We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Square Hotel
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I was really expecting so much more.. For the price, I have stayed in better hotels for less. The room was very small and the bathroom was beyond a joke... It had the smallest bath i've ever seen..the complementary sherry was not in the room and it took two requests before it arrived. The mini bar didnt work and when I told the receptionist the reply was not many of them do.. whats the point as you would'nt want to drink a warm beer. The Tv didnt receive BBC channels, to be honest it didnt receive many channels at all..There was noise from the corridor and rooms which seemed to have walls made of tissue paper.
The room was clean and warm but very tired looking. Didnt use the bar or restaurant.
Good location with lots of restaurants and bars close by.
Wont use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    154
    128
    86
    46
See reviews for
64
133
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have visited this hotel twice now on business, my office is located in the square so perfect location for me. Both times I have booked a single room, the last time I was upgraded to a double which was a nice start to my trip! Service can't be faulted, didn't have time for breakfast but the dining room always looks busy in the mornings which is a good sign. Both times I have used the gym in the evening which is 2 minutes down the road (cost me 7.50) but has everything you need; sauna, steam room, gym, nice pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I must admit we were a bit hesitant to book this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews so we thought we would rely on the other review sites like booking.com, all in all I am glad we did. Our stay was really pleasant we had a good sized room with a view of the square at the front of the hotel. We didn't have any noise problems even though we stayed on a Friday night. Some items in the room could be updated but not enough to spoil our stay. Staff were excellent and breakfast was lovely. Will be returning and look forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IOW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This seems to be a catchment for people coming to work or attend conferences at the University. I had a good sized single room but it was cold! The windows are not double glazed and even worse don't have any blinds/voile so if you are in a back room, all and sundry can see in during the day. The heating was strange too, on too late and off too early, the room was actually so cold I had to but a hot water bottle! And nowadays, a shower curtain is frankly unacceptable, so unhygienic. Waited an hour for my main course at dinner. Far too long and the dining room resembles a school dining room with long tables where there is 'a sit where you want' mentality, fine if you're own your own but hopeless for a romantic meal. They seem to do a course tasting but it looks pretty lame and overpriced at £50 a head! This hotel could be good but it's let down by basics and wastes time on the unnecessary like port in the rooms (who cares) and so called 'art' which is frankly rubbish. This place might have been 'trendy' five or six years ago but now it is just shabby (and expensive wi fi). Oh, and you sometimes struggle to get BBC1 and 2! How bad does it get!? Staff at reception are nice and helpful but waiting staff seemed clueless. It could be so much better...

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 98Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Car parking have to do for self, ok, cost option. Tight parking spaces though in secure location 100m around the Square.
Reception - not a fulsome appreciation of booking, no explanation of where for breakfast. Not seen wifi included in tariff so not offered wifi code. Had to go back and ask. 
Room: quiet. Cool. Temp adjustable. Supposed to club deluxe room with view of Bristol Berkeley sq- but view of the back alleys only.
Freshly baked biscuits on description- in fact a plastic pack of a couple of humdrum biscuits; not the handmade cookies one was expecting.
Fruit has definitely seen better days, though advertised as fresh fruit.
Small carafe of sherry- hohum. Completely unable to open minibar fridge, so have no idea what was on offer.
Hanging space 8 hangers, no drawers but some cubbyholes 
Comfortable bed but bottom sheets not tucked in, and only sheets and bed cover with blankets available in room. Not duvet option.
Small tv for size of room. Sony radio -poor reception . Crackly.
Poor uninspired breakfast - margarine for toast, unless specifically request butter, and then foil pack and rock hard straight from fridge.
Variable quality of room, other guests had lower grade room but better facilities, and another family member had same grade room but quite different room experience. Rooms need to be of equivalent quality, distinctly got the impression of having been offered a lower grade room than paid for, even though staff said the room was as requested. Either the descriptions need updating, or expectations lowered, certainly to remain current and a viable option as a hotel in central Bristol the service and quality need addressing.

Room Tip: Go for the better quality rooms that state they overlook Berkeley Square. Whether they do is another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Technical_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The staff were fantastic, helpful in every way - but the noise from the disco was appalling, and went on till early in the morning. There was a telephone call to explain what was happening but there appeared to be no attempt to prevent/stop the noise, terrible night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayC186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to read that the noise from the disco downstairs disturbed your stay. We always contact the guest before hand then ensure a room higher up the building is allocated so I would be really grateful if you could contact me directly on 0117 925 400 so I can find out which room you were allocated and offer you a future discount.
I am glad to read that the team were 'fantastic and helpful', I have passd this message onto them.
Many Thanks

Ellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Travelling solo, this was perfect for my one-night visit, as recommended to me by a friend. Room compact, but had everything needed, including trouser-press, tea & coffee, fruit, and even a complimentary carafe of Bristol Cream sherry - a lovely touch. In bitter weather I particularly appreciated the warmth of the room. Plenty of hot water, an excellent breakfast, and, most important, a friendly, welcoming and helpful attitude from the several members of staff I spoke to. I will certainly be happy to stay again when next in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie F, Manager at The Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad to read you enjoyed the complimentary fruit and sherry.
The team are delighted to hear you had such a good stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ellie Fisk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#33 of 38 in Bristol
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 38 in Bristol
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Square Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Square Hotel
Address: 15 Berkeley Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing