breakfast is tasty with a good range of breakfast foods, hot and cold.

Would not stay here again with my husband or family as too noisy. Would stay again with friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am delighted that the location of the hotel was favourable to you being very close to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and the City Centre.

I was very pleased to read that you liked the walk-in rainfall shower, the range of toiletries we offer and the widescreen TV in your room. I was also pleased that you liked the view from your bedroom of St Mary Redcliffe Church and that your breakfast was 'tasty' with a good range of hot and cold breakfast items on the buffet.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very well located hotel for nearby Temple Meads Train Station. Very well presented hotel with an atmospheric restaurant. However some details regarding the breakfast, ie quality and variety of food not quite up to the usual Hilton standard. Otherwise a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review you have given the hotel.

It was pleasing to read that you felt the hotel was very well presented and that you particularly liked the atmospheric Kiln Restaurant. I was sorry to read that you felt the breakfast buffet was not to the usual Hilton standard. As you can see from other reviews, we usually score very highly on the quality and selection of breakfast items on the buffet and pride ourselves on the service we offer. It was disappointing that this was not the case for your stay and I do assure you that our Restaurant team have been made aware of your comments/feedback and any corrective action/training taken.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon, you can always find our best guaranteed rates and offers on our website and in addition you can earn points in our world renowned Hilton HHonors loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Hotel has been very nicely designed and furnished. Rooms aren't huge but with customised furniture and fittings it works well. Excellent range of lighting and freeview TV. Bathroom clean and efficient with Bah and shower. Room 528 is perfect for a quiet night. At the end of the corridor on the top floor by a fire exit so no passing guests or disturbances which judging by other reviews has been a problem here in the past. I've stayed at many DT's in the UK and the full range of Hilton group hotels worldwide but this scores highly. Fantastic breakfast and thoughtful staff plus excellent room service in the evening where they said 15 minutes and it was 15 minutes. Well done guys! Downside? Drinks are premium priced so bring your own from stores nearby!

Room Tip: 5th floor is top floor and 528 is great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 4* review and for taking the time to give us your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read that you felt the hotel was 'very nicely designed' and that both the furniture and the fittings in the bedrooms worked well together.

I was delighted to read that you had a 'fantastic breakfast' in our Kiln Restaurant, the staff were 'thoughtful' and your room service was 'excellent'. I will ensure your review is displayed on the Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen for all team members to see.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol City Centre hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews