We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great value, rooms need updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'll start with a positive, the hotel is in a good central location, ideal for Cabots Circus and central Bristol. We paid for an executive room which was located on the 9th floor. It took 10 mins to check in as there was a massive wedding party staying at the hotel, our room was quite disappointing not particularly big and quite dated, the carpet was in need of being replaced, the old air con unit was so noisy there was no way it could be kept on at night, the bathroom was small and the mini bar had nothing in it what so ever. The bar area was nice but was also used a walk way to other areas of the hotel, the staff were very good and helpful but the cocktails we were drinking were totally different each time a different member of staff made them. Breakfast was good, plenty off choice and all nice and hot. £15 for wifi after already paying £150 for an upgraded room was pretty poor I felt. When we told the receptionist our feelings about the room when checking out she simply said "sorry" All in all I would say the location is great but overall not great value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank richt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre.

With regards to your comments about the feel of the hotel, we do try our utmost to keep our building and the decor well maintained. I apologise that you did not feel that this was the case during your stay and I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and passed to our management team.

I am happy to say that we will be getting our air conditioning units replaced in all of our bedrooms, with work starting shortly. This will result in quieter units that produce either hot or cold air at a much faster rate than the ones that we currently have in our bedrooms.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, and please feel free to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Clare Walters

clare.walters@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. Above average marriott hotel. Good staff. Central location. Breakfast was poor buffet, food was warm and stale. Lunch and dinner was ok. Bar prices High. Drink in city centre pubs. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with small balcony

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott City Centre.

Here at Marriott, feedback is very important to us and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views about your experience with us, so that we may continue to strive to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience.

We very much hope that you will return to the hotel again soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Clare Walters

clare.walters@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed here for one night while visiting friends in bristol, good size clean rooms, with all the extras tea and coffee making facilities, good range of toilitries, iron and board,, air con, the staff were very friendly and helpful, car park next door was 20 pounds for 24 hours but if you pay in the hotel its discouted to 15 pounds, lovely bar area for chilling in the evening, breakfast was buffet style but all very good,evertything and more to eat, all in all a very nice hotel, we asked for a quiet room , and we never heard a thing, would definatly stay again if im ever in the area again a nice experience

Room Tip: if you want quiet ask for a higher room because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you would choose to stay at our hotel again when you are next in the area.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon, and if I can assist you with any future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here Saturday night, after a winning bid at a charity auction. Lovely hotel, staff all very helpful. Arrived at about 11 in the morning and was prepared just to leave our bag there until 15.00, but was told there was a room ready, so dumped our bag and went shopping, as literaly 2 min walk to shopping centre. When we returned after shopping a lovely smell of freshly popped popcorn welcomed us, and as we were going to the cinema in the evening was well received. Room was on 9th floor, so wonderful view over the outer city. Bed was so comfy, Breakfast next morning was all you can eat buffet, every thing was hot and plentiful. Would certainly staf agin.

Room Tip: High room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolProbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. At Marriott, we strive to offer all of our guests a comfortable stay with high levels of service and we are so pleased to hear that this is what you experienced.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Good central location and good standard of facilities. Our room was clean and tidy. We would definitely stay here again. The car park is next door and you pay at reception. Considering the location the parking charge is very reasonable.

Breakfast is in the executive lounge and it was great with a good choice of dishes.

The pool and Jacuzzi were also great, we will definitely be back again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MrandMrsNyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre.
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will be returning to the hotel in the future.

If I can be of any assistance with regards to future arrangements, please feel free to contact me directly on my details below.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As always a fantastic stay at the Marriott City Centre. The staff were very accommodating - always happy to help, the room was lovely - large and clean, all the facilities were excellent. First time in the Executive Lounge and it was great - staff in here were fantastic. A must stay when visiting Bristol. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue63D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you experienced high levels of service from our staff.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre again soon, and if I can assist you with any future arrangements, please let me know.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Trying to navigate to the hotel was interesting. With road works everywhere many roads in the centre are either blocked off or one way that it took us some time and stopping twice to ask until we finally got to the Hotel.
Even the sat nav could not get us there.

The hotel itself is fine, great beds, great staff and a convenient location.
We walked from the hotel to the docks, a 15 minute stroll along the riverside, with excellent directions supplied by the reception staff.

The parking arrangements are fine, the car park is next door and you pay at reception. Considering the location the parking charge is reasonable.

Breakfast in the executive lounge is great with a good choice of dishes and Starbucks hot chocolate - yummy.

Sadly I did not have time to try the pool, but we will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning to the hotel.

We hope that we will welcome you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing