We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
bognor Regis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long Weekend”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. OK ish. Very busy on the Saturday with a wedding so Sunday breakfast was packed long wait for buffet to be replenished. Lunch time also very busy. There was nowhere in the hotel to sit in a comfortable chair to read a paper or book. Staff were friendly but I think not very experienced. Furnishings were ordinary Towels were a very good size and bed was very comfortable and room was nice and warm also wonderful views of the bridge. Parking for cars is very limited, down a narrow, steep slope at the back of the hotel. If you go down and there are no places you have to back up to get out.

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trencherw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    352
    224
    76
    46
See reviews for
189
382
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We found our stay very enjoyable, although we did check before we booked to be sure there were not any functions on the night of our stay, we had read that functions could be rowdy affairs and sleeping in some parts of the hotel were near impossible , having said that our stay was enjoyable breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, hotel staff were very polite , the back of the hotel has the most wonderful backdrop, certainly worth paying a few more pounds for a room with a view , Parking was easy, outside the hotel & free although spaces would be of a premium if the hotels were busier , our room was at the front it was spacious enough & the bed was comfortable, now the bad bits, the sink was blocked, there was hair blocking the bath, the extractor fan didn't work ( with no window ) & the floor was very squeaky, we would stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was my first attempt at taking my children (11.8 & 6) to stay in a real hotel and I couldn't have chosen a better one. A lovely room facing the Suspension Bridge and a bathroom to lust after, first come first served parking or street parking which wasn't a problem even at the weekend.
Really enjoyed breakfast but more importantly I would highly recommend Afternoon Tea particular the Children's Tea and the tea cake, both a wonderful treat.
Luckily my children were well behaved so I'm hoping they'll have us back!

Room Tip: Views of the Clifton suspension bridge first thing in the morning were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeronime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and what a pleasure it was. The room was lovely, good sized and clean with a nice clean bathroom. The views of the Clifton Suspension Bridge are lovely and I'm sure it would be even nicer when the weather's dry! The staff were very professional and efficient and whenever we walked through the hotel therewas always someone cleaning; it's certainly a very well kept hotel. The breakfast was very good, plenty of everything and a good choice of hot dishes too. We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant which was good, with very professional staff. The only slight downside of the hotel is that parking is a bit hit and miss and wouldn't be ideal for anyone with mobility issues, but a wonderful hotel overall.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the road, but it certainly didn't affect our sleep, so there can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

In its white curving terrace it breathes the the atmosphere of another time - you can almost catch a glimpse of a Regency beau. It's quiet and peaceful here but you may have to drive round for a while to find a parking place. This was our second stay in three years and we had the same first floor comfortable room with its period balcony and grand view of the Avon Gorge and the suspension bridge. There is a programme of refurbishment but it's a pity that this does not include rooms for people with disabilities. Dinner varies from so-so to good depending on the chef and this calls for improvement. There was a good selection for breakfast which was served with enthusiasm although we were a little late. Without exception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Asked for a refurbished one, preferably with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Avon Gorge Hotel, we had a dual aspect room overlooking the village one side and the suspension bridge the other. We had lunch in Clifton and walked through Ashton Court Estate late afternoon to see all the balloons beginning to take off, the bridge is free to walk across and the estate is also free, the deer park is also free. We had supper in Long Ashton with friends at their house. We walked back to the hotel, it took about 50 minutes. On Saturday we had a good breakfast included in the room cost and friends came round for coffee on the terrace which was great as the Grommit was there to see, Bristol had 80 to see and find, we only saw 3. We would recommend this hotel for a short break, it is a bit tired but service was good and breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view corners are great dual aspect village and gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent location, great breakfast.

I commented that the bathroom was dated with stains on bathroom ceiling which although they are updating rooms one by one, I would recommend a quick touch up for poorly decorated rooms to reflect highly rated hotel.

Personally I felt room was acceptable for myself, and provided this feedback direct to hotel manager, who took the time to call me and thank fr my constructive feedback.

Definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing