We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
1
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Advised that we could park outside the hotel after 6pm on a Saturday and all day Sunday which we hadn't realised.
Room was very nice. The only criticism is that the tv in the bathroom wasn't working (although we didn't mind as we weren't staying there to watch tv!). The room was clean but the bath wasn't perfectly clean.
Breakfast was excellent (included in the room rate). We asked for our eggs to be cooked a bit longer and the waitresses couldn't have been nicer.
A great hotel on the waterfront in the centre of Bristol, handy for other nearby tourist places - Wells, Bath etc.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

Yes, to continue on the theme of the previous reviews, the rooms at the Mercure are incredibly hot and the air-con does diddly-squat. What amazes me is the fact that despite this ongoing problem, the hotel uses duvets suitable for use in the Arctic! A lightweight quilt would just about resolve this issue and also save a fortune on electricity running the aircon system. Needless to say, we had a lousy night's sleep due to being hot and having to have the window open it was pretty noisy.
Apart from that issue in the room, otherwise we found it to be lovely. A good size with flat tv, trouser press, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities with fully stocked variety of drinks and a couple of cakes. The bathroom was also a good size with bath and separate shower cubicle and a small but entirely adequate range of toiletries The bath was amazingly comfortable too!
The breakfast, after waiting an age for someone to book us in, was beautiful. The granola, which I think was probably home made, was one of the best I've had, and there was an excellent range of other cereals, fresh fruits, breads and pastries. The full English was also excellent and piping hot.
Unfortunately there were also a few downers in this hotel. We returned to the hotel at 23.45 to find it fully locked up. There was a notice on the door explaining that the doors were locked at 23.00 and to ring the bell for the night porter to let you in. We did this but there was no sign of anyone. We rang again and again and knocked on the windows but still no-one came. It was very cold and we really didn't know what to do - there was no telephone number to call for attention. I must say, I was starting to panic a little and we were about to look for a taxi to take us to another hotel for the night when someone finally appeared. It was 10 minutes before we were let in which may not appear long but when it's cold, you're not very young and there's no indication that anyone will actually come, that 10 minutes seemed like an hour! To cap it all, we didn't even receive an apology for the wait, nor we were asked if we were actually guests or our room number.
Final downside - £19 to park the car for 21 hours! You can stay a night in a Travelodge with free parking for that!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and will be
investigating your comments accordingly. May I also thank you for your positve feedback as I am sure this will help motivate the team to continually improve our services. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed 11 and 12 March, excellent room and pleasant staff, good quality bed/linen/towels etc, spotless bathroom (once sink recleaned on request) but a problem with the aircon meant room very hot on arrival - offered swap of room or balcony window opon which solved it, but aircon would have been better still and would be a problem in summer. Good hotel in excellent locatio, good river views. Another reviewer suggested the view isn't up to much, but if you're staying in Bristol harbourside, that's kind of always going to be the view... we love it! We will be back and will certainly stay here again. thanks. Parking - dont use NCP, on-street nearby is possible and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure Brigstow Hotel -Bristol. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the heating and air cooling system which we are currently addressing. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at the Mecure hotel as a suprise birthday for myself, as we were watching a show at the hippodrome.

Cleanliness - Hotel was clean, and the rooms were spotless. Nice size and well decorated.

Service - All the staff seem to be trainees and had many issues trying to get help. We had to switch rooms due to the air conditioning and that was problematic and dont order a taxi through them cos it will never arive. Also the staff did not seem happy and welcomings, which was a pity because the hotel is really nice.

Rooms - The rooms were lovely and clean inside, but poor air conditioning meant that we were roasting the first night (did not sleep) and couldn't even open the french doors due to health and safety. The next night we had a switch of rooms with balcony and still the air conditioning meant the room was boiling, we had to sleep all night with the french doors open. (which was noisy due to location)

Value - I believe the staff and the air conditioning really let this place down, has the potential to be really nice hotel and situated in a good location. 2 nights cost us about £300 and noody seemed to want to help with our problem.

Sleep quality - Sleep quality poor, stayed 2 nights, does not feel like we have been away. Need a break to recover.

Food - Over priced and not very nice, I would recommend eating out.

Return - I would not return to this hotel. Shame

Best bit - Being away with girlfriend and location

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay in particular the service you received from the team and the heating controls of your bedroom, I certainly treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter of the heating so that the appropriate measures can be taken to prevent future occurrence. However, I was most concerned to learn that you found the team to be unhelpful, please rest assured that we continually strive to improve the service offered by the team therefore, please feel free to
contact me on 0117 929 1030 to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Iain France, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

One of best hotel stay I've ever had. Staff were great and could not have been more helpful.

It will be my only choice of hotel when I stay in Bristol.

Deserves all its great reviews

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shed35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Brigstow Hotel - Bristol, I look forward to your next visit and remember to always check out our own website for the best rates available guaranteed including our seasonal promotions. Kind regards, Iain France-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed over the weekend and found the hotel was perfectly located, great walks along the river and a fabulous view over the river.
Breakfast was brilliant, friendly staff and great value for money.
We would definatley return as the hotel is well run and the boutique feeling is fantastic.

See you soon again

Chris and Barbara

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Chris & Barbara, thank you for your kind words. Very much appreciated and I am sure my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Mercure Brigstow on Saturday night as a belated Valentine's break (or dirty weekend!) and we had a fantastic time. We normally stay at "The Bristol" just around the corner which is another gem, but on this occasion the Mercure won on price, and we fancied trying something different.

I paid £10 extra for a superior river view room, and we were given a lovely room on the sixth floor with views out across the river. The room was immaculate, and very quiet, with a lovely bed, The bathroom was huge with a bath (and TV!) and separate shower.

The location is fantastic and there's so many good restaurants and bars on your doorstep. We spent the afternoon and evening in the Severnshed restaurant drinking their excellent cocktails, and finshed up with an Indian in Mysrica - both are recommended.

£89 for a hotel of this class, in this location, including a very nice breakfast can't be beat. Well done Mercure - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £54 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing