We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great day out. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunel's ss Great Britain

Brunel's ss Great Britain
Book In Advance
US$17.36*
and up
Entrance Ticket to Brunel's ss Great Britain
Ranked #1 of 187 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time when you board Brunel’s ss Great Britain. Discover the true stories behind the ship that changed the world.Experience the sights, sounds and smells of life on board for Victorian passengers and crew. Descend under water below the glass ‘sea’ to touch the world’s first great ocean liner.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day out. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited SS Great Britain with two small children. Was a great day out and even better that our ticket lasted a year so we can return. The dry dock was very interesting, worth the money and would visit again.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank dowdow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,865
    855
    87
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Facinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A wonderful example of preservation of this amazing historical ship.well worth the visit. Brunel was an
Engineering genius and the way this ship has been preserved and now accessible to the public to get a taste of Victorian life,makes it a must see.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Who knew that I would be so interested in an old ship? It was fascinating and a beautifully presented museum with lots of hands on exhibits to engage kids of all ages. Historic resonance from the time it was built up to my lifetime when it came back to its birthplace in 1970.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank baggyanddebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great if you can get in for less”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was lucky enough to go on a tour of this place through a company and I'm glad. It's a great attraction but a normal price ticket is enough to make you think "better things elsewhere". So if you have the chance, go for it. If not, you'll be fine. Nice view from the deck.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating trip around a beautiful old ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

As I was paying the receptionist for our tickets, it occurred to me that it was more than 30 years since I had last visited the SS Great Britain. What a lot has changed! We moved around the dry dock to look at the ship from below, through a well thought out, and easy to access museum and onto three decks of the ship itself. The whole visit was a delight. We particularly enjoyed walking through the fabulously appointed first class dining room. There was even an option to climb the rigging (for an extra tenner) although since it was raining and it was January, we chose not to!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brunel's ss Great Britain also viewed

 

Been to Brunel's ss Great Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing