We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bristol
from US$164.94
More Info
from US$329.88
More Info
from US$164.94
More Info
Reviews (6,983)
Filter reviews
6,983 results
Traveller rating
5,652
1,172
110
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,652
1,172
110
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry dock ss great britain great ship falkland islands sounds and smells brunel museum engine room the galley dining room all ages maritime history great attraction top deck piece of history interesting visit few hours well worth the visit
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 6,983 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved our journey around the SS Great Britain. Brilliantly organised and well laid out so it never felt too crowded. Seeing the steerage sleeping quarters and the kitchens were my highlight and my husband very much enjoyed the dry dock.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank MyGirlEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn’t recommend this more highly. The experience is beautifully managed, allowing you to understand the history, engineering and social context and impact of the SS Great Britain. The guides are knowledgable and friendly and always happy to impart extra facts as you walk round. A world class attraction.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank andocleavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only live in Newport South Wales so usually only come to Bristol for the day, we had made an effort to stay longer and this great old ship was top our things to visit.
Tickets when we booked, in advance, were £15.70 each but I have to say that it was worth every penny.
You enter via ticket office/gift shop. Then onto the dock area. We went below underneath the false flooded ceiling first to look at her hull which is kept in a very dry atmosphere, to try to prevent rust. Be aware although not unpleasant it is dry. We then visited the museum of the ship which is fascinating and via that onto the ship itself. There are displays all over the decks and mannequins in period clothing. We found plenty of staff on hand to help us with questions.
There is a small museum dedicated to Isambard Kingdom Brunel which is also well worth a visit. Try drawing a circle on a moving train!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to visit if you want an inception of some Bristol/ British history for a very well preserved ship that was quite incredible to see! Something I highly recommend for both children and adults to see. Probably better for children 6+ but suitable for all ages as it’s just lovely to get up on a boat and be immersed in the setting. The conference rooms were varied but good and gave a interesting place for memebers to start conversing!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank victoriao723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wasn’t sure exactly how much I would enjoy this attraction, but gave it the benefit of the doubt and was very pleased I did! As well as the ship, there are also a couple of museums on site giving you not only a thorough insight into the SS Great Britain, but also about Isambard Kingdom Brunel himself and his many other accomplishments such as the Great Western Railway and various bridges/structures. There are a number of interactive elements which should help keep children interested, as well as lots of rooms to explore and period costumes to try on. In fact we found ourselves so immersed that we didn’t have enough time to get around the whole site before closing (we arrived just after lunchtime). Fortunately though, admission tickets are valid for a year so we will be able to return to view the bits we missed (plus the dining area which was closed for recarpetting on the day of our visit!). Tickets are also 5% cheaper is bought in advance online. There is ample Pay & Display parking nearby that has no height restriction.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nomadbackwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews