We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippy Indian Chic”
Review of Thali Cafe Clifton

Thali Cafe Clifton
Ranked #282 of 1,624 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hippy Indian Chic”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved the food,the atmosphere,the service and the decor! I had never eaten Thali food so I was really pleased to discover a different type of Indian cuisine which was delicious as well as healthy! I shall definitely go back to try more of their intriguing dishes. Everything sounds and smells so good!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    92
    32
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch here with a group of friends on a Friday afternoon.

Fantastic service. Spotlessly clean environment.

Fantastic menu - we had the lunch menu which was around £7 each. Fantastic value - I'd almost say under priced!!

Bombay chips were great!

Try the place. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Indian tapas”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is not a "curry house"; as the name indicates, it specialises in thali-style selection of dishes - think tapas or mezze, but all served on the same plate - and the dishes are well designed to give a great balance of textures, flavours and heats. Clean and colourful decor (I love the retro Bollywood posters), consistently good service, and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

At first I thought there would be nothing I liked, so I ordered the item that had what I liked in it. After my first bite, i fell in love with it instantly. I will definitely come back again. I am a very fussy eater, and so I didn't really want to go, but now I have gone I will definitely come back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent start to a Sat Eve”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with my husband and 11 yr old son early Sat evening. My son is a fussy eater but tried the Mogul Chicken and said it was 'brilliant' which is an absolutely shocking response! I had the Northern Thali (V) which was full of a delicate combination of flavours. My husband had the Lamb Kofta and was equally as impressed. We also had starters and sides which just made the whole meal a wonderful experience. We will be going there again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmbushedAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thali Cafe Clifton also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Thali Cafe Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing