We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny Bristol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunny Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed one night on the way to Cornwall & Tresco . We were blessed with warm sunshine &
the setting overlooking the gorge & the suspension bridge was outstanding . We enjoyed a very
pleasant lunch on the lovely terrace . The hotel is well situated to allow easy visits to SS Great
Britain & historic Bristol; we loved strolling Clifton & her famous Downs . Clifton is vibrant with
many fine restaurants ; in the end we chose The Emperor's Court ( Chinese) which was excellent.
Our room(34) was well appointed & very comfortable with balcony & private garden . The service
was efficient & friendly & the ease of parking was a most surprise !! All in all a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 34 or associated rooms offering private balconies & gardens with beautiful views of the Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonh363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    344
    219
    74
    34
See reviews for
177
372
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fantastic position, good rooms, excellent service and pleasant bar, what more does one need.
Good value for money. We stayed B&B and breakfast was more than adequate. For those unfamiliar with driving in Bristol, prepare well in advance, narrow roads, steep hills and a devilish one way system, without care the stay could well include a tour of the City.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just spent the weekend in Bristol and spent one night at this hotel. We were on the 3rd floor in a room facing the Clifton Suspension bridge. Fantastic spot to have a hotel and the view from the window was amazing - even though the weather was awful. We stayed in room 330
Our room was nicely decorated and clean. We had a good nights sleep, although the mattress was quite hard. The restaurant was very nice and the food very good. It was nice to be able to walk through to the connecting pub, which has a large terrace overlooking the gorge - would be fantastic on a hot sunny day. We found the staff really pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to be able to park at the front of the hotel, which cost us nothing. There are some parking spaces at the back of the hotel but it is on quite a steep little slope.
Bristol is a great city to visit, with some fantastic buildings. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a bridge side room. Take your own shower cap/flannel. Definitely use travel bags with wheels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonsnowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We came here for a weekend away in Bristol and stayed for one night. We upgraded to the superior gorge view room and we're not disappointed. We were put in one of the newly decorated rooms. Very clean and tastefully designed. The bathroom was tiled floor to ceiling and acted as a sort of wet room. There were plenty of amenities including a large tv and we had an excellent view of Clifton Suspension Bridge stretching over the gorge!

The outdoor veranda/garden area was lovely and we enjoyed a few drinks as the sun went down after dinner out and the breakfast in the morning was plentiful and tasty. The staff were lovely and we were made to feel welcome.

The hotel is undergoing gradual refurbishment and if all of the rooms eventually look like ours side then you can't really go wrong for a short retreat.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomrob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location, disappointing hotel. On entering the bar on a pleasant sunday afternoon, we were confronted by a large group of inebriated yobs, one of whom attempted to dance with me. The singing, shouting and swearing upset people, some with children. These men were clearly there to intimidate and cause disturbance, but the staff did NOTHING despite repeated complaints from the other guests, -getting the ‘manager not available’ and shrugging shoulders treatment. One of them let it slip that ‘they pay good money, so they let them stay’.
Despite the manager telling us the next morning that the issue had been dealt with, we were twice woken in the early hours by groups leaving and chanting and clapping in the street, shrieks from feral women and banging noises which sounded like cars being kicked. How could they allow this in this sort of hotel.? Well, that's because their priority is cash in the til..
Other reviews have suggested that the hotel is only interested in large groups, weddings etc. and it's easy to see why. Pulling pints of lagers for large groups of students and yobs is a priority. Tea on the terrace for the guest is a Do it Yourself affair. Comparing it to a Weatherspoons is an insult to that chain. At least they act like have a duty of care for decent people.
A once ‘Grand’ hotel, that has sadly lost its way, and now in decline through spineless management, and intransigent staff.
My wife would love to write a full and frank complaint to the owners, but I expect it would be intercepted and binned by the manager long before it gets anywhere near them.
What a disgrace

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A comfortable and clean hotel right next to Clifton suspension bridge. The views from the terrace are amazing.The room we had ( 315) had a gorge and bridge view and was clean and tasteful in decor. Breakfast has everything for you whatever your taste and appetite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertssunlover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here from Mon-Thurs this week. A business trip for my husband and a little break for me. Stayed in room 128 and loved the room. Very spacious and well presented.Not luxury but doesn't claim to be. Top end of 3 star.The cherry on the icing is the enormous balcony this room has, with wonderful views of the Clifton Bridge to the right and the town to the left. Space for everything and mirrors near plug points to accommodate hairdrier makeup etc. Breakfast cooked to order first class. Lunch and dinner just as good.Lots of good restaurants within minutes walking distance. Staff extremely helpful and informative. Have stayed in 5 star establishments and not been so comfortable. Cannot recommend highly enough. If in Bristol area stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are limited however, was shown other rooms which were also lovely. Only recommendation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing