We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the views”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't beat the views”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We return regularly to The Avon Gorge: partly for the location and superb views, and partly because the staff are great: and there's enough of them to provide a reliably friendly & efficient service.
Our only niggle following our most recent visit is that the newly refurbished bedrooms - fresh & pleasant décor - have lost the storage space they previously had. Re-instating a shelf in the bathroom and set of drawers in the bedroom would be most welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayDupname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    359
    238
    86
    55
See reviews for
200
402
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a family meal booked for a birthday party. We were very well looked after and enjoyed the tasty two steaks and wine for £25. The birthday cake cooked by the hotel was a real winner.
Thank you for everything.
Only nit pick would be that the air con did not seem to be working/on and it was the hottest day of the year, so we did melt a bit. The sun was streaming in the restaurant and a few of the party members became very very hot. We think that the curtains/blinds could have been pulled over to shade the table with the setting sun.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank W9094SVj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed for business for the night, and chose the hotel based on its location and view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge.

My room was very dated and was in desperate need of some TLC. In my room the was silver duct tape holding the carpet together. However my colleagyues had rooms which were recently refurbed and the thsi were really nice, other than they did not have air con.

We have dinner on the balcony overlooking the bridge which was wonderful, and I cannot think of many hotels, other than in central London, that can offer such a view and great location.

The downside was the service was poor. When booking in and checking out the staff were more concerned with having their own conversation, this was concerned with work related tasks but even so. At dinner, despite having a reservation we were made to wait standing at the doorway without being approached, the staff were 'too busy' doing other things. The same was at breakfast, then once seated, after a long wait we had to ask for tea/coffee and toast. We alsio also expected to guess whether we should go and help ourselves or whether we wanted anything cooked fresh.

What a real shame...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the 19th July for 1 night. The room was excellent, the service likewise. Ate lunch after arriving and we chose the '`Kebab' and the Caesar Salad- both extremely tasty.The view- magnificent!
Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the Gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here with our lab. Room was large although dog bed was small. Great location overlooking the gorge and suspension bridge. There is a huge terrace to sit out on and great for photos whilst having food and or coffee. Staff were friendly. Limited parking made worse by a function in the evening when we stayed. Clifton village is on door step and has lots of small independent shops to wander around. Good dog walking places near by as well. All in all a great weekend. short drive into Bristol for SS great Britain museum etc and further shopping

Room Tip: Gorge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluehat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed to visit relatives and had a twin room village view which was down the end of a very long corridor through 5 fire doors. The room was beautifully laid out clean and comfortable with a view over the many chimney pots of Clifton which was interesting. We were on the 3rd floor and had a fan in the room as there is no air conditioning which was very hot and at times uncomfortable especially over the recent stormy weekend. Breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more helpful especially as there was a wedding taking place there at the time. A very pleasant stay and easy walking distance to Clifton Village or the suspension bridge.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel looks towards the village so if you want a view of the bridge, you need to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked hoping for a refurb in the room which wasn't done in time - so the room was very dated with pretty much no places for you to plug in phone chargers etc. the kitchette had nothing in it - no cups, spoons, plates nothing which was a bit odd really. i was told by our family members that some of the other rooms (particually above the bar) were quite noisy with people slamming doors at early hours of the morning.

we slept well it was just a bit dingy and dark though the bathroom was really nicely done out. have stayed in much cheaper nicer places - didn't think it was quite good value for money

Room Tip: Suites are in the basement so are quite dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country. This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunel's Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the world's greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country's finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton; it's just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing