We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at the Mercure Brigstow for 2 nights in August 2008. The location is absolutely cracking, and we had a superior river view room which did indeed have great views of the rivers and also across the city - perfect for watching the balloons which flew across from the Bristol International Balloon Festival during our stay!

If driving you can get a car park ticket for the NCP car park next door (£10) - once we'd parked the car there we didn't touch it again until we left! £10 is good value as well, so that was a bonus. The location is excellent, within 5 minutes walk of the main shops and centre, which means finding somewhere nice to eat/ drink isn't difficult.

The hotel was very busy during our stay, but despite this we had very good service throughout. The 'tile TV' in our bathroom wasn't working when we arrived, but maintenance came and fixed this immediately, very impressive! We did have to wait for a table for breakfast on the first morning, about a 20 minute wait, but the waitress was incredibly polite and apologetic, and we were able to lounge on the comfy chairs with complimentary newspapers, so no hardship really. It was worth the wait though, great range of food available for breakfast. And on the second morning there was no wait at all, even better!

Our room was on the top floor, and the view from the balcony was cracking! The room itself was a very good size, nice and spacious and modern. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and overall the standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent. All in all a very good hotel in a great location - a modern, clean city centre hotel which is great for anyone planning a Bristol break!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,542 - 1,548 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed at the Mecure Brigstow for 1 night.
First impressions of our room where: -
The Rug under the bed - awful, stained and dirty looking. How much would cost to replace v's benefit of replacing.Really brings an otherwise very nice room down (ruins first impression of the room).

Smoking rooms. We made error of not requesting a non-smoking bedroom. The room smelt terribly of nicotine and was really musty. Smokers should need to request smoking rooms in my opinion not the other way round. Non-smokers should not have to tolerate rooms that have been ruined by smokers. Smoking should be banned in all hotel rooms these days anyway. Carpets, curtains, bathroom etc all stunk. Again really brought standard down.

Otherwise great. Love the funky room layout and great size bathroom. We had a river view room and it was good to be able to open the large window to get in some fresh air.

Also fantastic location/outlook for city break weekend. Just a pity about the couple things above. Really wouldn't take much work or money to make this the prime hotel in Bristol and move from place just clinging to 4 star rating to a fabulous and funky 4.5 star. Rugs must be replaced ASAP. Replace the tv's with plasma's...they're really not that expense anymore. Update the bathrobes...we were scared to put ours on...looked liked the 10,000th person to use them (nice touch having them though), and also maybe update old wooden tv stands.

Would definetly stay again but only at the discounted internet rate we payed for that included Breakfast.
Would be happy to return and pay up if above addressed though.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetticeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

2 night stay for my wife and I with one night dinner bed and breakfast.Very convenient location,plenty of local restaurants though I would highly recommend the hotel's own restaurant.Lovely views across the harbourside from front facing rooms(ask for a balcony) Local water taxis worth checking out to complete that 'continental' feel.The room was a good size and very well prepared.A little 'corporate ' maybe but no complaints.Staff helpful and friendly.Make sure you visit SS Gt Britain !
Altogether highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The Mercure Brigstow is a medium sized hotel with a very convenient picturesque location in Bristol center, a few minutes walk from shopping and nightlife. It is the 3rd Bristol hotel I am trying this year "in my pursue of excellence". I would not say there is much difference from the other 2 visited so far (Novotel city center and city inn) with the exception of the following 2 points which made it somewhat different:
negative: this applies to 1st floor room that I had. I was really disappointed that i could not open any window and was forced to live in an air-conditioned environment, the air did not feel right, muskiness and the typical smell of aged air cons. Carpet needs a good clean so do curtains
positive: the bathroom has a tv tiled in which makes a it a pleasant, much better to spend time in the bathtub with a drink and tv rather than the boring lifeless bar.
Restaurant basic but acceptable. Breakfast not the richest but does have the basics and everything is refrigerated so whenever you go for breakfast it will be fresh. They also do fry-ups as part of a paid breakfast but did not try. Dinner was fine, again nothing special, had fish. Have to note here that I was impressed with the freshness of the sword fish
Overall ok but still will continue my search for something better...

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zach006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Great location in Bristol overlooking the river. Nice and stylish hotel and lovely room. However the corrider really smelt musty and it crept into the room, which felt it hadnt been aired properly. We had to open the large sliding window to air the room.

There were problems with the overflow on the toilet resulting in a constant flow of water which was really irritating.

The manager came up and flushed it. It stopped and started again. He seemed unconcerned and although was very polite was not particularly bothered about it. We were not offered another room as he said the hotel was full. He offered us a drink and £20 off the room. This was the only effort he made.

On waking up in the morning from a very bad nights sleep from the constant noise I though that £20 was a poor offer. The check out desk was very considerate and apologetic and offered us a 50% reduction, which we accepted. Clearly this fault was happening before we checked in. Does the staff not check the rooms before a new guest arrived.?
Breakfast a bit average, and chaotic. Sticky tables!!!!Urgh!!
!
Cooked breakfast was just edible. And no sign of being able to order a poached egg. It was certainly not offered. Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junojac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We stayed at the Mercure just for one night as we were attending a friends wedding. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city in the business district, which seems to be a quiet spot in the city.
First impressions on walking into the hotel were very good, nice modern reception area and friendly attentive reception staff. There is no parking facilities at the hotel, but they offer a reduced rate in the NCP car park at the back of the hotel. On booking in we were given our pass keys to the rooom. We took the lift to the room and walked along the corridor which is starting to show some wear and tear.
We were given a room with a river view which was a bonus as we had not requested this when booking . The decor of the room was a slightly unusual mixture of modern and art deco, the colour scheme was blue and a light brown. The floor was wooden, covered by a circular rug which had seen better days. The floor looked clean although it was slightly dusty and dirty in the corners, but not bad enough to make you feel the room was unclean. The bed was comfortable with clean fresh smelling linen. The bathroom was fine with modern fittings, although once again it was slightly dirty in the corners. After spending a comfortable night in the bed, we went down to breakfast which was served from 7am to 10am. We were met by a member of the serving staff who showed us to a table. I pulled out my chair to sit down and saw it was covered in crumbs. Looking around most of the chairs had crumbs and bits on them. However generally the restaurant was clean, probably because the staff wiped all the crumbs onto the chairs instead of the floor! The room rate includes the breakfast and a full english is offered for those that want it. My partner had the full english and it looked well cooked and fresh. I had cereals and toast, of which a good variety was on offer.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, although I suspect that unless it is given a makeover soon in the next year or two, it could start to become unattractively shabby. It was slightly disappointing that there was not as much care taken with cleaning the corners of the room and bathroom as I felt there should have been, but perhaps I was expecting too much for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

A typical British hotel that has been slightly renovated to become a design hotel. This renovation looks mostly successful but the typical problems with the British hotel rooms are readily apparent: rattling air conditioning, windows that cannot be closed and so on. On the plus side the rooms are spacious and the washroom is clean.
Breakfast looks good, but it is not that tasty. Not bad tasting but just plain.
Be aware that the hotel rooms are on the both sides of the hotel. So you might get a nice view to the river with swans or not so nice view to the backyard with the garbage cans. As a business traveler the view is not that important for me but if I would bring my girlfriend with me I would make absolutely sure which of the views I am going to get with my money.
Also free internet connection would be nice, but as that is anyway paid by the company there is really not such a big issue with that.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mobile_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing