We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We got a great deal which was emailed by Travelzoo as we were going to see Shrek at the Hippodrome so booked this for the night to make a weekend of it. We arrived at around 12.30pm and our original room wasn't ready - should have been on the Hilton Honors floor but they said we could check into another on a different floor which we did.

Room was lovely clean, spacious with a view over St Mary Redcliffe Church which was fab. We paid a small extra to upgrade to a king sized room and had a huge super kingsized bed with was very comfy. We booked breakfast with our booking and a reasonable cost - this was lovely and a good selection. Normal hotel breakfast choice.

Free wifi in the whole hotel.

It was about 15 mins walk to the Hippodrome (I am not a fast walker!) which was a lovely stroll there and back along by the water for some of the way and across Queen Square.

The staff were lovely and all very helpful. Would use this hotel if we can get a good rate next time we stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It sounds like you had a wonderful visit to Bristol and why not make a weekend of it. There's plenty to see and do within a short walk of the hotel. Thank you for completing a lovely review of your stay with us. I really do appreciate all reviews, no matter what the scores, but to get 5/5s is fantastic.

There are some lovely areas to take a relaxed stroll through in Bristol and you've found one of the best. Queens Square is one of the largest Georgian Squares within the country. If you're lucky you might time a visit to Bristol when they use Queens Square as a venue for an outside cinema. We're very lucky in that it forms the main route in to the historic harbourside and the very centre of Bristol.

Your choice of including the upgrade to a Kingsize room sounds like it was well worth the small fee. Those Super Kingsize beds are truely enormouse and perfect for relaxing after a busy day in the office, shopping or touring Bristol. I was particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the staff. That is exactly the kind of comments I look forward to reading.

Do consider us for any future needs within Bristol you may have. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    640
    160
    59
    22
See reviews for
192
622
64
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Well appointed room, comfy, bright modern shower room and good bed. About a 10/15min walk to city centre. Decent breakfast selection. 24hour gym, with a great range of kit, treadmills etc. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for the 5/5 review. It's fantastic to read that you have had an great stay and would definately stay with us again in the future.

When the hotel was refurbished one of our main aims was to ensure the rooms had all the mod cons but without losing any level of comfort. I think we have succeeded in getting the balance right, especially with the bathrooms and their rain affect showers.

Our 24hr gym has proved very popular. Again we have made it to fit in with the lifestyles of both leisure guests and the busier business traveller. Allowing access at all times suits everyones needs.

Once again a big thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here several times over the last few months and it was always a good place to stay. The rooms are great and it's hard to fault anything about the hotel. I would highly recommend staying here on a visit to Bristol and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of your most recent visit. It's great to read that you really enjoy staying with us and have stayed on a number of occasions.

Your recommendation is very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I'm not sure why I cannot rate this hotel as excellent as it is clean, centrally located, with good bedrooms, reasonable food and polite and helpful staff (but not over the top) but there is just something that doesn't feel right. Perhaps it is the windowless Reception on the First Floor or the gloomy bar area that isn't inviting. Would recommend the hotel but wouldn't go overboard!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of your recent stay.

Fair enough. Sometimes there is just something you can't put your finger on that just takes that edge off of something. Generally the refurbishment of the hotel has been very well received, including the reception and bar areas. But there are always going to be times where things just aren't to peoples liking.

Thank you for your recommendation. Perhaps you might return, when you're next in Bristol, and you can give us a chance to earn top marks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great quality rooms with all amenities, relaxing hotel, perfect breakfast, enjoyed time in the 24 hr gym, first class service, easy to walk into town and just a few minutes walk there from Templemeads railway station, very enjoyable experience, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

A really big thank you for your fantastic review. A 5/5 is really great to read.

We had to move with the times regarding the gym. We'd had several guests asking for later or earlier access, to match their busy lives. When we completed the refurbishment of the hotel, we took the decision to remove the pool. This allowed us to have an unmanned gym which could be open 24hrs.

Once again, thanks for your review. Please consider us for any future needs you may have within Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

All round good business hotel. I had Singapore Noodles in the bar which was as good as any chinese restaurant I've been to. Breakfast excellent. Slept well. Good central location beware of current road works near Temple Meads Station which caught me out a week or two back. Ample on site parking.

Room Tip: I try and go high and at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewbopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review.

I have passed on your kind words, regarding the meals you enjoyed, to our Kitchen team. They were very pleased to hear such a review and, in particular, that you had enjoyed your Singapore noodles so much.

The road works have been a slight issue, especially this week just passed. Who'd have thought that the closure of one 20ft section of a roundabout could cause such problems. One of my team, who lives approx 1.5 miles away, took nearly an hour to get in one morning! I am very pleased to advise that these road works have been resolved and there are no further issues.

I do hope that you consider us the next time you have any needs within Bristol. It would be lovely to have the opportunity to turn that 4/5 to a 5/5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis over the bank holiday period.My husband and I were very impressed with the hotel and staff. The hotel is very central for exploring Bristol and only a five minute walk from Bristol Temple Mead Station.Check in and check out was quick and fast with a well organised reception with friendly informative and helpful staff. The added touch of a freshly baked cookie on arrival was very welcome after a long journey in heavy bank holiday traffic!! Our room was on the second floor and was very modern with everything we needed and had a lovely view of the church. The shower in the room was excellent, with a hand shower and overhead shower, and the bed, king size and comfortable. Air-conditioning was provided and was a quiet and efficient system. We had a very restful, undisturbed stay and although the hotel was quite full, there was a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. With regards to the food, breakfast was fresh, varied and delicious, with very welcoming and efficient staff. .We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Bristol. A real gem, great value for money and great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DevonMolly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review. A 5/5 score is great to read.

The cookie is part of the very warm welcome we try to provide our guests. The journey to the hotel can be tough, especially during busy periods such as Bank holiday weekends. The faster our guests can relax and unwind and start enjoying their break, the better.

I was pleased to read that you found the room to your liking. We invested a good deal of time and energy in designing a room that would be both very relaxing, with great quality beds, really decent shower systems, and having everything that the busy traveller might require.

Once again a big thank you for completing your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing