We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveller rating
475
294
83
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
294
83
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barst nicholas marketguest housethe open plan kitcheneggs benedictnight portercoat hangerscentral locationfull englishbreakfast was deliciousnearby ncpa lovely place to stayrooms are smalllounge areastreet noisefantastic locationcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 905 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The title says it all. I need to write 200 words, so I will say it again. Brooks does everything one wants at the price. No, it is not a chain hotel with 24 hour microwaved meals (who wants that?). I doesn't have a flunky at the kerbside to whisk bags to the room. What it does have is charm, personality, helpful staff, first rate cleaners and management which clearly has an eye for detail. Rooms may be a little small for some tastes, but I'm not bothered. I would say that if you were planning to stay a few days and needed a desk and space to lay out documents, then you may do better elsewhere. IMF you want to sleep and have a good breakfast then stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A unique stay in the heart of St Nick's, Bristol. A short walk from the NCP car park and you find yourself in front of the door to the Brooks Guesthouse, walk through and you enter into a cute little court yard space, with seating for alfresco dining or a well earned pe-dinner drink (honesty bar system in place). The guest lounge , breakfast & kitchen area is nicely kitted out, with bi-folding doors on to the court yard. A few flights of stairs (or lift and then stairs) takes you up to roof area, where 4 British made rockets had been imaginatively installed.
We stayed in the slightly larger rocket, which had a seating area & table, shower and toilet and double bed. Complete with TV/DVD, radio, mood lighting and little drinks ares for Tea/coffee. The radiator will be handy in winter, but it was a very hot day when we stayed, so just opened the doors and roof lights and it soon cooled down. Noise wise, yes you can hear activity from the streets below, but you are effectively glamping in the city!
Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of homemade touches. Location wise, this guesthouse doesn't get any more central, with lots of shops, bars and lovely restaurants, not to mention the harbor side all on the doorstep.
The only downside is maybe, just maybe, 4 rockets on the roof is little much. Could have had two with each having some outside space (a table and chairs would have been perfect, considering the fab weather we had) and would have provided a little more privacy for the rooms at the top of the building (rooms 23 & 24) and the other rocket guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandS_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July and loved it. The location is fantastic, right next door to St Nicholas Market with loads of food stalls, within easy walking distance of loads of restaurants, bars and sights. We had a shared room overlooking the courtyard on the second floor and we're very pleased. The only thing we didn't like was that it was very warm, but this had more to do with the unusually hot weather, and there was a good fan provided in the room, although no aircon. Breakfasts were tasty and filling, with a good choice of basics and the more indulgent options. There seemed to be a wealth of good places to eat nearby, especially those overlooking the canal, and staff were happy to recommend places nearby. The lounge area was cool and comfortable, with the honesty bar a nice touch when returning after a night out. We originally tried to book one of the Airstream caravans on the roof, but unsurprisingly the one we wanted was unavailable. They did look great and maybe on our next trip we'll stay in one of these. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side as the reception area - that side of the building seemed cooler.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JillyHems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our trip to Brooks didn't have the best of starts as a computer error had caused us to be booked into the wrong room, however this was resolved quickly and the lady who dealt with us couldn't have been more helpful.
We stayed in a room on the third floor and it was decorated to an excellent standard, immaculate and had all the essentials that you would need. There was a bit of noise early morning (we stayed mid week) but we had all the windows open as it was a very hot night, so being city centre I think noise should be expected, and closing the windows gave us peace.
The location is great, next to a really interesting market full of wonderful stalls and food places, the bars and pubs around the guesthouse were great too, and the river is just minutes away and is a lovely walk.
The guesthouse breakfast had a excellent variety of choice, staff were friendly and the food was delicious, also being able to sit in the courtyard was an added bonus.
Overall I would highly recommend this place :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived for one night with a friend. Greeted by a smartly dressed very polite man. We were staying in one of the caravans on the roof which was amazing. The interior was well mantained and had a little to much fun with the led flashing lights. The bed was really comfortable and was one of the best nights sleep I have had in ages. I would have happily stayed longer if I could have. I didn't see any of the rooms as we were in the caravan but I am sure they are just as well maintained. On leaving we were met with a very lovely young lady. Who was very polite she thanked us for are stay and was welcoming us back any time. Overall one of my best hotel visits to date and I would recommend it to anyone. Will definitely be going back as some point.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews