We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Bromwich, West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the second time that I've stayed here and the most important thing is the quality of sleep you get. I don't normally sleep well in hotels but I'm knocked out here. There is no external noise and the bed is so comfy! The room is modern with a big telly in the wall at the foot of the bed. Shower over bath. What I do like in the bathroom is the heated mirror, it never steams up. Lovely view over the church too. The only criticism is that even though we were only staying one night, the maids knocked on our door three times! We checked out before the actual checkout time too. The first time was about 7.30, then about 8 and again about 9ish. I guess we should have put the little tag on the door but honestly thought we wouldn't need to as we had a checkout time. Other than that, great hotel and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review. A 5/5 is great but coupled with the fact that you have choosen to return to the hotel, based on a previous visit, makes it all the more fantastic.

I have a similiar problem in that I struggle to get a good nights sleep away from home, particularly during the first night. To wake up tired is not at all desirable, especially with a busy day ahead. To read that you feel you get a great quality of sleep is brilliant. We have invested in a very good quality of beds and I think your comments justify every bit of expense.

I will speak with the Housekeeping Manager regarding you being distrubed in the morning. Our room attendants can be a little eager on occasion. Like you suggested, using the 'Do Not Disturb' sign would remedy this in future.

Once again a big Thank You for choosing to stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    668
    175
    63
    25
See reviews for
208
646
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great value for money. Room was very clean and comfortable. Reached late evening. Didn't realise I had messed up the booking by getting the dates wrong!
The staff attending to us were excellent. Gave us a room and were extremely courteous . Not sure of their names but thanks a lot. Didn't have to pay anything extra as well. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallmouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for your 5/5 review. It is great to read that you were so well looked after. I will be personally highlighting your comments to my Front Office Manager.

Ocassionally guests do arrive with slight errors on their bookings. I am pleased to say that for the vast amount the Front Office team are able to resolve them with no problem at all.

Once again Thank You for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttg8
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good standard hilton approaching the high quality you would experience in a US based facility. Staff v helpful, requested and got a late check out with no problem. Rooms comfortable and no external noise experienced. Breakfast good! Good transport system v close to temple meads for rail and on airport hopper route so no car required. Restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read that you had a relaxing break with us here at the hotel. Specifically that my staff were welcoming and very helpful during your stay. Great customer service is what we strive to acheive and to hear, first hand, that we are succeeding is excellent.

The hotel is very well placed for people visiting Bristol without a car. As you've rightly pointed out, the links to planes, trains and buses are very good indeed. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of them to explore Bristol further.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

you get free cookies at check in and the room was very comfy as were the beds
breakfast was good as you could help yourself
would definitely recommend this too any one going to Bristol,Nice walks round by the rivers

Room Tip: any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. A 5/5 is fantastic. I am very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed you stay with us.

The cookies are very popular and real treat after what could be a long journey to Bristol. The harbourside and surrounding area is a real focus point in Bristol and the hotel is excellently suited for exploring it by foot.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were helpful and the hotel was clean & modern, warm cookies on arrival were a nice touch.
We had a package which included dinner in the hotel restaurant which I have to say was outstanding. I wasn't expecting much as it was at a discounted rate but I have to say they exceeded my expectations!
Great hotel would certainly stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great customer service and the quality of stay that people have come to expect from the Hilton brand. It was great to read that you had a very good stay and thank you for the 5/5 review.

I have a very good team within the kitchen and I look forward to sharing your review with them directly.

Once again thank you for taking the time to complete the review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arrival, the reception staff were very polite was booked in very quickly. The room was very clean and had a comfortable nights sleep. Although we didn't have breakfast friends of our that also stayed did and they both said how nice it was. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the brilliant review and for considering us for any future needs you may have.

I would definately recommend the breakfast buffett. What better way to start the day then a lovely big breakfast, especially if it follows a good nights sleep and even a lie in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a really good stay here - we were there during the Harbourside Festival and although it was busy everywhere, the staff were welcoming and extremely helpful - in particular all the reception staff were superb and the warm cookie on arrival is a really nice touch.
My room was spacious and very comfortable with good air conditioning - great for a heat wave, although, and it's a tiny criticism, I would have liked a bath in my bathroom for that price.
Breakfast was a wee bit expensive but there was plenty of options and the hot food was constantly replenished, so we could get our money's worth!
Location wise, very handy for the train station and a pleasant stroll to the busier areas if you like a walk.
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A high room gave me great views across Bristol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

A really big thank you for your 5/5 review.

There are several festivals throughout the year, in Bristol, and the harbourside one is one of the busiest. It was great to read that despite the volume of people, that my hotel team, specifically the Receptionists, were able to deliver a fantastic level of customer service...and lovely warm cookies!

Should you be considering making a future booking, please let us know that you would like a bath and my team will happily allocate a room accordingly.

Once again, thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing