We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
710
740
244
92
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
740
244
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewglass boatprivilege roomseparate bath and showerncp car parksuperior roomexcellent locationcity centregood sizemini fridgefloating harbourst nicholas marketlovely hotelbars and restaurantseggs benedictweekend breakreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Probably one of the best bedroom designs, very spacious and a tv in the bathroom. Relax in the bath whilst watching tv was a mini highlight.

Location is very good and is a plethora of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed in many Mercure's before and this one is definitely the best of the lot. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but can get a better a view asking for a river view. Not a dealbreaker mind
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Livers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your return stay enjoyable again and I was pleased to learn that you took advantage of the shopping cart on our own web site where we always guarantee the best rates available. We shall certainly look forward to seeing you again in the near future, kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We got an amazing deal on a three night stay here and it was exceptional value. The room was nice, the breakfast was fantastic and all the staff were lovely and friendly. However if we'd paid full price I would have complained - stains on the curtain, dust in the corners and the TV in the bathroom didn't work properly (it was fuzzy). I would definitely stay here again at the price we paid or even a little bit more - but if I paid full price I would have asked for a different room.

You can't get a better location, we were doing a combination of seeing friends and house hunting, and were quite happy to leave the car in the NCP car park for the whole stay and walk everywhere we needed to get to. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within a short walk, as well as all the main shopping areas. Even the rain didn't stop us getting out and about on foot!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. Paolo checked us in and we found him to be very professional. We had a nice room facing the harbourside. They are celebrating 40 years of Mercure and there was a happy 40 minutes. We had two Cocktails that were just perfection and the waiter that made and served them was a delight. I didn't get his name. But, many hotels need someone like him. The room was smart. TV over the bath. Breakfast was very nice, everything we wanted. The Cocktail waiter welcomed us that morning. How nice in a larger hotel to have someone that makes you feel special and your business is valued. Well done Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frillyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Didn't consider this a cheap hotel for the night, so had reasonably high expectations. The website certainly encourages you to set them high...

But the whole experience was terrible. The recommended car park (NCP behind the hotel) has restricted height, so my car wouldn't fit. Didn't get any sympathy from the reception staff, who begrudgingly pointed out alternatives. I ended up parking at the secure car park at one of their partner hotels (the Novotel - for just £10 overnight). Was a drag as I didn't need the walk in the rain... check-in was fine, but the room I was given was appalling... it hadn't been properly cleaned, the floor was dirty, there was litter all around the room, there was a half drunk pint of coke on the desk, the waste bin in the bathroom had all manner of waste in it... disgusting I'm sorry to say. Was moved to another (smaller) room... Didn't use the hotel facilities after this. On return that evening (due to the wooden floors) it is easy to hear other residents walking about their rooms..

won't be staying there again... my usual gripe, WiFi access is only free in the public areas, why not in the rooms?

I will pick more carefully next time...

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback
with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter of the housekeeping of the original allocated bedroom as this is most unusual, please rest assured that this is certainly an isolated incident.
I was also disappointed to learn that you believe we were unsympathetic regarding the parking of your vehicle which was too high to access the Queen Charlotte Street car park. Although, the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel does not provide parking facilities, I understand that my team assisted you by offering various parking solutions to which your preference was to use the secure parking facility at our nearby sister hotel for peace of mind please accept our apologies that you found this to be unhelpful. Iain France - General Manager
Name]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Pleasantly surprised that I attended a recent training seminar at a hotel previously stayed at. Again delighted with the hotel, very professional, efficient and food/breaks different & delicious. Rooms still funky & staff friendly will always chose this hotel when staying in bristol.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millbeckmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for your feedback again! Glad you enjoyed our hotel for your training seminar and we made your stay comfortable. Tip for next-time - look online at the Mercure web site where we guarantee the best rates available including our shopping cart where you can take advantage of discounted breakfast and dinner prices, this is also the best place to find special offers. Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews