We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother & Daughter time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mother & Daughter time!”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Got this 2 night stay as one of my Mum's Xmas presents! The location of the Hotel couldn't have been better for the shops and Restaurants of Cabot Circus..There was a nice bar area where you could enjoy a drink or a coffee before retiring to a very nice bedroom,We were on the 7th floor room 714 with lovely views of the City and Park, the bathroom was small but had everything you needed with nice big towels and toiletries..on the plus side the shower head was adjustable so no wet hair!! There is also a,fridge,hairdryer and a good size tv. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of cereals,juices and english breakfast.

Room Tip: I agree with others who suggest a higher floor and view of city and park..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    673
    263
    91
    45
See reviews for
308
474
55
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Recently stayed there for a conference and I honestly could not fault anything. It all worked like clock work and the thing that impressed me most was the steak that was prepared for over 200 guests. It was fantastic.

The whole team looked quite switched on and I should take this occassion to praise 1 particular employee who stood out. His name was Jackson in Concierge and I was pretty stressed not being able to find parking in the NCP attached to the hotel. He let me park close by and informed me as soon as space was available. These types of characters are truly one off. I would certainly stay when i am next in Bristol.

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor and assume that these might be better. Try and ask for rooms facing the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Showst3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Not long returned from a two night company conference.
On the plus side.
Great location - city centre
Large rooms and comfy beds.
Great service - reception, bar and food service.
Good food
Negatives
Bar prices - maybe I am out of the loop for city centre prices
Bottle knecks at the entrance to the conference suite - maybe divert some the other way.
Breakfast although very good could have been hotter.
Unfair to pick any of the team out but the big Geordie function waiter deserves a mention. They are always a forgotten area.
Well done
.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertd231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very central hotel and close to a good selection of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is set-up well for conferences and offers a good choice of facilities.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, particularly the beds. The room and bathroom are both well maintained, buy are somewhat dated. This is particularly obvious in the bathroom.

The car park is operated by NCP, but needs attention and is run down. The lighting did not work by the lifts on the floor I parked on and this is a security risk.

The reception team was particularly good and very helpful. The bar staff on the function bar were less helpful and I am very surprised a four star hotel does not offer table service on private dinner functions.

I may return for a conference, but there are better options in Bristol available and in newer hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I stated with about 300 others who like me was attending our company's annual conference for two days.
The staff were very professional, the food excellent considering the numbers being catered for, breakfast bit of a let down, shunted to the Conservatory, cold plates, awful orange juice, porridge went down well.
The bedrooms appeared to be very dated, at least room 203 was, this was a room for disabled guests and had I been disabled I would have appreciated all the handle bars and frames throughout the bathroom.
However the bed was very comfortable and despite being a light sleeper I enjoyed a great nights sleep on both days.
The conference facilities were excellent though a couple of the syndicate rooms were very hot and they couldn't get the air con working.
Bar prices very high even for a four star property.
Overall though a comfortable couple of days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

When a big, four star city centre hotel gets a bit tired, you hope that a caring hotel team can still lift your stay and make you happy. When the hotel is a Marriot you expect better. Marriot have built their own pedestal and it is their responsibility to deliver. What has been a good hotel is now suffering from poor maintenance , lack of attention to detail, and unmotivated uncommitted staff.
Other negatives include charging a high price for wifi which at this stage should be free, and high NCP charges for car parking. These two additional costs alone boost the cost of staying by 25%.
Positives include the impression of luxury, good location for snooping areas, pool and gym on site, good TVs and very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not interconnecting, although the door is locked, noise is still an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melrorkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I had to stay in Bristol for two nights so we looked for a suitable deal for 14th-16th January, we found a great offer via eBay where Marriott sell a two night weekend stay. We bought it for £122 and managed to get them to change it to a weekday stay which was perfect. Booking was a nightmare as you have to call a call-centre (foreign), and it took about an hour in total over two days of trying to get it sorted. We arrived late on the Monday evening and do not know Bristol very well so we did take a while to find the place, however when we did find it we stopped outside and asked where their car park was, we were then told that they do not have a car park of their own but we may park in the car park beside the hotel for £12.50 per night!!!! So a total of £25 was added to our bill for our two night stay before we even started!! The annoying thing was that because we had a van we were not able to park in the normal car park so they let us stay in the Staff car park around the back which they still insisted needed to be paid for!!!
I must say that the rest of the stay was fantastic, breakfast was superb, we really enjoyed the sauna and swim facilities and the staff always went out of their way to help us. I would consider going again if we could come to some arrangement about the parking fee!! Recommendable particularly if you are not planning to drive there. One thing to bare in mind is that because it is near the city centre there are a lot of sirens going off through the night due to the emergency services, so sleep can be a little difficult, it didn't bother us two much as we generally mange ok given that we live near a hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing