We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Views & Friendly Staff”
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed in a double room with a view of the suspension bridge which is lit up at night -we found the hotel good value for money. Excellent location for restuarants, pubs, coffee shops etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy, very spacious. Building is well maintained. Breakfast was super and nothing too much trouble. We really enjoyed our stay and would reccommend it for a break in the city of Bristol.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback has been passed on to our staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

Fantastic location, on the edge of Gorge - though you pay extra for a view which, from our room, was stunning. The room was dated but comfortable - very late 80s. As we came out of the lift, on our floor, we were greeted with piles of plates and dirty washing. The pillows were flat. It took 20 minutes to run a shallow bath, which was lukewarm. The service in the cafe was chaotic and the breakfast buffet not very appetising. We waited 20 minutes for a breakfast table, then thirty minutes for coffee and toast - no-one seemed to be in charge of our table. There wasn't much parking and it was difficult to turn around to exit. However, probably good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My main gripe. In my room was a portable electric heater. However, it had 2 failed red Portable Appliance Test stickers on it.
Clearly a fire hazard....not good.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k100yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Our room in this hotel had a spectalar view of the Suspension Bridge and Avon Gorge. The hotel was clean, with helpful staff and wholesome breakfasts. The bar coped well with large numbers of visitors on the sunny terrace. All in all a most enjoyable stay and nothing like some of the earlier experiences reported. Either it has improved or we were lucky. Will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsRWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback has been passed on to our staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed here on a business trip, and found it to be fine for my one night business stop. I'm not sure if I would want to stop for a week.
The room was clean and comfortable, although not exactly to my taste decor-wise.
Service was good, but not exceptional. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was hearty and well cooked.
It was reasonable value (for my company who paid!)
I would probably pick it next time, as I know its a safe bet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixtiesGeneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were disappointed with the standard of the accommodation here, you are certainly only paying for the view. We had a suite with a view of the Gorge. It had a jacuzzi bath which didn't work and the décor needs to be updated. We also ordered room service - ham and chicken sandwiches, they arrived reasonably quickly, but the bread was very cheap there was no spread or butter and the meat fillings were also very cheap with a few crisps on the side. It was only once we went to leave that the cost of these sandwiches became apparent £20 for two lots of sandwiches!!!! We hired the room for our first night of our honeymoon but just felt left down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel is badly in need of renovation. I stayed here to save my employer money, and thought it would be cool to have a room overlooking the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge. I could only see a bit of the bridge out of the corner of my tiny room, which was decorated in an incongruous Floridian lanai bamboo motif. Ok, this was slightly charming, but didn't make up for the lack of comfort. There is a somewhat rough pub attached to the hotel, but they do have a great terrace, which is the real attraction of this property. I had business at the University and it was conveniently located for that, as well as being in a pleasant neighborhood (Clifton). Next time I am in Bristol, however, I will stay at one of the nicer hotels closer to the center of town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,761 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £83 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country. This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunel's Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the world's greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country's finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton; it's just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing