We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a suite. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We had a really lovely stay here. Car parking was easy, the location is brilliant (just across the road from the shops) and the hotel is really nice. The suite itself was amazing - absolutely huge and with a beautiful bathroom and PS3 for the children. Breakfast was lovely with freshly made pancakes and omelettes. Overall a really enjoyable stay and well worth the extra money for a suite. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morwenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks you so much for completing a great review. Our suites are very popular and I was happy to read that you found it amazing. I was also delighted to read that you made use of our pancake and omelette station, this again proves very popular amongst our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    438
    126
    28
    26
See reviews for
188
404
59
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have stayed here previously and am thankful to say nothing has changed. The impressive rooms, free upgrade on arrival and the service are all still there.

I would definitely stay again and will be in December.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if you are an IHG member you will probably get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your continued loyalty and patronage to the Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre. I was delighted to read you had a great return visit. Myself and the whole team look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

First trip to Bristol and after the storms which made the flight down interesting to say the least. Check was efficient if impersonal and no acknowledgement of IHG platinum which is rare for a HI. Given a drinks token but was for gold but told to tell bar staff I was platinum as apparently that also gets you a snack, bar staff unaware of this, but not to worry. Room was very spacious and on site gym facilities were excellent.

The heating had gone down in that part of the hotel and was not fixed until next day, bit of to and throw that's not worth going into as the management response the next day after check out was courteous and appropriate. Things do go wrong, but you have to tip your hat to a front of house manager that take ownership of issues when they arise.

Very convenient for Bristol city centre, which was a lovely town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review, I would like to take this chance to apologise personally for any heating issues you may have had during your stay. As you correctly mentioned our heating units did suffer a mechanical failure that couldn’t be fixed until the day after. Whilst I was disappointed in this I was thankful of your patience and understanding over this matter. Sadly from time to time things do break, most are in the hotels control however in this occasion we needed a specialist to attend site .I was however delighted to read that James took ownership and addressed your concern immediately, I will ensure your comments are passed onto him.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I was pleasantly surprised when I found this hotel in the centre of Bristol. It's a great location in terms of shopping and travelling and my suite was one of the best hotel suites I've had the pleaure of staying in - complete with Playstation and Nespresso machine.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your continued support to the Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre. I was delighted to read that our standards have not lowered since your prior visit. All going well myself and the team look forward to seeing you again in the festive season.

Once again, thank you for your great comments

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed two nights to visit family in the area. The first morning we went down for breakfast. No one had offered breakfast on check in. We were told breakfast was £14.95 each. Because my husband is often at HI he knew there is usually a cheaper deal available, so went to reception where he was able to buy vouchers for breakfast at £10 each. So my first point is, make sure you get the best deal for breakfast! Secondly, the breakfast was poor quality, my husband has visited this HI several times and commented the quality has dropped considerably. The coffee was from a machine which delivered many different drinks and tasted awful. We tried coffee, cappuccino and expresso all revolting. The croissants and pain au choc were small and tasteless, pastry not as a decent croissant should be. Juices were watery. Scrambled eggs a horrible grey colour and watery, my husband suggested they may even have been made with powdered egg. This is poor Holiday Inn, you are charging a premium price here, we expect a premium product. The second morning we went across the road to Starbucks and had a lovely breakfast for half the price. At £150 per night plus £14.95 per person for breakfast I expect an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joooools123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to complete an online review. Whilst I was happy to read your positive feedback regarding the staff and hotel, I was concerned to learn that our breakfast offering was not to your liking. Please accept my sincere apologies over this matter; I would however be very grateful if you could contact me directly via email or telephone gm@hibristolcity.co.uk , 0117 924500 so I can further understand our shortfalls. We have recently made a few tweaks to some of the items however all feedback is essential to help us improve further.

On a separate note, I’d like to thank you for your patronage to IHG and Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just wanted say a big thank you for a truly wonderful weekend stay. After a very stressful journey through the traffic to Bristol I was pleased to find the hotel very easily, and the helpful reception staff, in particular the warm welcome from Jan who was also able to help with her detailed local knowledge. I was due to meet friends at a club that I'd never been to and which turned out to be not far.
I look forward to staying again soon. Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I can sympathise with you about the Bristol Traffic, luckily due to our location a lot of this is missed. I was pleased to note that Jan was her normal warm friendly self, she is one of our key team members and I will ensure this information is passed onto her.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gvain Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked 2 twin bedded rooms for Grandparents and Grandchildren. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. Our grandchildren enjoyed using the glass sided elevators. The location is excellent giving easy walking to Harbourside attractions, SS Great Britain, M Shed history museum and Aquarium. The Cabot Circus shopping centre was a great place to shop and eat. There is also the convenience of the NCP carpark right next door to the hotel which gives you unlimited access for a daily charge payable at the hotel reception. The staff in the hotel were extremely welcoming and helpful. Any small problems were dealt with immediately. We did not eat in the hotel so we can not comment on the food. We are very much looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on Floor 5 were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandparentsOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I was so happy to read that our great location helped you to enjoy and see all Bristol had to offer. With so many historical sites and venues it truly is a great city.
Our scenic lifts prove very popular at the hotel and I believe it adds a little variation to the normal for blank walls.

From myself and the team we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing