We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Blowing Day”

Brunel's SS Great Britain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$197.09*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Flight from Ashton Court
Ranked #1 of 165 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time when you board Brunel’s SS Great Britain. Discover the true stories behind the ship that changed the world. Experience the sights, sounds and smells of life on board for Victorian passengers and crew. Descend under water below the glass ‘sea’ to touch the world’s first great ocean liner.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I took my wife and 4 grandchildren to visit this ship today, we spent 5 really interesting hours here. The story of the ship its development, history, rescue from the Falkland Islands and subsequent restoration is brilliant. Added to this is a new museum on site in which I could have spent so much more time. In addition to all that was going on, there was historical role playing which enthralled people. After 5 hours we had to depart, but the great thing is the ticket we bought on line today is valid for 12 months.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dry dock"
in 768 reviews
"ss great britain"
in 1,372 reviews
"great ship"
in 164 reviews
"falkland islands"
in 93 reviews
"sounds and smells"
in 84 reviews
"brunel museum"
in 77 reviews
"engine room"
in 73 reviews
"the galley"
in 69 reviews
"dining room"
in 87 reviews
"all ages"
in 433 reviews
"maritime history"
in 76 reviews
"great attraction"
in 135 reviews
"top deck"
in 67 reviews
"piece of history"
in 76 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 71 reviews
"few hours"
in 161 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 72 reviews
Filter

266 - 270 of 6,948 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018

We had a day to spend in Bristol and we were thinking if we should visit Brunel's SS Great Britain. It proved to be a good decision with very informative exhibitions and activities. The path is easy to follow, it tells you the story of the ship, and it concludes with details about the work of Brunel. The ship itself is amazing. It was the first time that we've been on a dry dock. The interiors of the ship were very realistic and can give you an idea of how travelling by ship was 100+ years ago. Also, we tried the 'Go Aloft' experience, which even though was a bit pricey (we had to pay another £10 each), it was a great way to see the ship and the nearby area from another perspective. We spent about 4 hours there, which was more than we had expected, but we could easily have spent another hour as there were lots of things to see and learn! Lastly, the staff was very friendly and ready to answer our questions.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Elinamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Myself and two daughters (12 & 15) visited today, being locals we have visited before when the girls were smaller and we were amazed at the changes. There was so much to see and experience. The exhibitions were fascinating and the recreations on the ship were great. The Brunel Museum was engaging with loads to interest teenagers. The Museum staff were very friendly, approachable and knowledgable. In all we had a really great day out and would definitely recommend it to others. We will be going back!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We went last week and had a fantastic time. It is a bit expensive to get in, but you expect that with attractions like this. It is a full day out with loads to see. People have mentioned the talks - we would have like to have listened to one or two but we didn’t want to risk not having time to see everything. We dressed up in the old fashioned clothing and took some photos (no extra cost). The ship itself is amazingly big and there is a lot to see on the lower decks. Then we went into the Being Brunel exhibition and we all enjoyed the giant Brunel head. Lots to see and do in this exhibition alone. The younger ones will be attracted to the Brunel bear in the shop which is ridiculously overpriced - parents be warned! But all in all, it is a fantastic place to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and there is plenty to entertain everyone. You really can’t visit Bristol without coming here. Congratulations to everyone involved in making this such a superb attraction.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Well I like old ships, so to me this is the main reason why we came to Bristol. But having been here for five days and there are still things we would like to see, I must say that we underestimated the town. I could live here. This is a very well presented attraction with an excellent subject and knowledgeable guides. Don't come to Bristol and NOT see this ship.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank gordon793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brunel's SS Great Britain also viewed

 

Been to Brunel's SS Great Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing