We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I travelled here on business during the transport issues in the South West of England and so as such I turned up weather-beaten and very grumpy from train delays/replacements.
The hotel is centrally located and very well kept on the outside.
I got to check-in and there was a complication with the door cards, but for unknown reasons - perhaps the room was oversold, or perhaps a random act of kindness - I was upgraded to a superior room. As the door cards were inactive I was escorted by a member of staff.
The room was very plush and immaculately clean - and had a balcony which I discovered in the morning!
There was an espresso machine as well as a well-stocked tea and coffee facility. The bathroom featured both a bath AND a shower cubical and a remote controlled built-in TV screen so you could watch in the bath!
I can't comment on the value as the room was paid for by the company, and I didn't use the fitness centre or swimming pool.
Altogether an excellent stay in a huge, comfy bed and very quiet night even though the room overlooked the canal. The room was an excellent surprise at the end of a very tricky journey.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Glad you had a good time and my team made your stay enjoyable after a trying journey! Hope to see you again soon and tip for next time when booking Mercure, always check out our own web site where we guarantee the best rates available in addition you will be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    655
    203
    88
    42
See reviews for
140
841
124
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,046 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,801 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here on business on Monday night. Well situated on the refurbished docks, so easy access to restaurant & bars on foot.
They have no Car Park, so expect £20 per day charge in the NCP & a walk to the hotel
Comfortable enough rooms, with all the amenities you need, including free wifi.
Their key card machine wasn't working during my stay, which meant a member of staff had to let you into the room each time, but it was all handled in a friendly & efficient way.
Good breakfast buffet in light & airy restaurant overlooking the docks. All good overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Tip for next-time - book online at
the Mercure web site directly for the best rates available and you will also be eligible to earn points in our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain Frnace - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed over one night for a treat with the other half a few months ago. Very modern and simplistic, but in a tasteful way. It just seemed to have a great finish and be very well kept.
Bed was lovely, had a great night :-)
The view over the river is an extra bonus, especially at night, and it's so close to the river restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The neighbourhood is characterful (art galleries, boat-restaurants, cobbled streets, riverside), the staff are efficient and helpful and charming, the rooms are big and comfortable, the breakfasts are large and varied. I thought I was booking into a bog standard city centre chain for a cheap night on a work trip. I was proved absolutely wrong. Hats off to the management and staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure Website directly to get the best rates available in addition, you will also be eligible for points if you are in our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel, it's so close to all the major attractions and the hotel itself is just perfect!
I booked the hotel for my partner and I for valentines weekend!
Special thank you to Paolo for the fantastic customer service I received via email, very prompt and did everything I asked :) thank you.
Great customer service
Fantastic location
Well equipped room
Lovely view of the river
Breakfast menu is superb
We will be back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doss1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your Valentine stay most enjoyable. Remember the next time you want to come back and stay with us again, book directly on the Mercure Website to get the best rates available and you will also be eligible for points on our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kindest regards Iain France, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Our executive room was lovely with awesome views of the river. Very spacious and great bathroom. Comfortable and clean. Even had a fridge in the room. Excellent location would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank appelbymerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we shall certainly look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Redhill before Christmas but the weather was so bad we saw very little of Bristol itself. We decided to give things another go but this time thought we would try this Mercure hotel, and we are very glad we did. The Welsh Back location is simply excellent. A great setting right next to the river and only a stones throw from the City centre. The hotel is lovely, one of the best we have stayed in for sure. True we were treated to a great room allocation (503); a corner room with glass external walls giving a uninterrupted view of the river. A big thank you to the staff who were excellent from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel. All in all we would highly recommend a weekend break at the Mercure Brigstow.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room fronting the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobyloo126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad that you chose to stay with Mercure again in Bristol and that my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure website to get the best rates available in addition you will also be eligable to earn points in our loyalty program 'Le Club' Kindest regards Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing