We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views.”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights in 232 and 234 - both gorge facing. Nice rooms with great views, especially 234. Quiet - could only hear faint noise considering it was Friday/Saturday night. We woke up to hot air balloons floating across the sky-line. Staff we're very pleasant and helpful and the cafe seemed to be running much more smoothly than last time we stayed. We enjoyed our food. The location is stunning and an evening walk across the nearby Clifton Bridge was spectacular - made it worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    352
    224
    76
    46
See reviews for
189
382
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We as a family of three, stayed in a suite. Clean and tidy with welcoming staff but a lot of the hotel was tired.

The mattress of the king size bed in the suite was awful. One side was completely shot and made sleeping incredibly difficult.

Given the cost of two nights I would have expected better.

The food in the restaurant was nice and the service good. Breakfast for kids was free (bonus points)

Overall experience was positive and the hotel is in a lovely location.

Would I stay there again? Yes however not at the rate we paid.

Room Tip: The view of the bridge is good but be aware that on that side there is a large terrace that people d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is our second night here and it is like sleeping in a disco. The noise from wedding receptions has gone on until midnight both nights. We are on the third floor and the noise is awful. Hotel is great in all other aspects, but this has spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here while visiting son at university, having remembered parents staying here when we were students thirty years ago.

I'd really like to give it 3.5 as very good is too good but 'average' seems mean. We had a very nice room with great view of the Avon Gorge and Clifton Bridge. That is what raises the hotel above the average. Reception staff were friendly but over-stretched; breakfast fine, but a little cramped, again with good staff. It was a bit more expensive than the more basic hotels in the area, but worth it for the room and situation.

Room Tip: Ask for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1984abrcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel has had a major refurb since we last stayed so the décor is much improved. We stayed in a double room with a bridge and gorge view. The view is spectacular and in many ways is the reason for staying here but other things let the stay down. When we arrived the bathroom was smelly and there was talc on the floor that should have been cleaned up before we checked in. We did tell the staff and they did ask if we wanted another room but we said we were happy as long as someone could pop up and clean the bathroom, which they did.
Then the following morning we noticed the cups were dirty and the shower didn't work! We mentioned the issues on our checking out and we were given a discount.
The staff were very friendly and the bed exceptionally comfy.
I would stay again but it's not a cheap hotel, costing well over a hundred pounds a night and for that I expected better.

Room Tip: Always have a room at the back with a bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that my daughter and I have used on more than one occasion, the views are wonderful especially this weekend being the Bristol Balloon Fiesta. The staff are great, rooms very comfortable and the food exceptional. There is only one problem, when it comes to paying the final account check your bill. I always book a special deal package which includes 2 night stay including breakfast on both days and one evening meal! However, each and every time I have been presented with a bill which includes an additional charge for the evening meal and when I question it after much deliberation I am told that " this should not happen, it has happened a few times today, we are not sure what is going on". The manager makes the adjustments and all is well. But,it is very embarrassing and how many of us always check before we pay.
This will not deter us from going back and I would recommend the hotel to everyone, just be aware.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetteann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We attended a wedding at the Avon Gorge Hotel in Bristol recently and let me start by saying that the location and views from the hotel are stunning. Overlooking the gorge and Clifton suspension bridge (if you have a gorge facing room), and from the terrace are difficult to match, and because of this, it's easy to see why so many couples choose this as their wedding venue (there were 2 weddings there the weekend that we stayed).

However, I expected better service from the staff in such a historic and iconic hotel. From the moment I checked in, the staff (not all, but most), were unfriendly and less than helpful. This is not a cheap hotel by any means, so I was expecting excellent service to match the location, however, all I got was a feeling that the staff were flustered and generally disinterested. I can understand that during a busy weekend such as this, it can be difficult, but should they not be used to that by now and trained accordingly? We had a lot of complaints from the guests in the village facing rooms that they were very hot as well. I sincerely hope that this was just an off weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a gorge facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Property: Avon Gorge Hotel
Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing