We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights stay, worth repeating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Two nights stay, worth repeating”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I don't know about you, but I love a hotel that allows you to pick every detail regarding your bedding. After all, sleep is one of the best things you can do in a hotel room! Beautiful hotel, beautiful room, spacious and very neat, lovely view over Bristol. The bedding... oh, the bedding! I chose feather duvet, soft, contrasting with the hard mattress, plus an anti-allergy pillow (softness also something you can choose), and I swear it was like sleeping on a cloud. Also, the complimentary butter cookies are to die for! Must go again

Room Tip: Make sure to remember to select your bedding options when you book (preferably online).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloiseEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    662
    260
    89
    45
See reviews for
295
471
54
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had a weekend getaway to Bristol and stayed in this Marriott. Everything was great. There was a small queue at the reception, so we were welcomed by the manager as we waited. Everyone else (and particularly the manager) was extremely friendly and helpful. There were freshly prepared popcorn and soft drinks at the reception (a small details but makes a big difference in the experience!). The location of the hotel is great. Bristol is a really nice city!

For PLATINUM Marriott Members: As a platinum member, we got an upgrade of our room and the room was great. It had a nice view of the city from 8th floor. We had access to Executive Lounge which was located on the first floor. We had unlimited soft drinks, hot beverages, snacks and internet throughout the day. 5-7pm, there were food. As a platinum member, the breakfast wasnt included but there was a smaller breakfast in Executive Lounge. It wasn't anything fancy, basic stuff for breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher room to have a good view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice before but I felt something was a little less luxurious this time and very much more expensive. Free Wifi was only available in the lobby and yet when I stayed with the Jury's Inn recently they offered it in the bedroom for a limited amount of time.
The room was a reasonable size with a nice seating area in the corner but the bathroom was very tiny and the bath itself not much use for a relaxing soak; as this was a lazy weekend away rather than a quick business trip this did actually matter.
Breakfast (£17 per person, so not cheap) was very ordinary and certainly not worth the money considering how close this hotel is to the shopping centre for Bristol (Cabot Circus is literally 2 steps away). Fortunately I got a very good deal where this was included/
Overall I am not sure I would stay here again even though it was pleasant and I suspect the fact it was pleasant and not the luxury I normally associate with a Marriott is part of the issue.

Room Tip: One end of the building has balconies and even though they overlook the road rather than the park th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights with a solos group which included the new year the rooms are lovely and large clean and bright beds comfy
The 3 meals I had were very good and the themed "las Vegas " New Year's Eve night was lovely disco till 2 am casino tables ( just for fun ) hooters balloons cards chips on the tables and champagne at midnight
The hotel is situated near the shops and town so great location with a sainsburys local minutes away
The drinks were expensive but it is 4 stars
The breakfast was very good
Car park is a bit expensive (next door as well ) at £12.50 a day so best to get the train 15 mins walk from Bristol temple meads

Room Tip: Some have small balcony sand some are noisier so ask for one higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I had stayed at this hotel for a hen weekend in the summer and was impressed by the location. Re booked for myself and partner whose daughter lives in Bristol.
The location is perfect - stones throw from Cabot Circus - what could be better!!! Really short taxi ride from centre of Bristol night life, cost under £5 and similar fare to Temple Mead train station. The service was brilliant - for a major chain it really surpassed expectation. All the staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were able to leave our luggage after checking out on the Sunday as our train was not until 4pm. The bellboy was a breath of fresh air and bent over backwards to be helpful to everyone he dealt with. The room was roomy and clean and everything I expect from this size of hotel - its massive.
Breakfast was as expected - good selection and all cooked items hot and fresh - the only problem was the toaster, but I have yet to come across a hotel where one of these industrial toasters takes less than 20 minutes to toast a piece of bread!!!!! Will definately being staying here again as we love the choice of evening entertainment in Bristol and the shopping isnt too bad either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I attended a conference at this hotel and the conference fee included accommodation at the hotel.
The reception area is pleasant enough and my check-in was efficiently dealt with. My room was adequate, clean and comfortable. En-suite facilities were also modern and clean.
However a more detailed look did reveal that there was work to be done. Carpet edges in the rooms and corridors and stained and faded - perhaps a more modern vacuum cleaner may help!
Conference facilities were good. dining rooms and bar areas adequate - nothing too special.
Parking facilities in a car park immediately adjacent to the hotel.
An acceptable stay

Room Tip: all rooms appeared pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonedoc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We used to stay here regularly when our daughter was training in Bath. We had fond memories of a fabulous hotel in a prime location. We were not disappointed when we spent a long weekend here some 15 years later. The standard of the hotel is still first class - the service, the accommodation, the food and the leisure facilities. The only negative change is that 15 years ago, the parking in the NCP car park next door was complementary but now it is an additional charge.

Room Tip: The higher floors obviously offer better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrysafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing