We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$125
Bristol Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
710
740
244
92
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
740
244
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewglass boatprivilege roomseparate bath and showerncp car parksuperior roomexcellent locationcity centregood sizemini fridgefloating harbourst nicholas marketlovely hotelbars and restaurantseggs benedictweekend breakreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,413 - 1,418 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel for one night and I telephoned to request a river view with balcony. On arrival we were given room 405 which was perfect. The room was spotlessly clean and we both loved the tv in the bathroom! Breakfast was delicious with so much choice and the lounge bar was great for a relaxing drink at the end of the day. The hotel is situated in a very good location to discover Bristol and everything is within walking distance. We even managed an opentop bus tour [in Feb!]as the stop was on the corner of the road. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: River view with balcony!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were created very politely at reception. On checking we were asked if we would like to up grade to a superior room for an extra £10, we excepted and I'm so glad we did. The view was excellent, our room was 512. We were also given a city map and showed the key areas of the city, it felt like nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious. The bed at an angle gives you a lot more space and the floor to ceiling windows really allows you to make the most of the view. There were plenty of extra towels and pillows in the wardrobe. The bathroom was fabulous, with a separate shower and tv you could watch in the bath. I loved it! We were pleasantly surprised with how quiet it seemed to us, even with the window open. My husband booked this break as a late Valentine gateway and it was perfect!

The hotel is surrounded by bar and restaurants, and it is within a few minutes walk to most places.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Allen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your valentine stay with us and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit and remember to always check out our promotional offers on our own web site. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A great, contemporary style hotel right in the heart of Bristol. We stayed here for one night having been invited to a meal in the city with friends and not wanting to return home late by car or train. We found a great rate online (room only). Our stay, although short, was excellent and really enjoyed the hotel. Our standard double room was spacious and, having requested it, we were allocated a room with a forward-facing view over the river, which was much appreciated.

The room was clean, comfortable and the TV in the Bath was a nice touch! The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. There is no on-site car parking, but the adjacent NCP cark park can be used and guests of the hotel receive a 25% discount on the rates.

All in all, we couldn't fault the hotel and we would definitely choose to stay there again if we need to stay the night in Bristol.

Room Tip: Go for a front-facing room, if available, to get a view out over the river. The rear facing ones don't have a nice view at all by the look of it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was in this hotel for two nights in a superior room.
Regrettably, although I requested a quite room, the air conditioning was really not acceptable in room 601 and it was not possible to put it off. We did not sleep at all the first night. Also the shower was not good.

We moved in a better room the second night and we were compensated.

The personnel were very kind and very sorry for that.

The rest was very good, location, breakfast etc...
Good value for money, if you get the right deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovannide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay however, I was also sorry to learn that you were distubed by noise, please accept my sincere apologies. On a more positive note, I was glad to hear that the team did react swiftly which allowed you to enjoy the rest of your stay.Please rest assured that my maintenance team are investigating this issue and will take the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence. Kind regards, Iain France-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Good location in the city centre. Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The rooms were modern, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food in the restaurant was okay - with breakfast being good. The biggest issue here is parking - the hotel doesn't have a car park. After 6p.m. you can make use of some limited on street parking, but realistically you are limited to the local NCP - at £15 a day (after the 25% hotel discount).

Room Tip: Ideally a high room at the front, overlooking the waterfront.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I was however, sorry to hear you were disappointed with the parking arrangements in the city despite the ample surronding on street parking which is free from 18:00 until 08:00 hrs and all day Sunday. In addition to the adjacent NCP Queen Charlotte Street car park which is the nearest secure car park for peace of mind where we have also negotieated an exclusuive 25% discount from the NCP tariff exclusively for our guests, We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
Iain France-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews