We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost our reservation!”
Review of Thali Cafe Clifton

Thali Cafe Clifton
Ranked #304 of 1,576 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lost our reservation!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived here on Friday evening looking forward to spending a weekend in Bristol. We had booked earlier that week. We know Clifton very well as a friend used to live there and we often used to stay. We told the girl on the front desk we had a reservation but she couldn't find it and said they were fully booked, she did say we could come back in 45 minutes and she might be able to fit us in. This was really annoying as we had already been for a pre dinner drink and were now pretty hungry so didn't want to wait around for another 45 min. especially when we had arrived on time for the booking we had made. Our host suggested that we had booked the wrong restaurant and said this often happens as they have several restaurants in Bristol (we were fully aware of this as we had been visited one of the other restaurants before) so found this rather rude as we had already explained that it was the Clifton restaurant we had booked. Mistakes do happen but their attitude wasn't at all good, they could have just said sorry there has obviously been a mistake have a drink on us whilst you wait for a table which would have been fine. I highly recommend you get your booking confirmed by email or text before you visit to ensure you don't have a wasted journey as we did. I'd love to have written a more positive review based on the food we had eaten but unfortunately we didn't get to eat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    91
    31
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian food outside of india”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The title of my review says it all, I have been to india a few times & have not had food this authentic in the uk.
The atmosphere & service were great.
We felt very welcome with our toddler who also loved the food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pumpdkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Have visited Thali cafe many times and also have a tiffin for takeaways!
The food is always delicious, quick and such reasonable prices. Staff are always friendly and helpful.
Will continue to visit for yummy food. And would definitely recommend the Keralan salad, it's addictive!

Helpful?
Thank Lucyofbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

On a trip to Bristol we found this lovely restaurant. We hadn't booked, but were made to feel very welcome & the waitress found us a table within five minutes. All the staff were attentive, polite. The menu was varied & interesting. I had a pumpkin curry which was so flavoursome & plenty of food. My Husband had the Mongul curry which is a chicken curry & again he found it to be very tasty not over powering with one flavour. Very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend friends & family to visit if in the Clifton area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

First of all the decor and furniture is really lovely. The stairs are covered in fairy lights and there are plants dotted around the room which you don't see in enough restaurants nowadays.

We had the city snacks to start with were gorgeous, really well cooked.
Then for main I the Mogul & my friend had the Northern. It was really really tasty & I loved that you get more than one dish with your main.
My only criticism of the food was that I wish we were given some poppadoms included in the main as with all the curry's you need something to mop up the last bits when you've run out of rice!
We had to buy a couple, but at 85p each its not going to break the bank unless you're with a big party.

I found the waitresses to be quite unfriendly too... I don't know whether we caught them on a bad day but i don't think we were smiled at once during our meal - until a waiter (looked like he had just started his shift) started serving and he was extremely nice.

Overall, for the price and the quality of the food, i would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank HelenRose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thali Cafe Clifton also viewed

 

Been to Thali Cafe Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing