We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, service needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, service needs improvement.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were given a standard of Holiday inn rooms. Nothing to complain about because its clean, sleek and gives us the comfort of an awesome nights sleep.

I thought the breakfast was little crappy though, that needs to be worked on. Service crew at the reception is not friendly.

Location wise, its excellent. Right opposite you get a 4 storey building Primark that opens at 8 am on some days. So shopping is great !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapoorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Singapoorean,

What a disappointment for us that we were unable to make it a memorable experience for you. There was obvious lack of consistency at breakfast,We are really sorry for the inconvenience and can assure you that we have dealt with all the issues highlighted in your review. Thank you for nice comments regarding comfort, cleanliness and location.

To conclude, I believe it would be lovely to have you back so that you can experience our lovely rooms again. We shall all look forward to that.

Thank you and takecare,

Syed Zaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    435
    126
    28
    26
See reviews for
187
402
58
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business. Less than ten mins walk from Broad Quay bars and nightlife. Close to shops and motorway, ideal location. Great hotel, clean, good staff and great food and rooms. Easy parking even though you have to pay it's not a big issue at all. Will stay again thanks a lot!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rusty66Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Rusty66Cheshire,

Wow! this is how we want all our guests to feel, thank you for your nice comments, i have shared your feedback with the team during our morning meeting and thanked them individually for their efforts and commitment for doing a great job.

So when are you coming back to stay with us? We are waiting!

Takecare and thank you,

Syed Zaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Originally booked Suite for 2 night and then called to add on a night, offered a Superior room for extra night and then a move to original room for booked stay! Perfect! Not a bad size for Superior room, all standard amenities provided and very clean. Friendly efficient helpful quick check in. Did not spend much time in room and slept ok as very quiet for city hotel. Did find pillows like bricks but I do take my own due to neck problems. Only one minor feedback and that is hairdryer without a nozzle, sited and affixed to wall by mirror over suitcase storage shelf and no means of sitting to do hair and also had to hold down button to operate dryer, you try doing that first thing in morning and angle dryer all standing up!

Second two nights in a Suite - perfect room and worth booking if you can manage, light, bright airy and spacious with upgraded amenities and if you are that way inclined you can watch tv in the bath!

This Hotel wins my vote because all of the members of staff are brilliant, they smile whilst being professional, friendly, helpful and go the extra mile. Hamda on reception is a true star and is willing to turn her hand to anything to help - thank you to her and all the staff! There is a great restaurant on site called The Spot which I shall review separately, but there is one of the best Buffet Breakfasts on offer that I have seen! If you see something that is looking past it best the chefs respond immediately and refill or bring fresh!

What more can I say - a good city centre hotel with more than the normal offerings to please!

Room Tip: Suite every time if you can manage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi MortyJen,

Thank you for posting a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be Great.

Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you encountered in the room especially hair dryer, had you informed us we would have arranged a member of maintenance team to come and fix it for you.

As with all reviews I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.I trust we will be seeing you again very soon.

Takecare and thank you,

Syed Zaidi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Made a decision to stay here rather than drive 100 miles home and then back next day. Good food and helpful staff. Slept like a log and second day in Bristol was great.
Right in the centre of this magnificent city, just a short distance from docks, spot on!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Don V

I’m very glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Lots of our guests love our location so close to Cabot Circus & the rest of the city.

It’s great to see you enjoyed your meal in the newly re-branded Spot Kitchen & Bar.
I have shared your comments with the whole team, as we really appreciate your feedback.
We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & take care
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Heard really good things about the restaurant in this hotel from family who recently stayed here when attending a wedding in the area so being local thought we would try it out, first impressions the hotel is really trendy, immaculately clean and obviously very well looked after. The receptionist was really friendly as she pointed us in the direction of the restaurant and told us it was a great time to come as they recently had a new menu and she wasn't wrong! There is a huge menu to choose from and the food and service was excellent. I had a burger which was very tasty and great value for money, and my partner had a steak which was cooked to perfection! We both had cheesecake for dessert which we were told was homemade and was probably the nicest we've ever had. Serving staff were very attentive and friendly making for a lovely evening all in all. Will definitely be returning and recommending to others!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunt0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Hunt0000
It’s great to see you enjoyed your meal in the newly re-branded Spot Kitchen & Bar.

I have shared your comments with the whole team, as we really appreciate your feedback.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & take care
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having made a last minute booking I wasn't expecting a great room at a great hotel but felt the Holiday Inn would give a good standard for a 1 night stay in the centre of Bristol. I was suprised as the food in the restaurant was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was standard as I expected but I was disappointed to have to ask for extra towels, but the Manager saw us straight away and quickly had extra towels sent to our room ready for when we got back from our night out. I would happily recommend and will be returning - many thanks to all the staff, including the very tall Manager who's name I cant recall!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Ellie L

It’s great to see you enjoyed your meal in the newly re-branded Spot Kitchen & Bar.
I have shared your comments with the whole team, as we really appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & take care

Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've been working in Bristol for the past 6months and if I can stay here... I will. The rooms are clean, the location is perfect for pretty much everywhere you need, the staff are friendly, the menu was pretty bad 2 months ago but it has improved so much! The food is quick and never at fault. The bar is open late enough and the gyms opening times are great too... Yes, there is a gym too.

Basically, if the prices are decent then I highly suggest you stay here. I've stayed for £90 a night before which is not far from a Premier Inn price. This is 50x better. I will be staying again soon hopefully...
...
Thanks HIBCC ... Ginger Dave :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveDeb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSCC-FOM1, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Ginger Dave
It’s great to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and love the newly re-branded Spot Kitchen & Bar.
I have shared your comments with the whole team, as we really appreciate your feedback.
When you come back, please ask for me at reception so I can thank you personally.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you & take care
Neil Parry
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing