We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
471
293
82
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
293
82
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barst nicholas marketguest houseeggs benedictnight portercoat hangerscentral locationking roombreakfast was deliciousfull englishnearby ncpa lovely place to stayrooms are smalllounge areastreet noisefantastic locationcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a real find. Lovely décor. Small but perfectly done bedrooms with large ensuite. The children had a Rocket on the roof which is a superb idea. Well done!

The staff are extremely helpful and cheery and it feels a very personal service. Breakfasts are definitely worth getting up for. Cooked freshly for you in the open kitchen. Yum. I'm planning a visit to another of their guesthouses in Edinburgh or Bath. Can't wait. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

thank you for the lovely comments it means a lot to us Hope to see you again in Bristol or Brooks Bath or Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed one night here and having stayed in a number of hotels in Bristol since our daughter has gone to university there, I have to say this is the nicest in the best location. It's location does have some drawbacks though if like us you're there at the weekend, as it's right in the centre of where most of the bars are. This meant there was an awful lot of street noise until the early hours of the morning, and because the rooms don't have air conditioning (it is a guesthouse remember) and it was warm we had to have the windows open so we did have a rather disturbed sleep. The staff are good and the receptionist is lovely. Breakfast is very good, prepared freshly for you and so much better than the usual overwhelming buffets normally served in chain hotels. The rooms aren't massive but there are nicely furnished and well maintained, the whole place is spotless. I will return and try to ask for a quieter room if we're there on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

thank your review and lovely comments hope to see you again in Brooks Bristol , Bath or Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed her for one Saturday night and received a friendly welcome from all staff. It was an pleasant place to stay but what made it really special were the rooftop Rocket caravans (like American Airstreams) They were completely bonkers and fab. There was a lot of street noise and a hen party at the time of our stay, but this did not affect my sleep once inside the van. We loved the honesty bar and the breakfast was excellent too. A little too expensive for a regular stay but as a one off quirky treat in the centre of an old market it was perfect. You can't really check in until 2 and this was a little awkward as we were meant to be at a wedding at that time...but on the plus side the next morning check out was a relaxed experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Rockets to make this memorable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Room was nice but very small ( no wardrobe) and therefore very hot, air conditioning needs to be installed, Very noisy at night from the myriad of pubs in the street till early hours of morning. Housekeeping did not seem to be carried out on the 2 days we were there, bathroom not cleaned, toiletries not replenished,and very little of them considering the price of the room (not enough for 2 people), poor in-room drinks tray, again not replenished during stay.. Would have expected a larger range of teas plus maybe 2 biscuits instead of just the 1 as there were 2 of us in the room. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

thank you for your comments sorry the roms are small but are priced accordingly .
We housekeep daily unless you have a "Do not disturb sign on the door "
totally take your point about biscuits there shoudl be 2 not 1 so will address this with housekeeping we would have done this also if you had told us while you were at the hotel ,it was simply human error . apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a bad experience in another Bristol hotel the previous week this was a breath of fresh air. Nice personal welcome, cute room, spotlessly clean, free wifi, small but perfectly formed bathroom, comfortable bed and a great location. Breakfast good quality (no beans though!) and honesty bar a good idea.

A few small downsides. Service at breakfast very slow - everyone else had orders taken at their table apart from me - I had to order at the counter. And while it was only a moderately warm day the room was incredibly hot with no air con. So maybe one to avoid for the summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews