We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked for one night business trip. Very central - a short walk from Temple Meads railway station, close to everything. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room very comfortable and a good size. Service in the bar and restaurant also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    645
    202
    88
    41
See reviews for
138
830
122
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in The Mecure Bristol Brigstow Hotel for one night after booking it though LastMinute.com as one of their "Top Secret" Hotels. We paid £60 for one night which we thought was reasonable.

We got to the hotel after a two hour drive, and due to road closures and one way systems, it through our satnav off completely and we couldn't find the NCP carpark for love nor money. We ended up phoning the hotel to ask for directions but was told that nobody drove so they couldn't help us. Cue a 1/2 hour drive trying to find the carpark.

We got to the hotel and checked in to be advised that if we wanted breakfast in the morning, we could either pay £10 now each, or pay £16 each in the morning. Breakfast was good but not worth the £32 we would have paid on the Sunday had we not preordered it.

We then ended up paying £15 (after the 20% discount) for the parking. So in actual fact, our, good value £60 hotel room cost £95. Not good value really.

The room was ok, it was clean but had a bit of a musty smell - my husband said it smelt like someone was trying to cover up cigarettes?

The TV in the Bath didn't work when we arrived, so the maintenance man came out really quickly, and fixed it - the response time was excellent.

The pillows were like bullets and the room bordering on chilly, but it was quiet, we didn't hear anything throughout the night.

The hotel was average, I think we could have probably found a nicer hotel for almost £100 but you live and learn. Would I go back? Yes, as long as the "extras" were taken off.

Room Tip: Book your breakfast upon arrival as its not worth £16 per head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I was however, disappointed to learn that you struggled to find the Queen Charlotte Street NCP Car Park, despite the access from Queen Square being closed at present, there are certainly clear diversion signs which bring you back to Baldwin Street. I was also disappointed to hear that you believe our buffet breakfast where you can enjoy as much food as you like and offers ample hot and cold choices was not value for money. Please be assured that Mercure always offer our best rates available on our own web site including our shopping cart whereby you can take advantage of advanced discounted rates on breakfast, dinner etc.. and I am sure on your next visit to Mercure booking through our site, you will find a package that will meet your criteria as value for money. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Right in the centre of Bristol, close to everything. Glad we didn't have to pay for parking near here. Booked for one night in between a party on Saturday and watching lunatic relations run in Marathon on Sunday. Arrived before check-in and had our luggage held until we came back to check in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was on third floor and facing river. Had a good nights sleep. Good size room and bathroom I was a little surprised by the threadbare towels and showerhead support hanging off (see photo). Fairly obvious things to rectify I thought. Didn't eat here, so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbloke_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent, I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have noted your comments about the shower attachment and towels and I can confirm that we have since addressed these issues and I thank you for informing us. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights all clean and tidy, pillows very hard in the bed otherwise a fairly standard room. Best point of this hotel is the location top marks nestling next to the river in the centre of Bristol, just a stones through to go out shopping during the day and even nearer for walking out wining and dinning for the evening

Room Tip: Ask for river view maybe as we faced what was just the back of anouther hotel noisey bins etc AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKim101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure web site directly to get the best rates available including discounted items from our shopping cart! Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from Bristol Temple Meads train station (although you need to wiggle through the back streets so take a map to avoid busy main roads and roundabouts). The staff were friendly. The room was clean. And the location is reasonably central (for me, being on the train station of town was an advantage - less far to wheel my bag).

Room Tip: You can pay a bit more for a room facing the river. I was on the 4th floor facing a rather industria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaNZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing