We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hotels were like this....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If only all hotels were like this....”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Myself and my partner visited Bristol for the first time in November 2011 and chose to stay at the Mercure Brygstow. We arrived early, and were greeted at reception by an extremely pleasant and helpful staff member who checked in our bags and offered us some useful information about the area. We had requested a room on a higher floor, with a balcony overlooking the water. The room we were given met our request..and then some!! The room itself was beautifully decorated and had everything we could have wanted and more (larger balcony than expected, a fridge in the room and tv built into tiles at the bath!).

Neither myself nor my partner had remembered to pack toothpaste, but one call to reception resulted in a member of staff at our room door within 2 minutes, toothpaste in hand. We visited the restaurant on the Saturday evening and found the food to be easily as good as any high-end restaurant in town. The bed was extremely comfortable and the soundproofing very good indeed.

Our stay in Bristol was so enjoyable, helped a great deal by this beautiful hotel and the wonderful staff, that we will be returning next year.

We already know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arranem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your kind words, they are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we made your visit to Bristol memorable and we shall certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year. Please remember to always check out our own web site where we guarantee the best rates and deals available. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    669
    210
    89
    42
See reviews for
142
855
125
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The Mercure hotel on the waterfront is unique to any other hotel that you would find right in the middle of a city centre. It's in the middle of everything you need... shops, theatre, bars, transport links etc. But on the water edge down a cute cobbled street, you have the same relaxed feel of a outer city hotel away from the hustle and bustle.
If you like a little bit different and a funky hotel, then I recommend this one!
The rooms are very different, with wooden floors and the beds all on an angle, and the bathrooms even have TV's in them!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticalpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again and remember to always check out our own web site for the best rates guaranteed. Kind regards Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Had a bargain halfboard stay thanks to an Accor club offer. Very high standard of fixtures and fittings in our river view room, including a tv screen in the bathroom! Nice view of the river especially at night. Food was excellent with breakfast being especially good both in terms of choice and quality. Although we ate in there was a wide choice of interesting looking restaurants within a very short walk. The hotel is also well placed for a number of shopping malls, Cabot Circus for example was an easy ten minute walk.
Only downsides were a) the price of parking in the nearby NCP car park, in spite of a 25% reduction for hotel guests it worked out at £15 per day, b) bed was a double, would have prefered a king, Overall a very good quality hotel with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Superior river view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackersouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure/Aclub web site again to get the best rates avaiable. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

this hotel is very nice and situated in an area within reach of some very nice restaurants and short cab ride to the mall.
However, one huge downfall for our stay at this hotel was the noise factor.
The hotel was hosting a wedding reception and all rooms were fully booked up which meant that what sounded like children's only rooms were positioned right next to ours. This was used as a base for what seemed to be the whole guest list for the whole night and early hours of the morning.
You would obviously expect some noise which is understandable but the doors with their excessive noise when closing was just too much.
The doors should be on a slow retainer at least.
For what I paid for this hotel was A let down because of the noise factor and although the rooms are decorated very nice I just wouldn't chance another stay!
Staff were very nice but could not help out with the situation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARDIFFDRAGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the disturbance you encountered through other guests ostaying in the hotel which we have since addressed, Please feel free to contact me directyly on tel 0117 929 1030 should you wish to discuss you concern further. Kind regards, Iain Fracne-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed one night on business. The hotel was in a very good location overlooking the river. One gripe is that I could not access wifi from bt openzone and was not willing to pay the hotel charges. the room was excellent, very comfortable, clean, bathroom was large with both bath and shower and tv installed on the bathroom tile so it could be watched from the bath! Fabulously comfortable bed. didnt eat in the hotel, as it was a tad too expensive, when there were plenty places nearby much more affordable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Room great. Views great. Location great. Food great!!!
On the minus side, parking is ridiculously expensive but i managed to look about and parked within a 5 min walk for a fraction of the cost and why oh why in this day and age must you pay to use the hotels wifi???
Other than that would i stay again?? yes! Would i recommend it to you?? YES!!!!

Room Tip: We had 305, balcony and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. See you on your next trip and remember to always book directly on line through through the Mercure web site to take advantage of our best deals available guaranteed. Kind regards, Iain Fracne - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

First off, I would like to say what a fantastic hotel this is, it was close to the city centre and bars and was in a great location overlooking the canal. The room was stunning, lovely balcony, great facilities, bed was really comfy and the staff were all helpful and very friendly.

The only downside I had was when I came back from a night out on Saturday, I wanted to chill out with a drink in the bar area, but there was a private party going on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beezig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Tip for next-time - look online at
at our own site for the best rates. This is the best place to find special offers. Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing