We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avon Gorge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,095)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
242
403
275
102
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
403
275
102
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclifton suspension bridgewhite liongreat view of the bridgelarge terraceterrace barlovely hotelstreet parkingthird floorstayed for one nightfamily roomfull englishlovely roomss great britaincooked breakfastweddingpermit
Filter
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I have just returned after staying at this hotel, room was comfortable and the breakfast was marvellous, scambled eggs to die for. It is a wonderful base from which to visit a beautiful city and surrounding area.
The only minus would be the lack of parking, however one can always find a space, if you drive round at little.
The terrace is stunning and what a back drop to have the bridge in view. Thank you
for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyFromUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback has been passed on to our staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Yes, the location is glorious, as is the view from the bar and Bridge cafe over the Gorge. My first experience at the desk was with a dark haired receptionist who was unhelpful, curt and abrupt to the point of plain rude. My colleagues had a similar experience with her. English may not have been her first language, but considering the excellent service skills of the majority of eastern european staff, that's not an excuse.
The room was small, dingy and shabby. Breakfast the first morning was chaotic, people having to leave before their food came as they could wait no longer. The next morning there was a buffet service at least.
Staff on the whole seemed willing and polite (excepting the desk), and I felt they deserved more training and investment.
I enjoyed dinner at the Bridge cafe, and the bar was lively and efficient. I'd go back to eat or drink of an evening if I was in Clifton. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollycarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

having just returned from this hotel I was disappointed. The location is the best thing about it and the breakfast was quite good. I had read that the rooms were a bit tired and ours definately was. We had booked a village view room which was located above the entrance to the hotel bar which is very busy on a sunny sunday so was very noisy there was also a lot of traffic noise so I would recommend paying the extra and having a gorge view to eliminate traffic noise!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lally63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stopped off for lunch on a warm but overcast and reasonably quiet Tuesday and ate in the Bridge Cafe on the terrace overlooking the Clifton Bridge. The view and the seasonable weather were overshaddowed by the excellent and unobtusive professional service and the quality of the food which, with a decent bottle of Viognier, cost around £40 for 2 and for which was excellent value. Not huge portions but well cooked and well presented and we've paid a lot more for a lot worse! Don't usually frequent places that automatically add a 'discretional service charge' to your bill but on this occasion it was well worth it and we would have left a tip anyway. I imagine it is the place to be in the better weather which hopefully doesn't cause problems with the food or service. Definitely worth a shot

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecateringconsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Spectacular view of Avon Gorge from Brunel's bridge!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank tanyongphai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews