We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brooks Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brooks Guesthouse”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Was booked as part of a large group. Man on reception was extremely helpful, polite and efficient. Rooms and décor lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious, but running out of sausages was not good, a fair few of the people we were travelling with missed out. Also, no bowls for cereal or glasses for juice were out. But the food we had was really good quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVonTrapp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    273
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
117
399
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I booked and confirmed my stay here, or so I thought. Arriving and being told there was no reservation looked like a disaster in the making. But after checking my inbox and credit card, I found this was MY mistake, not theirs. Alas, Brooks was full, but the receptionist could not have been more helpful. Looked up alternatives on his computer and let me stay in the residents lounge to search on my iPad for myself. As this was my error, I could not have asked for more. Of course, I will be back when next in Bristol, about two weeks from now.

Service isn't about vision statements and corporate hype. Mist about young men like this receptionist doing more thN he needed to to ensure I was ok. Thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
thank you for your lovely comments, we would love you to come and stay with us hopefully soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Brooks. Very contemporary décor, with a nice feel to the place. Bedroom was quite small, but I knew I had booked a small room. Very clean and lovely bathroom. Chef had a great sense of humour! Taxi driver dropped us off on Baldwin Street and said “ your guest house is up there somewhere!” Bristol is a great city to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol for one night whilst visiting friends in Bristol. It's situated right in the middle near St Nicholas' Market in the Old City,which is a lovely area of the city. The hotel is down a lane and is gated at the front,with a lovely courtyard at the entrance to the reception. When I arrived, I was advised the desk is only manned between 8am-8pm and the key to your room opens the gate and the main door,should you wish to come back later at night. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and showed me the way to my room. The room was very cosy and of a vintage design,with shutters on the windows and comfy bedding. Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean and tidy with minimal fuss. I came back late at night, where on the main street were quite a few clubs,the music could be heard from the room but not much of a problem. The following morning, I went down to the open kitchen/living area and sat down for breakfast. My order was taken pretty quickly and I could watch my eggs benedict being made!! The breakfast was lovely and fresh and staff were helpful and pleasant. On checking out, the receptionist offered if I wanted to leave my bags with them,whilst I had a wander around and collect them later,really good customer service. I would definitely make a point of staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiSouthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kindom.
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I feel bad in saying this as I stayed here a year ago and am only now leaving a review...shocking, I know.

Brooks Guest House was one of the most delightful hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. Superb owner, who (even though we were very late checking in our rooms and probably a bit of a nightmare - two 23 year olds faffing about with luggage can't be much of a delight) was very welcoming and friendly. Helped us with our bags and showed us to our rooms, no trouble at all!

As we were visiting Uni friends in Bristol this was such a great location, you are literally in the heart of the city.

Our room was beautiful, especially the shutters and decor. A very French/modern vibe and extremely clean. Breakfast was to die for, with a lot to choose from.

This hotel is a real hidden gem, I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet stay make sure you let them know as one side of the hotel faces a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Im992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent a single night at Brooks and although the hotel is very nice, though the oohs are quite small, the location made it a very noisy place to stay with student revellers carousing outside till the early hours then building works in the area at 7am.

Breakfast was good, fresh made in front of you and the staff were all pleasant but I won't be staying again because the noise and lack of close parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A small but very stylish hotel with friendly staff. Ideally located for bars, restaurants, theatre, shops etc. Spotless room, comfortable bed and pillows, no bath but modern if small shower room was an efficient use of space. Loved the 'White Company' shampoo and shower gel. Honesty bar in the guest lounge was great value, Paid £8.50 extra for breakfast, a good choice all cooked to order. Best to park car at food market entrance (sat nav finds it) on double yellow lines to offload bags and grab the address of the NCP car park where you can park for over 24 hours for only £10 payable through the hotel. Its only a short walk back up steps and across 2 roads. So much nicer to stay here than at the usual corporate hotels around the city. Only downside-no aircon so although a quiet location the room was warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ageingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Property: Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing