We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but pleasant stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short but pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here in November 2013 for one night as he'd taken me on a birthday surprise and I have to say - he made a great choice in accommodation.

The parking wasn't a problem as it was located directly underneath the hotel. The parking charges were quite high but if we purchased the breakfast it was discounted to half price, which is what we did.

The room was great, very spacious and tidy with a lovely view of the city. The hotel staff were very friendly and we appreciated that they took time to let us know of any local restaurants and shops.

I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmashamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi emmashamaya

Thank you for posting a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be great.
As with all reviews I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again very soon.

Takecare and thank you,

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    425
    124
    28
    25
See reviews for
182
395
56
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for a night in January 2014 and got a good deal as it was in the post-Christmas lull. It would have been a great deal if we had booked it on the day - even cheaper. Hotel was virtually empty. Strange reception as you have to go through a security entrance from the street or underground car park and up to the second floor. Decor was dull. Room had usual facilities plus a wider than average shower area. Found someone's dirty sock lying around. Liked the alarm radio with iPod charger. Have stayed in better hotels and worse for similar prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Dave S

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review.

Please accept my sincere apology for the poor experience you encountered, your comments regarding cleanliness have been investigated and can assure you that necessary actions have been taken from stop it from happening again.

I am delighted that you enjoyed facilities provided in the rooms, for other readers benefit we offer discounted rates if you book in advance so please check our website for best offers and discounts.

Once again please accept my sincere apology and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you and takecare!

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

In the middle of Bristol city centre - excellent location. Very close to bus stops and the main bus station. A short bus ride from Bristol Temple Meads station - if like us you travel by train.
The hotel rooms are nice and spacious - large TV, we had a bath with shower over, bed quite hard but comfortable - I asked for a duvet to lay on top of - no problem. My husband said the bed was alright - I have medical problems. There was a desk/vanity top with a swivel office type chair, which was comfortable, BUT as in other hotels I would have preferred a couple of small armchairs to sit on whilst watching TV. We go out during the day but tend to stay in our room during the evening, unless seeing a show. We would also have liked drawers in our room - only very small ones by our bed (one each) - we stayed for four nights. This hotel is opposite Debenhams and Broadmead shopping area, and just up the road to Cabot Circus - ideal for shopaholics!!!!
Hamda on reception was a very nice girl, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was front facing but did not hear traffic hardly - apart from sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Wellie4Somerset,

Thank you for posting a fantastic review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognised. I will certainly pass on your feedback to Hamda with regards to excellent service.

We do not wish any of our guests to leave less than satisfied so i have taken your feedback on board regarding room furniture and can assure you that it will be reviewed by the management team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Takecare and thank you!

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Arrived at this well located city centre hotel to find car parking under the hotel so no worries on finding parking, check in, on floor 2 strangely was easy, staff pleasant, and rooms are spacious and clean. Plenty of lifts to access all 7 floors. All you could want from a city centre hotel. Bar is a little small. Breakfast is very good.
All in all a nice well located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Barry M

This is the stuff that makes our day because we love to make our guests feel at home.I shared your comments during our daily meeting and gave lots of praise to entire team.They were very appreciative and said to say, "hi". It would be great to have you back with us!

Take care and thank you!

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ouen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here with my daughter on a Sunday night. The room was clean and spacious but the sofa bed was unuseable- far too flimsy and uncomfortable so we had to share the double bed.The bathroom was modern but lacked the basics you would expect for this standard of hotel, You had to place a request if you wanted a flannel! We went to see Union J who were fantastic and I was looking forward to getting back to the hotel before 11pm for a glass of wine and a Mum and daughter chat, I asked at reception but was told that the bar was closed,Never mind, I thought, I'll get a drink in the room instead.The mini bar was empty. It seems you had to ask if you wanted anything to go in it. Not quite what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.I just felt that with a little extra effort, this hotel could have been fantastic. The location is great for shopping and restaurants but we wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audreyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear audreyjohn

Thank you very much for posting your review.I would take this oppurtunity to apologise for the issues you had with sofa bed and bar service, I can assure you that this will be dealt with as a matter of urgency.

Once again please accept my sincere apology and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Many Thanks

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent a couple of nights with our two children at this hotel at the recommendation of a Friend.

Really enjoyed the hotel - we had a suite on the 6th floor. It was very spacious, comfortable (for us) and the kids loved having the play station and the TV in the bathroom. The room was a little tired in terms of decor, but was pleasant and very quiet. The furit bowl was a nice touch.

Our bed was good, however the sofa bed for two teenage children was totally inadequate (and indeed uncomfortable for one), however housekeeping provided bedding to make up an extra bed on cushions from the sofa. it seems odd in a family room to not have comfortable beds for 2 children - travelodge and Premier Inn manage it).

I didn't have the breakfast though the others did and really enjoyed it (it was £15 for 2 people at the time). I used the gym, which was adequate and quiet.

The location is great - shops & restaurants on your door step and a 15 minute walk to the docks.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thethistles_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Julie K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, it was fantastic to read that we were 'just what you needed' and I am really pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I will certainly look into the problem you have mentioned about sofa bed to prevent any repetition. As with all reviews I will be sure to share your comments with the team and once again many thanks for your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks and takecare,

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

After a recent short stay in a supposedly 5 star hotel in Rome where the room was stuffy and hot, the design was inpractical and uncomfortable, not enough storage space and too much noise from the nearby railway station, the holiday inn in Bristol city centre was bliss! Everything is designed thoughtfully and comfort is a priority. The room was modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed was large and very comfortable and the TV was also large and set into a unit which also had the connectors for internet and british and continental power points. The shower was wonderful! A lovely overnight stay - wish it could have been a longer one. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Julie K

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the team looked after you so well. I am indeed very proud of them and really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.Many Thanks

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing