We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. Above average marriott hotel. Good staff. Central location. Breakfast was poor buffet, food was warm and stale. Lunch and dinner was ok. Bar prices High. Drink in city centre pubs. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with small balcony

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott City Centre.

Here at Marriott, feedback is very important to us and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views about your experience with us, so that we may continue to strive to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience.

We very much hope that you will return to the hotel again soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Clare Walters

clare.walters@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    649
    257
    88
    45
See reviews for
286
465
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed here for one night while visiting friends in bristol, good size clean rooms, with all the extras tea and coffee making facilities, good range of toilitries, iron and board,, air con, the staff were very friendly and helpful, car park next door was 20 pounds for 24 hours but if you pay in the hotel its discouted to 15 pounds, lovely bar area for chilling in the evening, breakfast was buffet style but all very good,evertything and more to eat, all in all a very nice hotel, we asked for a quiet room , and we never heard a thing, would definatly stay again if im ever in the area again a nice experience

Room Tip: if you want quiet ask for a higher room because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you would choose to stay at our hotel again when you are next in the area.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon, and if I can assist you with any future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here Saturday night, after a winning bid at a charity auction. Lovely hotel, staff all very helpful. Arrived at about 11 in the morning and was prepared just to leave our bag there until 15.00, but was told there was a room ready, so dumped our bag and went shopping, as literaly 2 min walk to shopping centre. When we returned after shopping a lovely smell of freshly popped popcorn welcomed us, and as we were going to the cinema in the evening was well received. Room was on 9th floor, so wonderful view over the outer city. Bed was so comfy, Breakfast next morning was all you can eat buffet, every thing was hot and plentiful. Would certainly staf agin.

Room Tip: High room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolProbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. At Marriott, we strive to offer all of our guests a comfortable stay with high levels of service and we are so pleased to hear that this is what you experienced.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Good central location and good standard of facilities. Our room was clean and tidy. We would definitely stay here again. The car park is next door and you pay at reception. Considering the location the parking charge is very reasonable.

Breakfast is in the executive lounge and it was great with a good choice of dishes.

The pool and Jacuzzi were also great, we will definitely be back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsNyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre.
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will be returning to the hotel in the future.

If I can be of any assistance with regards to future arrangements, please feel free to contact me directly on my details below.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As always a fantastic stay at the Marriott City Centre. The staff were very accommodating - always happy to help, the room was lovely - large and clean, all the facilities were excellent. First time in the Executive Lounge and it was great - staff in here were fantastic. A must stay when visiting Bristol. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue63D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you experienced high levels of service from our staff.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre again soon, and if I can assist you with any future arrangements, please let me know.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Trying to navigate to the hotel was interesting. With road works everywhere many roads in the centre are either blocked off or one way that it took us some time and stopping twice to ask until we finally got to the Hotel.
Even the sat nav could not get us there.

The hotel itself is fine, great beds, great staff and a convenient location.
We walked from the hotel to the docks, a 15 minute stroll along the riverside, with excellent directions supplied by the reception staff.

The parking arrangements are fine, the car park is next door and you pay at reception. Considering the location the parking charge is reasonable.

Breakfast in the executive lounge is great with a good choice of dishes and Starbucks hot chocolate - yummy.

Sadly I did not have time to try the pool, but we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning to the hotel.

We hope that we will welcome you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night in May. We got a nice room on the top floor with the bathtub.
I would say, it was a very nice 3 star hotel. The staff was nice and helpful, but the rooms definitely need refurbishment, especially the bathroom. It was outdated (what is not a problem), but it was quite dirty, full of scale and soap scum. The balcony was a bit scary, but the view was great. The room was ok, but the air conditioning/heating was very noisy. But the location and also the staff are great.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and you'll get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre.

With regards to your comments about the feel of the hotel, we do try our utmost to keep our building and the decor well maintained. I apologise that you did not feel that this was the case during your stay and I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and passed to our management team.

With regards to the air conditioning units, I am happy to say that we will be getting them replaced in all of our bedrooms, with work starting in the beginning of July. This will result in quieter units that produce either hot or cold air at a much faster rate than the ones that we currently have in our bedrooms.

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our staff. We strive to offer all of our guests high levels of service and it is fantastic to hear that this is what you experienced.

We very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing