We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More good than bad features”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“More good than bad features”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

First the good features: This hotel has an excellent location, right in the city centre, directly across the road from Cabot Circus, Broadmead, and within 5 or 10 minutes walk of the theatres, and the riverside venues in which Bristol excels. All the staff are very friendly and amenable. Their is (chargeable - £10 per day) parking right next door to the hotel. The security for a city centre hotel is good - a room key is needed to access guest floors, and also allows all hours access to the hotel for guests. Breakfast (buffet variety) is good with a wide selection of fruit, cereals, breads and breakfast grill. Our room was large, with a good king size bed. The aircon/heating is good, and very quiet.

Unfortunately that brings up the down side, too. The room was somewhat barely furnished. The bedside clock (although also an ipod player, etc) was completely wrong in time, and the button for time adjustment didn't seem to work at all. In the end I unplugged it to avoid confusion.

The worst aspect of the stay was the bathroom. Like many hotel bathrooms it is poorly lit. Downlighters only which throw the face in shadow do not make it easy for guests to shave or to apply make-up. Even worse was the poorly controlled shower/bath. We could not get the temperature adjustment to work at all, with the result that the shower was too hot to use. The solution was to run a bath - then spend 10 minutes adding cold water with a glass from the hand basin, and waiting for it to cool! On top of this the control for the plug on the bath did not work, so it had to be lifted out by the fingernails!

Luckily we were only staying one night so this wasn't a major disaster - but I would not want to go through the experience again, especially if I was in more a hurry in the morning. We reported the problem so hopefully maintenance have now fixed it (apart from the lighting).

For a short visit to Bristol city centre this is a food hotel. For us the friendliness of the staff made up a bit for the frustrations of the morning bathroom experience. But only 3 stars because this does suggest that despite a fairly recent makeover there are some things a bit creaky.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi LooeMan

What a disappointment for us that we were unable to make it a memorable experience for you. There was obvious lack of consistency there (bathroom), i am sure had you informed us we would have offered you an alternative room having said that we are really sorry for the inconvenience and can assure you that we have dealt with all the issues highlighted in your review.

Thank you for nice comments regarding friendliness of staff and and great breakfast experience.

To conclude, I believe it would be lovely to have you back so that you can experience our lovely rooms with nice views. Give us a little notice to make sure we can upgrade you this time around, please.

We shall all look forward to that.

Thank you and takecare,

Syed Zaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    442
    127
    28
    26
See reviews for
193
406
60
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stay here regularly when my husband is on business, we are platinum members and come here often, the executive rooms on the higher floors are amazing. We always feel like we are on holiday rather than working when we stay here. We always stay on
Dinner bed and breakfast and eat our evening meal in the Spot restaurant by the window. We like the fact that it feels spacious and relaxing whilst dining whereas other holiday inns pack you so close together like a canteen that you are not relaxed talking to your partner. We must mention Andrea and the rest of the staff who help to make you feel at home here. Andrea is a credit to the company she may be a manager but she is not afraid to get her hands dirty and do any job like clearing the tables. If you have any problem she will do the best to resolve it for you. All in all our favourite Holiday Inn in the u.k. And we have have stayed in many. Thanks to your all for making our stays great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyfacesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi Sunnyfacesmile,

Great comments so pleased you had a good stay with us,thank you for being such a regular, we love it. Now, we cannot wait to seeing again.

Thank you and takecare,

Syed Zaidi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We were rather disappointed at first with the condition of the room. The extra bed we requested was dirty. I guess because we arrive at 9pm, and all room service staff has gone?
So we were moved into another room which were much better.
The next day we moved back to the previous type of room. But this time it is clean-er.
Anyway, all the time we were there (14 days) in the same room, we noticed that they only vacuum maybe every weekend or on a Monday. Sigh.

I heard worse stuff from other colleagues who stayed in other hotels in Bristol. So actually we could be glad for this place which inevitably had become a home after two weeks.

But, the service staff are cordial and nice. Big thank you to the kitchen staff. The waiters/waitresses and chef prepared special eggs just for my toddler on my request. Every single morning!
I'd rather think we'd be sorely missed after those two weeks. Hahah.
Anyway, thank you.

The location is really good, I think. Right opposite Cabot Circus. Lots of bus stops. That wins our heart already for convenience and safety as well.
Will stay there again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mumzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Mumzelda

I'm really pleased team exceeded your expectations and looked after your family. The team are great and go out of their way to ensure everybody has a really great stay.

I am very sorry to hear we didn't make it memorable due to cleanliness levels.We're going to do everything we can to fix that. I've shared your experience with the team so we can learn from it.

Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon. Best wishes for the New Year.


Thank you and takecare,

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As we were only staying one night we were only looking for an affordable room rather than comfort.

However we were pleasantly surprised by how modern the rooms were (especially after walking through the dingy hallways).

Way to go for a relatively cheap, central hotel in Bristol.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Allthewayfromtas,

Thank you for posting your review, I am sorry that you found our corridors dark saying that I am extremely delighted to see that you found our rooms to be modern and stylish.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you and takecare,

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

we decided to have a break from cooking ..it was also a very hard year for my family as i was diagnosed with cancer and with 17 grandkids you can imagine the worry allround ..but i have to say it was a wonderful few days.The management and staff couldnt do enough for everyone in the hotel even though they were short staffed ..the breakfast and xmas dinner were out of this world ..their were no miserable faces around ..everyone had a wonderful and a very happy time ..thank you all at the holiday inn [and it really was a holiday] hope to be back next year maybe for a few days extra

Room Tip: corner suites are large and cater for all types of familys young or old
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy1949467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi paddy1949467,

Wow! this is how we want all our guests to feel, thank you for your nice comments, i have shared your feedback with the team during our morning meeting and thanked them individually for their efforts and commitment for doing a great job.

So when are you coming back to stay with us? We are waiting!

Takecare and thank you!

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here in November 2013 for one night as he'd taken me on a birthday surprise and I have to say - he made a great choice in accommodation.

The parking wasn't a problem as it was located directly underneath the hotel. The parking charges were quite high but if we purchased the breakfast it was discounted to half price, which is what we did.

The room was great, very spacious and tidy with a lovely view of the city. The hotel staff were very friendly and we appreciated that they took time to let us know of any local restaurants and shops.

I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmashamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi emmashamaya

Thank you for posting a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be great.
As with all reviews I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again very soon.

Takecare and thank you,

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for a night in January 2014 and got a good deal as it was in the post-Christmas lull. It would have been a great deal if we had booked it on the day - even cheaper. Hotel was virtually empty. Strange reception as you have to go through a security entrance from the street or underground car park and up to the second floor. Decor was dull. Room had usual facilities plus a wider than average shower area. Found someone's dirty sock lying around. Liked the alarm radio with iPod charger. Have stayed in better hotels and worse for similar prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Dave S

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review.

Please accept my sincere apology for the poor experience you encountered, your comments regarding cleanliness have been investigated and can assure you that necessary actions have been taken from stop it from happening again.

I am delighted that you enjoyed facilities provided in the rooms, for other readers benefit we offer discounted rates if you book in advance so please check our website for best offers and discounts.

Once again please accept my sincere apology and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you and takecare!

Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing