We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another postive stay at the Brigstow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed with my husband earlier this year and had such a great experience that when travelling alone back to Bristol, I decided to book in at the Brigstow again. I could have chosen cheaper options as single traveller this time but felt that it was worth paying a little extra as our previous experience had been very positive.
The whole experience lived up to my expectations again. The main asset of the hotel are its amazing staff - nothing too much trouble and all accomplished without a hint of corporate insincerity from check in to check out.
Service faultless, excellent breakfast and quality bacon and sausages can be a let down in some places.
Dinner fine and again excellent service, attentive without being pushy.
Room and bathroom spotless, a little bit of mould on sealant in shower but that is the only thing I saw.
Love little fridge in room too which you can stock yourself if you wish.
All the bits and pieces one needs and great storage if you are able to make it a longer stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murmeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed another stay
with us, we shall certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank klin18
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed over last Friday night in 504 after watching a performance of Dirty Dancing and before spending the following day viewing SS Great Britain (The trip was a present from our daughter). Could not fault this hotel. Our room overlooked the river and the bridge. The location was just right for visiting the city centre and theatre as well as the SS GB and other museums along the waterfront. We had intended to use the water taxi but as all our destinations were within a short walk then we had no need. Nevertheless I am very grateful to Silva (on reception) for taking the trouble to find a timetable on the web and print me a copy since all the local leaflets had gone. Extremely impressed by the bathroom with its large shower and bath with TV. Best hotel bathroom I have seen for years. Nice selection of hot drinks options on the tea-tray (better than many we have previously seen. We also had breakfast and very much enjoyed the available selection. The dining room staff were friendly and polite and it was nice to see the containers replenished so frequently. Although we don't live that far away, we would definitely book to stay here again if wanting to do an overnight in Bristol.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skybosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure site directly to get the best rates available in addition you will also be eligible for point for the 'Le Club' loyalty program. Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having left Bristol 10 years ago I know the area well. I returned for a one night stay last weekend and stayed at the Mercure Brigstow. I have to say that the hotel exceeded my expectations. It's in a great location along the waterfront. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the public areas very pleasant. The front desk staff were polite and efficient. Overall the hotel represented excellent value and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your review. Iain France-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a queen suite breakfast excellent room great wonderful outlook over the docks and a good location for the city centre. The hotel is a great base for having a short break and the night life in Bristol is amazing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank primastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Iain France-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £54 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing