We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 star wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We would like to thank ALL staff for making our son's wedding such a spectacular success.

Service, food, ambiance, love and care were all evident. Everything we asked for was accomplished with smooth efficiency on the day. Everyone, without exception, complimented the reception & evening buffet. Food was well cooked, plenty of everything, served on hot plates, and obviously prepared well – even down to the freshly baked, hot crusty bread rolls served with room temperature butter (I hate being given frozen pats of butter which takes an age to thaw out properly before you can spread it)!

Yes, we had a few hiccups getting everything sorted but who doesn’t when trying to arrange a wedding? – communication (from all sides) is essential to make sure any plan succeeds. The actual day was everything parents could wish for and you certainly pulled out all the stops!

Thank you once again – your Wedding Packages are proof that weddings don’t need to bankrupt parents!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Dcticker


What a fantastic review, this is what make us love our Job and I’m so proud of the team for making your son’s wedding such a memorable day


I have passed your comments and thanked them personally for all their hard work to make the day a success and memorable.

We would also like to extent our congratulations to the happy couple from all of the team here at the Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre.


Thank you and take care.
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    425
    125
    28
    25
See reviews for
182
396
56
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I first stayed here in November 2012, then in the spring of last year and I'm staying again at the end of this month.

The hotel is clean and well kept, which is always a plus when looking for somewhere to stay. Beds are big and comfortable, as are the rooms. The showers are fantastic, as is the bath.

Reception staff were great on both occasions, even checking to see if my room was ready when I tried to check in an hour too early on my second stay. They were also quick to change my room when I pointed out the room I had been allocated was not the room I booked.

I have had drinks in the bar on both stays, the bar staff always friendly and chatty. It's a great area to sit and just watch Bristol go by through the huge glass front of the hotel.

I've not eaten here though, always choosing to go across to Cabot Circus and visiting the many restaurants they have there. For my next visit I decided that I would stay and eat at the hotel, even if it was only breakfast. When booking on the IHG website I didn't have to option to include breakfast with my reservation (it doesn't seem to be available when booking on a 21 day advance tariff), but after going on to the Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre's own website I found a special offer for breakfast. Two adults can enjoy breakfast for just £15 instead of around £13pp. Bargain I thought, so contacted the hotel to see if I need to book in advance only to be told that there was no such offer available and that breakfast, if bought in advance was £10pp. Doesn't seem like such a good start to my next break here!

Room Tip: If you can, always choose a room type to the front of the hotel. It may cost you a little more but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsagoodname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Whatsagoodname

Really glad that you’ve enjoyed your stays with us, and have chosen to come back. I’ve shared your feedback with the team, as we love to receive it.
Lots of our guests enjoy sitting watching the world go by of an evening with the views of Bristol, as well as taking our scenic lifts to get a view across the whole city.
I’m sorry that we have different information on the website. I am looking at getting this rectified as a matter of urgency.
When you arrive please ask for me so I can thank you in person.
Thank you and take care
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I havent stayed in here for over a year with my company having tended to book me into the Mercure Holland House, but I was back in March and again found the hotel to be fantastic and a lot better than Mercure (which wasnt too bad itself)

The rooms are what you would expect from a brand higher up than Holiday Inn, massive bed, very comfortable, big tv, wonderful bathroom (some with bath, some just walk in shower) soft towels instead of sandpaper towels, great area to work in also.

The standard has not dropped at all since my previous stay in 2012 which has to be commended, same applies to the staff who were very helpful

Anyone considering this hotel please dont think its a standard holiday inn as its way above that standard.

Only negative is that the room rates are a bit more expensive than other hotels in Bristol

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Jason M
What a great review! I’m really glad that you have come back to us and that you said “The standard has not dropped at all since my previous stay in 2012”
I’ve shared your review with the team, and like me they were excited with your kind words.
I really look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Thank you and take care
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay. Excellent. Top floor smoking room with balcony, large well-equipped room, modern and nicely decorated. Very good breakfast. Great bar, not expensive. Room rates not cheap though, but you get what you pay for! Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CottonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi CottonZ
What a great review. I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I always pass on the comments to the team as they love to hear the feedback.
We pride ourselves on our rooms and service, and love that you found them excellent. I really look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Thank you and take care.
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is not up to normal Holiday Inn standards, booked an executive room with a sofa bed, meant to get bathrobes, papers, minibar etc, none in the room. The room was not as clean as it could have been. The bar and lobby at this hotel are on the 2nd floor, and is merged into one, which really doesn't make for having a relaxing atmosphere if you want to head back to the hotel for a few drinks, there are lifts coming and going which beep loudly and because of the layout, the area to sit and drink is like a through fare. Also for those of us who still smoke, be aware you have to go downstairs and hang around on the pavement to have a cigarette. Although they advertise a 24 hour bar, it was evident, even around midnight on a Saturday night that the barperson was keen to get away, it is off putting when you are made feel uncomfortable asking for another drink.
Breakfast was also a disappointment, the fruit salad certainly looked like it had seen better days, the cooked breakfast was not fabulous and the general selection was very poor for a Holiday Inn.
I booked this hotel for a bit of luxury, booking their supposed best room and was pretty disappointed. The hotel is on a busy roundabout, and if you are staying there on your own, be aware that to get back to the hotel of a night time you need to go through a subway which invariably seems to have several drunks hanging around in it.
Certainly I have stayed at better Holiday Inns that this, and would suggest you will get much better value for money if you stay elsewhere in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quirkyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Quirkyclare



I’m really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

Please be assured that I have investigated fully the issues in regards to the non-attentive bar staff during the nights, and can assure you that corrective measures have been taken to stop this from happening again.


I am sorry that you feel the breakfast was below standards. We pride ourselves on our fresh and above standard offerings, including fresh omelettes, pancakes , black pudding , fried bread and many more.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss further

My Contact details are Deputy@hibristolcity.co.uk or 01179 245000


Kindest Regards

Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel as we were a party of five so required a twin room and a room to sleep three, of which there was not much choice in Bristol for the dates we wanted.

The room for three was set up and ready for us with extra towels when we got there. It was a very large room and well equipped with a nice modern bathroom.

The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that the lobby/reception is heavily glazed and it made it very hot while waiting to check in and as we also wanted to stay and drink in the bar, the heat was an issue. I'm not sure if the air conditioning just wasn't on, or high enough, but it should have been a lot cooler

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 101180D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Chele801

Sorry you found the reception and bar area warm. We have discussed this at our managers meeting and can assure you that corrective measures are being put in place in order to resolve this issue.
I am extremely delighted that you found our rooms spacious and modern and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you and take care.
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff, clean rooms, comfy beds. We had a room that faced the rear so not a great view. Would stay here again. Reasonable value for money. Did not eat at hotel so cannot comment on restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erbanfochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Urbanfox28.
I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I always pass on the comments to the team as they love to hear the feedback. Sorry you didn’t get the view you wanted. When you are ready make return visit please contact me directly on 01179245000 or deputy@hibristolcity.co.uk and I will ensure you get the room with the best view available. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you and take care.
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing