We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avon Gorge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveller rating
238
398
272
100
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
398
272
100
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclifton suspension bridgewhite liongreat view of the bridgelarge terraceterrace barlovely hotelstreet parkingthird floorhotel du vinstayed for one nightfamily roomfull englishlovely roomcooked breakfastweddingpermitrefurb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There are two main reasons to stay at this hotel: the view and the location. The hotel overlooks the Avon Gorge and includes sites from the Clifton Suspension Bridge, the river Avon, and the surrounding country side. On top of that it's location in Clifton village, easily one of the nicest areas in Bristol. With shop and restaurants easily within walking distance. The hotel it's self is nice and the staff are friendly as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We return regularly to The Avon Gorge: partly for the location and superb views, and partly because the staff are great: and there's enough of them to provide a reliably friendly & efficient service.
Our only niggle following our most recent visit is that the newly refurbished bedrooms - fresh & pleasant décor - have lost the storage space they previously had. Re-instating a shelf in the bathroom and set of drawers in the bedroom would be most welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MayDupname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a family meal booked for a birthday party. We were very well looked after and enjoyed the tasty two steaks and wine for £25. The birthday cake cooked by the hotel was a real winner.
Thank you for everything.
Only nit pick would be that the air con did not seem to be working/on and it was the hottest day of the year, so we did melt a bit. The sun was streaming in the restaurant and a few of the party members became very very hot. We think that the curtains/blinds could have been pulled over to shade the table with the setting sun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank W9094SVj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed for business for the night, and chose the hotel based on its location and view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge.

My room was very dated and was in desperate need of some TLC. In my room the was silver duct tape holding the carpet together. However my colleagyues had rooms which were recently refurbed and the thsi were really nice, other than they did not have air con.

We have dinner on the balcony overlooking the bridge which was wonderful, and I cannot think of many hotels, other than in central London, that can offer such a view and great location.

The downside was the service was poor. When booking in and checking out the staff were more concerned with having their own conversation, this was concerned with work related tasks but even so. At dinner, despite having a reservation we were made to wait standing at the doorway without being approached, the staff were 'too busy' doing other things. The same was at breakfast, then once seated, after a long wait we had to ask for tea/coffee and toast. We alsio also expected to guess whether we should go and help ourselves or whether we wanted anything cooked fresh.

What a real shame...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the 19th July for 1 night. The room was excellent, the service likewise. Ate lunch after arriving and we chose the '`Kebab' and the Caesar Salad- both extremely tasty.The view- magnificent!
Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the Gorge
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews