We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for the style-conscious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It's not really a guesthouse, more a chic (but relaxed) boutique hotel. Great breakfast room/bar, staff very smiley and helpful, nice bed linen and bathroom. A few niggles. WiFi is unreliable. My room was small and dark, although beautifully decorated, and quite noisy well into the night (only to be expected, perhaps, in a very central location). Breakfast supposedly began at 7am, but at 7.20 all seemed a bit chaotic with food not fully laid out. Cooked breakfasts were (eventually) cooked to order. Orange juice not very nice – get some freshly-squeezed in, Brooks! They have just installed four Airstream-type caravans on the roof. Stylish.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was really impressed with the Brooks Guesthouse. From the inside, you would never believe that it is a city center hotel. It's rustic, yet modern and the staff are warm and friendly. The rooms are on the small side (to be expected given the location), but are decorated beautifully and the beds are very comfy. The location was a big plus too, there are two great markets right on the doorstep, and a variety of pubs and restaurants. We had a great time exploring and could easily pop back to the room from all over the place and we were never that far away. There is free wifi, but we found it to be a bit patchy, we did get it to work for the few times we needed to use it though. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandacurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our first visit to Bristol and definitely won't be our last! The guesthouse was in a great location, everything in walking distance with pubs and bars right on the doorstep. The rooms were all decorated individually and we're very shabby chic. The communal area was lovely and the breakfast was cooked right in front of you. Would 100% definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_tlm_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for one night and wanted to spend a little more to stay somewhere which offered a bit more than the standard budget chain hotel. We saw this place which had great reviews and looked lovely from the pictures. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the place has been decorated beautifully. It is clean and the rooms are cosy and have everything you need. Unfortunately we experienced a few issues, which on their own we would happily forget, but combined left us feeling a little disappointed with our stay. There was a problem with the toilet in our room, every time it was flushed, water would continuously flow from the cistern. This would go on for hours and throughout the night and was so loud it sounded like a tap had been left on. We couldn't connect to the free in room wi-fi because the signal was so poor. When we tried to connect to the router on our floor the password provided didn't work. When we asked the night staff, the response was only that the password should work so it was never resolved. Also It was so noisy at night! I completely understand that being in the centre of Bristol on a Friday night, outside noise from the pubs and bars is to be expected and is not the fault of the hotel. However it was so loud up until around 1.30am, we couldn't sleep, it was as if a window was open. We couldn't help think some better soundproofing could be done, especially since reading that other's have experienced the same. We were looking forward to the breakfast, which we paid an extra £8.50 each for, but it was disappointing. We waited 45mins and we were told just before that they had run out of sausages for our cooked breakfast, so we essentially paid £17 for egg and bacon. On top of that my partners order was wrong. These things happen and maybe it was just a bad morning, but to wait 45mins for breakfast is way too long. However the manager was apologetic and did offer a refund and was not rude or dismissive, so thumbs up there. I think for the price we expected a little more. A nice place but left a little underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Brooks in August 2013 for one night. Loved our cosy room, which is decorated to make it feel like home, and the great staff and service. The place is spotless and quiet. All rooms have a kettle (we take our own everywhere we go!) and a hairdryer, which is always useful. Breakfast is tasty and made to order. The yard is perfect if you're a smoker or just want to take in the sun. Highly recommend this place over chain hotels if you're looking for something with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naziha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at Brooks guesthouse for 3 nights midweek. Although the room was fairly bijou, it was very clean and nicely decorated and in a great location for just about everywhere in central Bristol. We managed to make breakfast every morning and it was excellent, from salmon and scrambled eggs to cereal with honey - delicious! Only gripe would be the amount of noise from nearby building work but on check out the staff were really apologetic and gave us our already reduced parking fee for free! Would definitely recommend to others and look forward to visiting the next time we're in Brizzle!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms may be quieter at the weekends.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night at the weekend and I was so impressed. It's location is perfect, smack bang in the centre and 5 min walk to the docks.
The staff are really friendly and professional. Breakfast is lovely. The rooms are really nice and the beds are to die for.
We did have a problem with the toilet in our room but it was dealt with immediately and we had money taken off. We were happy with the solution.
I would definately stay here again. A great find!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kranky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing