We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We spent one night here and were very impressed. The location is right in the middle of the action and we were able to walk to all of the places we wanted to see. There were so many restaurants and lovely pubs in the area.
We were greeted warmly and given all the help and information we required with enthusiasm. Very welcoming!
Our room was pretty, everything was clean and you could appreciate the attention to detail. The room was tiny...very tiny, otherwise I would have rated it 5 out of 5.
The common areas were inviting and again the attention to detail was evident. We did not have the breakfast but it was probably a mistake as it smelled and looked fantastic. We just didn't want a heavy meal for breakfast.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    270
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
116
394
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for a weekend and was really delighted with the location, being opposite St Nicholas' market right in the heart of the city. The room I stayed in was particularly small, no turning round in the bathroom for example, but it was extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated and a lovely place to stay in. The staff were wonderful, really helpful and chatty and altogether I had a lovely time and would not stay anywhere else in Bristol.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MancyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stay here a lot for work as my head office is based in Bristol. The place is always spotlessly clean, the staff are wonderful and the breakfast lovely.

The downsides for me are it can be a bit warm in the summer, as it's so central it can be noisy when you have the windows open and all the rooms have a shower (I like having a bath but obviously that's my personal preference).

I would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a lovely friendly place to stay and the new caravans are awesome fun!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a stop over from a camping holiday in Wales before going back to London. Having stayed in the sister guesthouse in Bath back in December, we knew the quality was good and the breakfast was worth getting up early for! We were certainly not disappointed - excellent staff, very helpful and friendly throughout the whole stay, comfy beds, a really great shower, and a nice selection of hot beverages in the room to make with the kettle, as well as the breakfast we were anticipating! Great location, I wish we could have stayed more nights! Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at Brooks guesthouse during a conference in Bristol In July. I booked a super king room for a couple of days then extended my stay for the rest of the week but sleeping in one of the four rooftop rockets (American Airstream Caravans) for fun.

The rooms were tiny but beautiful, clean and stylish. Ideal for a short stay but could be a little cramped for a longer stay. The rooftop Rockets are SUCH fun and a fun and quirky addition to the guesthouse. Beware the weekend club goers though as the sound of club tunes is very audible up on the roof, even with the windows closed. It wasn't an issue to me but it you need silence to sleep soundly - this probably isn't the place for you.

The most important aspect of Brooks is the amazing service and warm welcome you will receive from all staff working there. Breakfast was exceptional with a wide range of beautifully cooked and presented options - we're talking gourmet breakfasts here made with the finest ingredients.

Brooks is situated opposite the markets and you will be spoilt for Comice for places to eat and drink which are close by. I'd recommend travelling between Brooks the train station by boat - great fun!

Room Tip: I'd have to recommend the Rooftop Rockets if you are feeling adventurous. They were great fun an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a real find. Lovely décor. Small but perfectly done bedrooms with large ensuite. The children had a Rocket on the roof which is a superb idea. Well done!

The staff are extremely helpful and cheery and it feels a very personal service. Breakfasts are definitely worth getting up for. Cooked freshly for you in the open kitchen. Yum. I'm planning a visit to another of their guesthouses in Edinburgh or Bath. Can't wait. :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
thank you for the lovely comments it means a lot to us Hope to see you again in Bristol or Brooks Bath or Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed one night here and having stayed in a number of hotels in Bristol since our daughter has gone to university there, I have to say this is the nicest in the best location. It's location does have some drawbacks though if like us you're there at the weekend, as it's right in the centre of where most of the bars are. This meant there was an awful lot of street noise until the early hours of the morning, and because the rooms don't have air conditioning (it is a guesthouse remember) and it was warm we had to have the windows open so we did have a rather disturbed sleep. The staff are good and the receptionist is lovely. Breakfast is very good, prepared freshly for you and so much better than the usual overwhelming buffets normally served in chain hotels. The rooms aren't massive but there are nicely furnished and well maintained, the whole place is spotless. I will return and try to ask for a quieter room if we're there on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
thank your review and lovely comments hope to see you again in Brooks Bristol , Bath or Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Property: Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing