We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“�� Great 40th Birthday for Bestie !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“�� Great 40th Birthday for Bestie !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Can't believe after a hot drive from Plymouth arrived at hotel, thought we would drop our bags off so we could go shopping, the lovely receptionist said your room is ready if you want !! So Happy ! Lovely touch in Entrance Popcorn for kiddies and ice water with strawberries and fruit in!! Room was lovely and cold Air Con brilliant!! So lush on one of the hottest days of the year !! When we returned from the shops what a lovely surprise the hotel had put Wine on Ice with Chocolates and a card for my friends 40th Birthday! Meal in restaurant was Lush and Breakfast really organised ! The staff at the hotel were great nothing too much trouble ! Well Done Marriott can't wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you are looking forward to returning to the hotel soon.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    629
    253
    85
    44
See reviews for
280
459
54
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

An excellent hotel, great location and best of all fantastic views of the city. Location wise it's a great hub. The staff were great and so accommodating. The first night I couldn't sleep and at 130 am they moved me. I am a light sleeper and the air con unit below my room was disturbing me,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our staff to be accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice hotel, conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. Clean hotel, above average food at the restaurant/bar. Nothing short of professional and extremely friendly/accommodating staff. I stayed here for two weeks and really can't complain about anything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Why don't other hotels get it? Good service is about listening, anticipating and doing something that will make a difference. One of our delegates had a sore throat...no big deal, but the person refreshing our conference room noticed and commented on it. Then five minutes later a small tray arrives discretely with a pot of hot water, some lemon segments and a little tub of honey. "This works for me", he said.

Lovely hotel. A bed to lose yourself in and an armful of excellent pillows. Another terrific stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with high levels of service, which is what we strive to provide all of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a weekend away last weekend after a very busy few weeks. I have got to say that the whole weekend was fantastic thanks to the lovely people at the Marriott. Our every need was taken care of and we were able to relax and enjoy every minute. Really didn't want to leave. Already looking to book our next weekend. We took our 12 year old son and he spent most of the time in the leisure facilities. Couldn't get him out of the pool.

Room Tip: High room with a balcony (City view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and if I can be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed in several Marriots and our favourite has been Cardiff but not for it's food which is awful apart from breakfast that is, but the Bristol Marriot is a very nice hotel. We had mobile check in which worked well, although in some ways it did not as the receptionist did not tell us anything about the hotel or ask if we needed anything she just handed us our key card and said we were on the seventh floor. Our room was fine, lovely beds which I always love and the nespresso machine as we use this at home but the bathroom was the smallest we have been seen but it was clean. The air con was so noisy but we guessed it is an old system. The executive lounge was really cold which I find the same in Cardiff we did notice the nibbles they put out are not as good as Cardiff but you got nice touches like candles on the tables, although there were no news papers to read which was a let down.
Later that night after we had been down to the harbour we came back to the hotel and ordered some bar food and cocktails, both were excellent as were the staff really enjoyed the evening.
The pool and gym again are older and it shows but I still enjoyed the steam room and a swim. on checkout the man I saw did at least ask if we enjoyed our stay and we did and we will use it again but I think they need to upgrade the rooms a bit first.

Room Tip: High executive rooms or a suite is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be advised that we will be getting our air conditioning units replaced in all of our bedrooms, with work starting shortly. This will result in quieter units that produce either hot or cold air at a much faster rate than the ones that we currently have in our bedrooms.

We very much hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel again soon, and if I can assist you with any future arrangements, please do not hesitate me.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

An excellent hotel ideally located within a few minutes walk of the city centre. The quick check-in at reception impressed us from the start, and the porterage to our room was equally speedy. The size of the room was a pleasant surprise and everything we needed was provided as standard. The bed was comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping as the windows were almost soundproof. There were plenty of television programmes to choose from, although the absence of the BBC text service was unexpected. The maid service was excellent, as was the waiter service in the restaurant, and all the staff were noticeably friendly, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. Another plus was the free WiFi in the public rooms.The a la carte menu was OK, albeit unimaginative plain fare - possibly because we were not travelling independently.
The only disappointment was the excessive prices of the drinks at the bar, beer being 120% dearer than I pay locally so I bought only one in five days. It could be argued that such prices are to be expected at a four star hotel, but I am sure that profits would rise if they were halved as purchases would increase.
What I will always remember about our stay was finding iced water and cordial available to all at Reception at no charge on the hottest day of the year. You can't get more customer-friendly than that!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j471m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Bristo... C, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We very much hope you have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you with any future arrangements.

Kind Regards
Holly Garnett
Guest & Event Services Manager
holly.garnett@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 2 Lower Castle Street | Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at the exquisite Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Our luxury hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, Marriott offers spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and 24-hour room service. Our Terrace Grill restaurant features a wonderful selection of international cuisine and fine wines and our Coffee Shop offers breakfast and lunch in a relaxed setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, the Marriott hotel - along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates wedding ceremonies and conferences in great style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing