We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised Much, Delivered Little”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The Avon Gorge Hotel has a spectacular location, overlooking the Clifton Suspension Bridge and Avon Gorge. It is also steeped in Bristolian history and takes its place amidst the gentrified beauty that is Clifton. As a guest it promises much...

Check-in was okay, if a little complicated - they try and register onto your credit card the cost of your accommodation plus 'a little extra' upfront to cover room service/bar service etc. There was no choice - I had to request that they didn't do this.

My room was terrible - down a long series of dark corridors and steps and like a hotel room, only miniature. Scruffy decor; stained towels; a sign over the heated towel rail warned of its extreme heat but the rail was cold throughout my stay (no switch in evidence); a tiny window dominated by anti-pigeon spikes; a miniature ironing board found handing on the clothes rail (and nowhere to safely set it up); over-bath shower, the curtain for which clung to me like a magnet whilst showering; stuffy atmosphere (the enormous ceiling fan, practically the width and length of the ceiling should have been a clue) and much sound polution from neighbouring rooms.

The main (public) bar offered a bar-person who seemed unable to open a bottle of wine (I nearly offered to help), didn't understand the concept of chilled white wine - "it's not very cold, do you want ice?". When I replied that I'd rather a glass of chilled white wine, her reply "well, it's all from the same fridge so they're all like this". No apology. Mind you, at the local restaurant where we ate it was the same story (the red was colder than the white) so perhaps it's a Bristol tradition?

Later in the resident's bar, we encountered a very irritable bar-person who repeatedly told us what we couldn't have (this was 10.30pm) - "no coffee, the coffee machine is closed", "only small glasses of wine", "no bitter, only lager, two types", all delivered in a surly, annoyed manner. Cash was not acceptable, only your room service account could be used.

At least breakfast was served with a smile...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightspout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

Luxury 3 star hotel. Website completely misleading. Room was nothing like what the website showed. Paid premium for a dirty, shabby (torn chairs) room. Pull out bed from wardrobe. So called bridge view was over messy restaurant roof top. Items broken in bathroom. Breakfast: not at all prepared for full seating with rude staff. Unfortunately I have nothing good to report. Would never go back nor recommend. Wrote an email to the Hotel Manager who never bothered responding. Email was polite feedback on the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakoven83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I've always wanted to stay at the Avon Gorge as I lived in the city for 4 years and never visited. Returning after 20 years it was a joy to stay under the Clifton Suspension Bridge. We had a wonderful family room sharing with out 16 & 17 year olds. And we enjoyed a perfect view of the bridge all for 100 pounds..a deal I'd say. Breakfast was very mediocre but staying in Clifton Village meant you had a tremendous choice of top class restaurants and pubs. I'd recommend it especially for tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We paid £267 for 2 nights in what was described as a Premium Suite. We chose it for the guaranteed views of the Gorge and Bridge.and some luxury. The view was of airconditioning units on the roof of the beakfast room.. If we opened the window we got the smells from the extractor fan from the kitchens - the irony was that the A/C did not work in the room which only had a ceiling fan to aleviate the stiflkng heat.
The Premium Suite may have been premium luxury in 1980 but no longer - the jacuzzi had ben downgraded to a 'soaking bath (ie it did not work) and the decorations were as faded and worn as the peellng 'gold' taps.
We complained. No other suites were available but we were told by the manager on duty that he had had complaints in the past about the room but his requests to change the descrption of the room had not been heeded by his superiors.
This is a tired old hotel saved only by its location - if you can get a view. So avoid room 124 unless at a huge discunt

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeJ001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Highly reccomended if you are looking for a full service Hotel in the Bristol/Clifton area. The location and views are really great, the terrace is as it looks on thier web site.. Good size room with good bed and linen. The staff are very attentive and helpfull. Very good value if you get one of thier promotions and the location in Clifton makes for a nice place to walk from. Only shame is that the extractor from the kitchen blows cooking fat smells over the bar terrace. Not a problem for the restaurant though

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback has been passed on to our staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here as part of a wedding party in mid July. The room was tiny, bathroom very dated and dingey, and the mattress was sofy and saggy. We weren't off to a good start!

For the amount we paid (which was a reduced rate negotiated by the bride and groom), I would have expected a lot more. Clifton is beautiful, and this hotel needs some serious TLC to restore it to what it might have been in former years.

Breakfast was a rushed affair, with hot items on a buffet that had seen better days. The staff are average, but it wouldn't hurt to slow down, smile, and make sure the table's were laid properly (especially after having to wait a while for one!).

Overall, this place isn't that bad, but for the money, I suggest you could find much better in Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Nice people, nice hotel, fab location, great value.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeKelly486647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback has been passed on to our staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 39 in Bristol
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country. This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunel's Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the world's greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country's finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton; it's just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing