We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland but professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 18 September 2011

If you want corporate efficiency, this is fine. Everything is where it should be, all was clean and provided. Staff universally friendly especially the Scouser on reception and all helpful.
Gym very good provision, pool just for wallowing in, not for swimming. Car park v expensive next to hotel and no discount for residents. Air con noisy.
Come here for efficient, corporate blandness.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel before the Bristol half marathon and didn't get the restful night's sleep we needed.

Our room was on the 6th floor. The corridors smelt vaguely of urine. The room was clean and of a decent size. The bathroom was very dated. Our biggest problem with the room was the lack of sound proofing. For a hotel in the city centre, adequate sound proofing is vital. It sounded like the traffic was right outside our door.

In summary, very tired and dated, and nowhere near worth the money. I would recommend the Bristol hotel (the old Jury's Inn).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here on Saturday 10th September 2011 with a coach party. Everything (apart from the broken middle lift) was perfect. Spotlessly clean (huge) rooms, plentiful supply of enormous bath towels, very comfortable bed, lovely food and cocktails too! Hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandGLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Checked in quite late on a Saturday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful with helpful suggestions as to where to get a good meal. Room was very neat and clean. Only downside was having to choose between having the room really warm and stuffy (is it me or are all hotel rooms like that these days?!) or having a really noisy air con unit going. Did not have breakfast at the hotel so can not comment on this. All in all a good exerience and I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was our third visit to the hotel and we were pleased to find that its high standards are being maintained. The staff are uniformly excellent - helpful, friendly and competent. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the public areas are well maintained. Breakfast was well presented and good quality. The only downside is the proximity to very busy (and therefore noisy) rooms, but definitely still our first choice hotel in Bristol.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors get a little less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Booked a room, using Marriott reservations explaining I was a wheelchair user and needed a roll in shower. Received an e mail confirming accessible room. On arrival the room had a bath. No rooms with roll in showers- in a modern 4* hotel how strange. Reception staff explained rooms were accessible, but not 100% accessible- not a lot of use if you 100% can't walk!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Accessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Ideal place to stay if you wish to explore city centre and Cabot circus is literally 2 mins walk. Cannot fault service or staff very friendly and willing to help. Had access to executive lounge, you pay a little more but get free drinks between 5.30-9 so you can make a saving if just chilling out in the hotel or going out late. Spa facilities are nice to unwind in after a busy shopping day

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £64 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing