We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be good but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Square Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This seems to be a catchment for people coming to work or attend conferences at the University. I had a good sized single room but it was cold! The windows are not double glazed and even worse don't have any blinds/voile so if you are in a back room, all and sundry can see in during the day. The heating was strange too, on too late and off too early, the room was actually so cold I had to but a hot water bottle! And nowadays, a shower curtain is frankly unacceptable, so unhygienic. Waited an hour for my main course at dinner. Far too long and the dining room resembles a school dining room with long tables where there is 'a sit where you want' mentality, fine if you're own your own but hopeless for a romantic meal. They seem to do a course tasting but it looks pretty lame and overpriced at £50 a head! This hotel could be good but it's let down by basics and wastes time on the unnecessary like port in the rooms (who cares) and so called 'art' which is frankly rubbish. This place might have been 'trendy' five or six years ago but now it is just shabby (and expensive wi fi). Oh, and you sometimes struggle to get BBC1 and 2! How bad does it get!? Staff at reception are nice and helpful but waiting staff seemed clueless. It could be so much better...

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank 98Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Car parking have to do for self, ok, cost option. Tight parking spaces though in secure location 100m around the Square.
Reception - not a fulsome appreciation of booking, no explanation of where for breakfast. Not seen wifi included in tariff so not offered wifi code. Had to go back and ask. 
Room: quiet. Cool. Temp adjustable. Supposed to club deluxe room with view of Bristol Berkeley sq- but view of the back alleys only.
Freshly baked biscuits on description- in fact a plastic pack of a couple of humdrum biscuits; not the handmade cookies one was expecting.
Fruit has definitely seen better days, though advertised as fresh fruit.
Small carafe of sherry- hohum. Completely unable to open minibar fridge, so have no idea what was on offer.
Hanging space 8 hangers, no drawers but some cubbyholes 
Comfortable bed but bottom sheets not tucked in, and only sheets and bed cover with blankets available in room. Not duvet option.
Small tv for size of room. Sony radio -poor reception . Crackly.
Poor uninspired breakfast - margarine for toast, unless specifically request butter, and then foil pack and rock hard straight from fridge.
Variable quality of room, other guests had lower grade room but better facilities, and another family member had same grade room but quite different room experience. Rooms need to be of equivalent quality, distinctly got the impression of having been offered a lower grade room than paid for, even though staff said the room was as requested. Either the descriptions need updating, or expectations lowered, certainly to remain current and a viable option as a hotel in central Bristol the service and quality need addressing.

Room Tip: Go for the better quality rooms that state they overlook Berkeley Square. Whether they do is another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Technical_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The staff were fantastic, helpful in every way - but the noise from the disco was appalling, and went on till early in the morning. There was a telephone call to explain what was happening but there appeared to be no attempt to prevent/stop the noise, terrible night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayC186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to read that the noise from the disco downstairs disturbed your stay. We always contact the guest before hand then ensure a room higher up the building is allocated so I would be really grateful if you could contact me directly on 0117 925 400 so I can find out which room you were allocated and offer you a future discount.
I am glad to read that the team were 'fantastic and helpful', I have passd this message onto them.
Many Thanks

Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Travelling solo, this was perfect for my one-night visit, as recommended to me by a friend. Room compact, but had everything needed, including trouser-press, tea & coffee, fruit, and even a complimentary carafe of Bristol Cream sherry - a lovely touch. In bitter weather I particularly appreciated the warmth of the room. Plenty of hot water, an excellent breakfast, and, most important, a friendly, welcoming and helpful attitude from the several members of staff I spoke to. I will certainly be happy to stay again when next in Bristol.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad to read you enjoyed the complimentary fruit and sherry.
The team are delighted to hear you had such a good stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ellie Fisk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We chose the Berkeley Square Hotel in Clifton due to its status as Bristol’s first Art Hotel. Being an amateur artist myself, it was interesting to see the range of work in the Square lounge area, although the corridors were quite bare due to an exhibition change over.

This hotel is also in walking distance of Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery which had a fantastic wildlife photography exhibition on during our visit, and the Arnolfini art centre on the harbour-side is a 15 minute walk away.

Overall we had a memorable and unique stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to read you enjoyed the art in the hotel. Our corridors are being updated this month so we look forward to your next stay where you can enjoy the new art!

Ellie Fisk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Can only echo what others have said. Turned up and was impressed by the outside of the hotel, the location and the nice looking ground floor. Friendly check-in lady told me I had a great executive room.

And then I walked up the peeling staircases to find my room which was called 'Leach'. Exceptionally old fashioned, excessively hot room with dirty walls and a bathroom with bits falling off rails and the kind of shower I last saw in a student hall of residence. A sad little bowl of fruit and a little packet of biscuits crowned the pervading sense of misery. In the morning I woke up and noticed that the other side of the bed cover was covered in stains. Not just little stains but big, wide brown stains as though each day for several years someone had been pouring coffee all over it.

To call this hotel a boutique hotel is nothing short of a disgrace. It is a shell of a hotel (with an attractive bar area) which sadly contains rooms straight out of a dossers hostel or student residence.

Room Tip: If you want a good room you need to stay elsewhere. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear guest,

All our rooms are named by famous residents of Bristol, past and present. 'Archibald Leach', also known as 'Cary Grant', was born in Bristol and made over 70 films. He remained a regular visitor to Bristol.

We are in the middle of a refurbishment project where showers are being updated gradually. Of course the stains on the blanket are unacceptable and I have spoken to my team about why this wasn’t checked on the day of your arrival. I’m surprised to read you didn’t enjoy the complimentary fresh fruit and biscuits as these are what our guests usually describe as a ‘nice touch’ along with the complimentary sherry.

We are an AA rated hotel and member of Classic British Hotels with mystery guests who score us annually so it is rather surprising to have the Berkeley Square Hotel compared to a student residence.

I am really disappointed to hear your stay wasn’t as good as you had hoped. I would like to hear from you further so if you could contact me on 0117 925 4000 or ellie.fisk@cliftonhotels.com I would really appreciate discussing your issues in detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a complete deal price wise or so we thought there was a technical error and paid very little for the room, however I am not sure if because of this we placed in the noisiest room purposely!. If you book ask what room they intend to place you in if rm 3 please do not stay, you couldn't pay me to stay again sooo noisy!. After asking reception what time the nightclub closed and were told midnight music is off we thought that should be fine as werent to fussed as just getting in, however it went on until 1.15 then after that all you could hear until 3 am is people going upto the bar and laughing shouting and screaming oh and the constabt high heels from above it was unbearable!. Not only that they have a constant generator going on and off , that was nothing compared to the base from the nightclub you could feel the vibrations through the bed!!. Breakfast was very nice and staff helpful. However this is certainly not a four star establishment I can assure you'd be disappointed rips in carpets cigarette burns to throw, tired, dated interior and most of all the noise!!!.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Berkeley Square. We do have events at the Square Club most Saturday evenings and therefore the lower deck rooms can suffer from the noise of the party being held. We always call our guests before hand to warn them. The Berkeley Square Hotel is a grade II listed Georgian building so all the rooms come in different shapes and sizes. Due to this we allocate according to price, which is why room 3 was allocated. Despite this I have under taken a thorough room audit of the room and have started looking into how we can improve room 3 for all future guests.

Kind Regards
Ellie Fisk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 39 in Bristol
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#31 of 39 in Bristol
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £57 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing