We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely decor and staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We liked the stylish decor and wanted to give Brooks a 5 for this combined with the pleasant staff.
We slept badly because it was very noisy. Not the fault of the hotel or guests- but rowdiness from revellers in nearby bars continued til 2 in the morning. As it was warm, we had the window open so we felt we were between a rock and a hard place. Some of the louvre shutters would not close completely so we awoke early. There was a light out in the bathroom and we could not get the bathroom mirror light to work- so it was tricky putting contact lenses in.
But we do want to return to give this oasis of style another chance- just not on a Saturday night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    270
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
116
394
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a lovely hotel, right in the centre of St Nicholas Market in Bristol. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the decor is wonderfully demure and tasteful.

We stayed in two of the new rooftop Retro Rocket caravans and this was a great experience - the bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept on, with goose feather duvets and pillows. The bathroom was slightly challenging for my 6'7" husband, but this all added to the fun of it all. Breakfast was delicious, cooked in front of you, with a good range of options.

The location is superb - yes, of course there is a little noise at night - anyone who knows Bristol knows that it is a party town, so don't expect to stay near the centre with a massive concentration of fantastic pubs, shops, restaurants and clubs on your doorstep and then want it to be like a monastery at night!

I have a feeling that this will become a regular hostelry for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Clicked onto the Brooks website knowing they fairly often have a late deal and was delighted to discover they have recently installed some shiny ( = pretty!) British made Rocket trailers onto their flat rooftop slap bang in the heart of Bristols finest St. Nicks area. Simply but very, very comfortably decked out, the caravan was a lovely spot to be based while popping out to some of the many establishments well within walking distance. A compact bathroom provided all facilities needed, and the honesty bar in the main hotel is a nice touch. Looking forward to checking out the Bath and Edinburgh sister hotels when in the vicinities, and sure to return back to this great find in Bristol. And breakfast was spot on too. Great value and near perfect!

Room Tip: The trailers were very warm althouigh it was cold and rainy outside - would recommend whatever the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotteMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed overnight in this thoughtfully planned and extremely comfortable hotel. The room was compact, but very inviting with a clever 'shaker' peg hanging system for clothes along the walls. The bed was great with high quality matress and linens. Good power shower. The breakfast was superb cooked by terrific chef Thomas in front of us in the open kitchen. We started with yoghurt and fruit layered with home made granola and then had eggs Florentine with bacon (asked if we wanted smoked or unsmoked bacon - nice touch) finishing with a fresh home-baked fruit muffin. Really the best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel - well sourced food, beautifully cooked and served in a friendly and luxurious dining room. We will certainly be back next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampopo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Brooks has a great location in the oldest part of Bristol just beside an old market. The very friendly staff welcomed us and helped us store our bikes. The interior is well designed - it does not have the bland feel of a chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeaside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just cannot recommend Brooks highly enough. Right in centre of town, but not disturbed by noise in room (stayed on top floor). Comfy beds. Beautifully decorated, relaxed venue. Very accommodating for our large party of ladies. Part of group stayed in Airstream trailers - great. 10.00am breakfast - good choice and prompt service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a gem in the city of Bristol, modern yet welcoming, compact but comfortable and fantastic customer service. I would not hesitate to recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone. We will be returning, though to the Airstream trailers on the roof next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Property: Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing