We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal City Break”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned following a 2 night break at this new modern hotel. It is ideally placed in the centre of Bristol just across the road from the shopping centre and a short walk away from the waterside. Parking is next to the hotel and is £10 per night, not bad these days for a city centre hotel. We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was very good and well priced. My only complaint is that this is a very nice restaurant but it does lack atmosphere as there is no background music and the TV screens are left on all around the restaurant.

Service on arrival was very quick and we were able to get in our room early (11:00am). We had a superior room which is an excellent size and the bed very comfortable. The air conditioning/heating system is easy to use and very effective. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a modern, clean and spacious hotel. It is very likely that we will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Susan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I have taken your comments on board concerning the atmosphere in the restaurant and have discussed this with the F&B Manager to ensure that we get the music volume and lighting appropriate to the time of day. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    447
    128
    30
    26
See reviews for
197
412
60
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was my first time staying in a Holiday Inn so I wasn't really sure what to expect; I was however very impressed with almost everything.

The location of the hotel is good, right opposite Cabot Circus where there's numerous shops and restaurants, also not too far from the centre of Bristol. Check-in was not the fastest but otherwise OK.

The rooms are modern and reasonably spacious with a decent shower, air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities and an (unstocked) mini-bar. There's also a decent TV with connectivity for everything - HDMI, USB, audio. You can get 30 minutes of free wi-fi per day which was greatly appreciated, after that you have to pay.

My only real complaint was that the room was cold; whatever I did with the air conditioning, I couldn't improve things. In fact the whole floor of the hotel felt cold as soon as I stepped out of the lift, so maybe there's a wider issue.

Parking is available for £10 a day and there's a bar open 24 hours. Didn't try the restaurant or breakfast on this occasion.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was very pleased that in general you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Please accept my apologies that you had issues with the controls for the air-conditioning/heating. We area able to control these from reception and set the temperature for guests - so on your next stay please ask reception who can set the temperature to what you require.(There is no air-conditioning/heating in the bedroom corridors - just individual bedrooms). I look forward to welcioming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards


Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A last minute booking for a Sunday night in January - yes, OK, I was expecting a good deal, but £40 for two in a double room including a full buffet English breakfast was exceptional. Particularly as the hotel is pretty new, provides on site parking for £10 for 24 hours and is right at the end of the M32, so extremely easy to access.

We were given a Priority Club room, which was warm, inviting, well furnished and very quiet (being at the rear of the hotel rather than at the front overlooking the ringroad). All the staff were polite and friendly, particularly at breakfast. The breakfast was fresh, extensive and good quality.

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again if I could get a comparable rate - I appreciate that rates may vary according to the season and the day of the week but this would have been a value for money stay at £60 to £70 a night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and were also able to purchase a discounted rate. Discounted rates area availble subject to availability and we try to ensure we offer competitive rates on a daily basis. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here with my partner in the executive suite what can I say the room was amazing I can honestly say that after the numerous hotels we have stayed in this was the best,granted it can be seen as quite expensive however I truly believe it was worthwhile. I would highly recommend eating in the dinning area the food was gorgeous well done to the employees who have made this hotel a class above the rest :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was very pleased to read that you had an "amazing stay". We offer a selection of room types from standard, superior, deluxe, executive and suite. I was also pleased that you really enjoyed the food. All food is freshly prepared by the chefs on a daily basis and I am extremely pleased with the quality of the food that we serve at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel, and I've now been converted to a Holiday Inn fan.

Good points:
-couldn't be more central.
-staff friendliest and most helpful that I've come accross in a good while (at both restaurant/bar and reception)
-very clean
-rooms lovely, good size
-even the room service menu didn't seem terribly expensive (which is unusual) Didn't try it, but it sounded very nice.
-free range eggs available at breakfast :)
-comfortable beds
-just an all 'round nice stay.

Bad points:
-No bad points for the actual hotel, but had to go through a slightly dodgy feeling underpass to get to and from town (and bus station), but there are probably detours available. Fine for during the day, but probably wouldn't head through there myself at night.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and this will be our first choice hotel from now on for any future Bristol visits.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was pleased to read that in general you had a very positive stay and enjoyed the hotel and facilities. The underpass you refer to is covered by 24hr CCTV coverage that is reviewed by bristol city council and the police so is actually very safe although it currently is not the most sightly experience. I am pleased to announce that Bristol Council are applying for £1million funding to transform this area. Possibly a place for concerts and exhibitions and with walkways accross the roundabout so you do not have to walk through the rubway. (All very positive and hopefully the planning and funding will be approved as soon as possible and the work then carried out. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel as your preferred hotel to stay at in Bristol.

Kind regards


Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

As a regular user of Holiday Inn's I must say this is the best one ive stayed in and frequently go back to.

Rooms are fantastic, all with large wide screen tv's, very well laid out, great bathrooms, some have massive walk in shower areas but all have very large power showers on the ceiling so none of this trickle of water over the bath stuff. Radio alarms in every room, plus had a dvd player in an executive room

The food was pretty good too, tried breakfast and dinner.

Great location across from Cabot Circus which has many different restaurants, cinema etc inside and 2 mins walk from the bus station for anyone using the airport flyer session this hotel would save extra taxis etc as you can easily walk between.

Room Tip: Stick to rooms with a low number on each floor, as the lifts are at one end of a very long corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.

I was very pleased to read that you have used the hotel regularly and have found it to be very good - "Best Holiday Inn". I will feed all of your comments back to the hotel team. Although a new hotel which obviously means all furiture and fixings etc are new it is very important that we get the service aspect right also.

As you say we are in an ideal location for the coach station, shops and city centre locations, but also easily accessible to the M32.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here for a few days in December. The hotel is new so everything looks good. Rooms are very comfortable and bathrooms have a nice simple design.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good, we had dinner there twice and both times were impressed. Breakfast was also good.

My only Problem was with the Internet... Doesn't work well with Mac products - including their Mac in the Internet area by the restaurant....

Location was just near the main shopping area and very easy to reach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BRSCC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review.
I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. All of the food is freshly prepared on a daily basis and I am very proud of the quality of food that is prepared by the chef's. We have been receiving very positive feedback and I appreciate your comments. Thank you for highlighting that you had an issue with internet (Mac products) - I have just called our internet providers to discuss your comments. We have a standard log in page currently and this has caused a few problems with (Mac products) - they are currently testing a new log in page that would establish which type of devise you are using to access the internet and then ensure that the log on page is compatible to this product. So hopefully i the near future this will resolve any issues for all types of products. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Bristol.

Kind regards


Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing