We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avon Gorge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$115
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
242
403
274
102
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
403
274
102
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclifton suspension bridgewhite liongreat view of the bridgelarge terraceterrace barlovely hotelstreet parkingthird floorhotel du vinstayed for one nightfamily roomfull englishlovely roomcooked breakfastweddingpermitrefurb
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel over the bank holiday the rooms were lovely with a beautiful view of the bridge and gorge .
We enjoyed a drink on the huge terrace before having a meal in the hotel the food, service and staff were excellent we will definitely be back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John2jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words on the team, rest assured that I will pass on your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Avon Gorge Hotel 2 nights in may as part of my birthday.Myself and my girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.Our room was comfortable andWe had a great view of the Clifton bridge.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food and service was brilliant. The staff were friendly and attentive.
I really dont understand the negative comments posted about the hotel but then again during our stay we observed a few fellow guests who were quite frankly impatient and rude.As for some comments regarding not being able to open windows. It is a safety requirement regarding sash windows
All in all a great hotel in a great location of bristol. So a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank your feedback, and you kind words. I was glad to hear that you enjoy your birthday celebration at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you for supporting The Avon Gorge Hotel.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

y poor service from front desk. Waiting staff good.

Had a room after wedding. No lights working in bath room and room fixtures falling off.

Front desk made us pay more than our booking.com reservation and no sorry or refund for having a room with no working lights in bathroom.

The "gorge view" was only obtained by placing head on window and looking right. Otherwise looking out the rotten and no movable window the view was directly into a tree growing out side the building

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bowsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Bowsaw,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. I was also concerned to hear of the maintenance issue your faced during your stay and I trust that this was rectified and fixed quickly.
Please contact me directly at the hotel, I would love the opportunity to put this right for you.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Suite was barely worth the title, building work instead of the view, restaurant food is average at best and the dress code for the cafe / supposed restaurant includes allowing vests, wet weather clothing (I think anything goes)
Pointed all this out to the evening duty manager who did reduce the bill but still waiting to hear from the general manager who was supposed to email me with an explanation for the issues raised

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mike M

Many thanks for your feedback.
we do not impose a strict dress code on our guest in the Bridge Café restaurant. We want our guest to feel relaxed away from home. In this day and age it would be wrong for us to impose a dress code, all we ask our guest is to show decorum at all times.
We do not claim to have 4 star hotel suites as we are only a Three star hotel, and a very good one judging from all the positive comments we receive on trip advisor. The view is priceless.
I was disappointed to hear that we do not meet your expectation but I glad to hear that pour Duty Manager on the night took your comments on Board an generously discounted you rate.
I am still a little unsure as to which building site your referring to as we do not have any work taking place at present.
I will also write to you personally as you have requested and I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kind regards

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked into this hotel, went to the room and promptly checked out again. Others reviews have mentioned this but there were clearly a number of large and quite boisterous / well oiled parties at the hotel... fine if you happen to be with one but not exactly a quiet and relaxing experience.

The so-called "superior" room was dire. It was meant to have a view of the Clifton Bridge which was only possibly by craning your neck at an oblique angle through dirty windows. The room itself looked like we had entered a 1970's time warp - the facilities were "budget" and may have been provided by B&Q. This is not a top quality establishment. To their credit the front desk accepted our "no thanks" but did inquire the reasons. This hotel is fine for large/boozy parties but not for a quiet relaxed stay. For much less than the £130 asking price we relocated to the Bristol Marriot Royal which was far superior, more relaxing and much less expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Ross N
Many thanks for your feedback.
I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations.
All our rooms have recently been refurbished to a modern standards, Flat screen television, new rain showers, and High quality soft furnishing in elegant colours and British manufactured furniture.
It is impossible for me to comments on the value for money our competitor hotel offer. But I can assure that none enjoy the fantastic location of Clifton, the great views of the Clifton Suspension bridge and all this a short walk away form the world famous Bristol Zoo.
Please feel free to contact me directly, we would love to put this right.

Kind regards
Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews