We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glanville Guest House
Ranked #15 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Glanville Guest house last night.
For 37 pounds I had an ensuite with a double bed.
The room was very clean, and the bed was nice and comfortable.
There was Nestle Coffee available in the room and Tetley tea and biscuits.
A tv and a very handy desk for writing.
A good selection of interesting books available to guests.
I arrived late and the hosts were lovely and friendly. I was greeted warmly on arrival which was nice.
The hosts have an intercom which links to their mobile and any problems and their straight round.
They are friendly but leave you to your own space to do your own thing.
There was coffee and tea available at breakfast, yoghurt and a selection of bread cereals and spreads.
The guesthouse is non smoking but an ashtray is available outside the front.
I noticed it is being refurbished atm.
Overall, considering it is a short distance from the city centre, I found it good value for money and I would definately stay again. For what you pay its sufficient as a place to kip comfortably and a base for exploring Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthak1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorisday74, Owner at Glanville Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our guest house. We are very glad you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
10
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

stayed two nights..was in Bristol for a party, I had a single room, no on suite, but shower and toilet very close by.. I was charged £28 per night, I found the room very clean and tidy and had tea coffee and a tv... the b&b is well situated, just a 5min walk from the centre of Bristol. my overall experience of the place was excellent, and found it fantastic value for money....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy7026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorisday74, Owner at Glanville Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Thank you for your review. It is good to know you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The Glanville is a quality no thrills guest house was clean and tidy... It had a comfy bed and was located only 5-10 min walk from city centre depending on how drunk you are...

Will definatly stay again next time in Bristol...

Good value for anyones money!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairbro85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I was very happy to have our guest house as close to the city centre as it was possible for this price. The staff was really friendly, nearly the whole family always came at the end of the breakfast time and cleaned up the dining room. I wasn't dissapeared about the self-service breakfast because you had a good choice between cerials and bred.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for one night (a Saturday) while visiting some friends in Bristol.

I booked the family en-suite room for me, my wife and our three year old son. At £65 I thought this was good value, especially being so close to the city centre. A second family room is also available for £55 with shared bathroom.

Our room was on the ground floor at the front of the house. Being on quite a main road, I was concerned it would be noisy, but the windows kept the noise out well and we all had a good sleep. We didn't hear any noise from the other guests.

The room decor was a bit dated, but it was very clean and at this price I'm certainly not complaining. The owners have clearly made the business fit around their lives, so you probably won't see much of them during your stay. However you can always contact them by ringing the front doorbell, as it goes through to their mobile phone.

Breakfast was self-service in the dining room. We were able to help ourselves to a selection of cereals and there was plenty of bread, croissants and crumpets on offer for toasting. There was also juice, tea and coffee. This arrangement suited us perfectly well and probably helped keep the room cost down.

The location was great - the city centre and floating harbour were close enough that our son could happily walk there and back.

If we stayed in Bristol again, we would definitely return to the Glanville.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

we have had a wonderful stay in Bristol this weekend. We are a family of four and our room was very comfortable and clean.
Although we had a shared bathroom it was right next door to our room and we only shared with one other room.
The continental breakfast was great. Lots of cereal, toast, mini muffins, fruit, tea and fresh coffee.
Amy and Greg were very friendly and welcoming. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Glanville to a family. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylouburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well priced place few minutes away on foot from the centre of Bristol.
Anyway the bed and breakfast is more suitable for an easy going group of friends than for a couple. The room was a bit squalid furnished as a dormitory for students and not very clean. Also the dining room, where you can have a continental self service breakfast, wasn't very inviting.
Owners weren't always easily "interceptable" in the hours of the check-in and the check-out.
Despite all, considering the location, average/good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.2 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glanville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glanville Guest House

Property: Glanville Guest House
Address: 122 Coronation Road | Southville, Bristol BS3 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in a Victorian terraced house on Coronation Road next to the river Avon, very close to Bristol city centre.We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable, value for money, budget accommodation close to the city centre.We cater for a wide variety of people including tourists coming to Bristol for a holiday, people visiting friends and family in the area, those heading out for the night in Bristol, people using Bristol airport and contractors looking for short or long-term stays.We provide a self-service continental style breakfast which is included in the room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing